We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Place, Nice Scenery”
Review of The Kauai Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Kauai Inn
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Upper Arlington, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Relaxing Place, Nice Scenery”
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Although it is not a fancy beach resort, it is close to everything that you need on the island and it overlooks beautiful mountains. The rooms are not extremely updated, but they are relatively large with a/c and an overhead fan, as well as a fridge and microwave. The free continental breakfast includes a wide variety of fruits, bagels, muffins, and banana bread. The staff was very pleasant and they are happy to call a taxi for you if you don't have a car. For a quiet place to relax and a great deal ($100/night) you really can't complain. I would stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Erica K V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    160
    46
    13
    5
See reviews for
62
211
23
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

If you are about to visit Kaua'i you already know that you are about to spend a lot of money. Tickets are expensive, and there are countless activities to do on this magical island. We decided to cut down on accommodation. Kauai Inn is a beautiful traditional hawaiian hotel, very quiet, surrounded with a beautiful garden. It offers breakfast consisted of bagels, muffins and fruits, which was a great way to start your day. Wi-fi is also offered but was not available within rooms.
The location is quite convenient, we drove across the whole island in less than an hour. The room was quite cute, hawaiian style.... not a luxurious one but more than decent and very clean. The ceiling fan was so refreshing! Generally very good value for money. I would probably stay there again if revisiting Kauai. No need to spend more money on fancy hotels there. The fascinating nature of this island will keep you out of your room from dawn until after the sunset :))

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JulieStt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

The Kauai Inn was quaint and tucked away near the harbor in Lihue. Local shops and restaurants were about one mile away, which was convenient for dinners out in the town. The room was older, but had a mini fridge and micro allowing us to make lunches for the day trips. The room is not fancy, however we did not spend much time in the room so it fit us well over the seven days on Kauai.

The grounds are clean and the breakfast consisted of fresh fruit, juice and Costco bagels & muffins. Also, the front desk allows you to check out beach chairs, boogie boards, and beach towels to use while you stay (very helpful).

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank zeroorone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

The staff is really friendly, the grounds well maintained and the breakfast was sweet. The room wasn't particularly fancy but it was clean and fit the budget. Generally speaking, the place is quiet but it might not always be the case for the room. There's a park across the street that was facing our building and during our 4 nights stay people were gathering there quite loudly until around 1 or 2 am, pretty much every night. If you get your room in another building it may be better. The last night we got drying underwear stolen from our ground floor lanai, don't know if it's locals or other guests but it was definitively creepy... Overall, we spent a nice time there, but probably wouldn't go back.

Room Tip: Avoid the building facing the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vincent83_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We stayed for three nights at this place and found it to be as we expected. It's an older place but it is well-kept and had nice amenities - the breakfast, Wi-Fi (in the breakfast area), working AC (a bit loud but it works), nice quiet out-of-way place (some people complain about the crowing roosters - they are all over the place and it happens all over the island at all times of the day - so get used to it!),

Overall it is good-value for the money (we used it mainly as a clean quiet place to drop our bags and sleep). If you need a full-pledged pleasure resort, I would suggest going to the swanky places in Poipu that charge at least twice (and even higher) the rate that this place charges.

I would return to this place next time we visit Kaua'i.

Room Tip: Ask for a second level room (more space) close to the parking lot - then you won't hear the nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stargazer_edm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We arrived at the Kauai Inn. The look on my girlfriends face was priceless. Where at Motel 3. Oh well let check in. The front desk Clerk Paula seemed to be friendly. We got there a little early and asked if the room was ready it was. My girlfriend asked if we don't like the room can we change. Paula said oh it a very Romantic room. With a optimistic attitude we went to the room. It was OK a little small with a porch with two chair a lounge chair an a small table. I decided to sit out on the porch the first thing I saw was the owner house across the lawn. He let his two pit bulls out of his truck and they went out on the lawn and guess what the first romantic thing I saw was the [--] take a dump. That really put me in the mood. A mood of laughter. Romantic???? Anyway the next morning at four the roosters started crowing. On by the way this place is by a recycling center and a loading dock for containers. You get to here back up alarms beep, beep and more beeps. Needless to say we didn't stay in the room except to sleep after I went to Longs and bought a package of ear plugs. The pool and the Lanai are is run down to say the least. The continental breakfast is Costco supplied. YUM YUM. Don't sit at the table under the awning or you'll get termite pellets on your food or in your coffee. Kauai is awesome a lot of places to enjoy. But save your money and stay at a real resort you will be much happier. The cleaning ladies leave the door open when they clean and guess what mosquitoes like to fly in and suck your blood where your not looking. I was in the bathroom doing by business I looked down and a little mosquito was guess where biting me on my private. When I said to myself what's that he flew to the wall where I smashed him and got a squirt of blood on my hand. The walls a re paper thin and you don't have to try to listen to your neighbor. It like there in the room with you. Between the dogs, chickens , beeping and the mosquitoes I didn't stay at the Motel very much. I went to some of the Bigger and Better Resorts and dreamed I was staying there. Overall if your on a budget and don't mind all of the things mentioned than this is the place for you. If not save up a few more dollars and stay at the name Brand Resorts. Oh Ya I must have passed by Paula 20 times during the 10days and never once got a good morning or how is it going. Koodies ot you Paula. You know 10 days was not enough Kauai is awesome. So if Kauai is your detestation then I would saw the Island is a 10.

Room Tip: Stay at a name brand Resort. I don't think there is a quite room at the Motel 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MegKauaiInn, Manager at The Kauai Inn, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Mahalo for your extended ten night stay at our historic Kauai Inn. We, the staff and management, care about our guest's experiences. Kauai Inn takes pride in offering a clean comfortable room, beautiful setting at a value with Aloha. Our concern is your ten night stay with never a complaint to any of our staff until your review!
If you and your girl friend had expressed dissatisfaction, we feel confident that we could have remedied your displeasure or helped you both to relocate to another hotel or inn.

Paula was trained and a front desk staff at the famous Four Seasons Hotel in New York City. She is very friendly and professional with lots of aloha. Paula wishes to apologize if you folks walked by and she did not acknowledge you at any time. Again our management and staff sincerely regret any discomforts you and your girl friend endured.

We do notice your other similar review postings on Trip Advisor! Thank you for taking your time to write our review as it is most helpful to us. Mahalo for giving our beautiful Island of Kauai a ten! Best to you both on any future travel.

Sincerely,

Kauai Inn Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

This is a much older place. We liked it because it was quiet. There is no beach, you have to travel to the beach. It's about 1 mile away. The rooms are very basic. WiFi on the patio. Free breakfast, but they don't start till 8. Seven would have been better for us. Small pool area, shallow, good for small children. Very nice people. Really liked it.

Room Tip: There is only a wall unit airconditioner, but we never ran it. We opened the glass and let the breez...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
4.4 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,293 reviews
0.8 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
780 reviews
7.3 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
8.2 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort
7.8 mi away
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kauai Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kauai Inn

Property: The Kauai Inn
Address: 2430 Hulemalu Rd, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-9503
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Kauai Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Kauai Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kauai Hotel Lihue
Kauai Hotel Lihue
The Kauai Inn HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing