We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to come back!”
Review of The Kauai Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Kauai Inn
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We went to Kauai on our honeymoon this past October. We wanted to do a fairly inexpensive trip to Kauai although many said that just wouldn't happen. I did a little bit of research and I found the Kauai Inn. All of the reviews were really great and it seemed like a quiet little Inn.

We arrived to the Kauai Inn and were greeted by a very friendly employee and she took the time to show us around the property. The rooms were very nice! There were a few reviews that said the rooms were dated but we thought they were decorated very nicely. The bathrooms were obviously newly renovated and were very nice. We had a king size bed and the room all in all was very nice.

The property at the Kauai Inn was so beautifully landscaped. There are also amazing views of the mountains from the Inn.

Breakfast in the morning was great! There were a variety of delicious pastries and fresh fruits and breads. We found stands along the road that sold different fruits and we picked up some avacados and also had those for breakfast on bagels that the Inn provided.

We really enjoyed ourselves on the beautiful island of Kauai. The Kauai Inn was perfect for us it was affordable and very clean and provided a delicious breakfast in the morning. We also loved the kitties on the property!

Kauai Inn see you next year!!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Moopboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 383 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2011

This is small, family run hotel located not far from both airport and sea port. To some its location may be a bit too remote. There is no restaurant or bar at or near the hotel, closest ones being at Anchor Cove Mall / Nawiliwili area. Near the reception a wending machine is available with soft drinks/water...

Room was very clean, a little outdated (but that actually adds to the laid back atmosphere). Room is large enough and bright, came with a porch at the back, nice feature. Staff working at The Kauai Inn are all very friendly and approachable. There is a large parking for cars so if you rent you will have space to leave your car overnight.

Small swimming pool (3 ft deep) is good for kids. Very pleasant seating around the pool. I haven't see any access to the beach but there are beaches within 10-20 minutes of the hotel (driving/walking).

Breakfast is included in price but it's also very, vary basic! Bagels, muffins, jelly, fruits, coffee, that's pretty much all of it.

Internet - free but limited to max of 24 hours within 30 days. To most visitors this should be enough (Hey, you are in Hawaii, on island of Kauai, why would you be surfing the net for too long anyway?)

The price is quite high if you compare it with hotels in general (Kauai Inn looks like Motel 6 or similar but costs more than a good 4 star hotel in many places in US/Canada) however when compared with other hotels on island of Kauai, Kauai Inn actually offers a very good deal.

Beautiful place, I would definitely recommend, especially if you travel with family and if you rented a car (it's a must here cause public transport is almost non existent, and hotel is a bit off the beaten track).

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank InterMMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

If you want a quiet, friendly, low key and inexpensive place to stay on Kauai, this is it.

The Kauai Inn is located in Lihue in the center of the island if you are driving around by car. It's located in a residential area near the boat harbor with a small park across the street. Good view of the mountains behind it but not much view of the water. Airport, shopping and restaurants a short drive away. Great location for touring the island, but not if you just want to stay in one resort.

Area and hotel was quiet at night, no road noise, but port can be noisy during the day and the chickens are noisy in the morning but you will have them anywhere in Kauai. Several dogs and cats on the property but they don't bother you. Nice if you like pets.

Hotel is in older 2-story wooden buildings on nicely landscaped grounds with a small swimming pool run by friendly local family for 100 years, first hotel on Kauai. They live onsite, but only open the office at 8 AM and close at 9 PM. You can call them for help after hours. If you need 24-7 service, you may not like it here. Cost was very low for Kauai.

Room was comfortable with excellent king bed, many pillows. Includes refrigerator, microwave, large flat screen TV with many channels, plenty of hot water and towels. No restaurant. Has a guest coin laundry. Hotel will loan beach mats and extra towels for pool or beach and dishes for cooking or barbecue at no charge.

Room had small air conditioner and ceiling fan. They want you to turn off all electricity when you are gone, so leave the windows open. Room can still get warm during the day and it takes a while to cool it down if you get back before evening. One minus is that room was very hot on arrival.

Free coffee and water available near office 24-7. Lots of fresh fruit, breads, juices and coffee at free breakfast poolside. Starts as soon as they set up after 8:00 and ends at 9:30, but realistically 8:15-9:00 is the time to go.

Free parking and wi-fi, but others said it was slow, also had a guest computer in the office. I used Verizon on my laptop and had good reception for it and my cell.

Biggest negative was lack of security for belongings. No safe in the room and none in the office. We had no trouble, since most staff are family, but if you have concerns, your best bet may be to pay the rental car company a few extra bucks for comprehensive insurance and carry expensive stuff with you and let them pay if car gets robbed.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MisterWombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Booked this on Expedia figuring it was just a cheap run down dive. We were only staying part of the night booked on an early flight to Hilo. To our surprise, it was a gem! The front office staff was so inviting and welcoming. She took her time with us and showed us around and invited us to come back. We will! The hotel is older, but kept up really well. Very clean and very Hawaiian. Breakfast is included and you sit outside to eat...very Hawaiian.

Please don't overlook this little gem of a place.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Our second two week stay was even better than our first here, because we knew what to expect and had an idea of locations we wanted to explore again. The Kauai Inn is comfortable, friendly, accomodating, and laid back. Just what we want in a property where we stay. Centrally located on the island, so visiting the North is as easy as getting to the western shores. Very close to the Lihue Airport and cruise ship dockage.
Breakfast is fruit and breads, and is plentiful. Coffee is good and juices are available too.
Every staff member we met was friendly and eager to meet our needs.
The rooms are comfortable, air-conditioned and have ceiling fans too. Linens are changed daily and the beds and linens are nice and top end.
Selfishly, I hate to rave too much about this wonderful place because I don't wish it to become too commercialized or popular for fear I won't get in again...that's the only downside and a small one. A jewel not to be missed.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daddynotsobigbucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

If you want to stay in a peaceful hotel that is "off the beaten path", Kauai Inn is perfect. It is a short drive from the airport...close to restaurants....clean...and the employees were very friendly and attentive. Our room was ready when we went to check in at noon! It isn't an elaborate hotel with a lot of glam, a big pool or hot tub. The pictures on the website hold true. I loved all the pretty flowers and banana trees on the property.

They had cookies available when you checked in. Mats to borrow if you wanted to go to the beach. They served a lighter breakfast with fresh fruit and breads which was a nice start to the day.

The only complaint we had about the Inn was the Air Conditioner ran all night long and was a bit loud. Other than that....we would stay at Kauai Inn again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank pennstate99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This was our third time staying here and they never dissappoint us. It isn't a 4 star hotel but it is nice and clean and would suggest it to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louseuferer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
4.4 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,384 reviews
7.3 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#10 of 11 in Kapaa
64 reviews
0.8 mi away
Garden Island Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
7.7 mi away
Plantation Hale Suites
9.3 mi away
Hotel Coral Reef
Hotel Coral Reef
#3 of 11 in Kapaa
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kauai Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kauai Inn

Address: 2430 Hulemalu Rd, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-9503
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Price Range: £106 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Kauai Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Kauai Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kauai Hotel Lihue
Kauai Hotel Lihue
The Kauai Inn HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing