We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay at a great price”
Review of The Kauai Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Kauai Inn
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed in a King Lanai room here on the ground floor. The room was a good size for two, and the bed was huge and comfortable. The bathroom was surprisingly large, and had a good sized shower and vanity. Our room had a little verandah out the back leading out to a cute little grassy garden looking up to the mountains above. It was a nice spot to sit and have a drink at the end of the day. Being on the bottom floor can be a negative though; while we were staying there was a family upstairs whose small child would run around the room in circles during the night, sending an unpleasant loud thudding through our ceiling. However, I'm sure that's rarely a problem! But maybe asking for a room on the top floor is the way to go.

Reception staff were very helpful and attentive, checking us in quickly and efficiently. The breakfast that is served daily is only available between certain hours - but they refill the buffet regularly so you don't miss out if you rock up near the end. The buffet consists of fresh fruit, different types of bagels, muffins, english muffins and toast. It was small but satisfying. There is also free wi-fi out in the pool area where breakfast is served. The pool was cute; it was pretty small, but not many people were around to use it during the day so it didn't matter. There is free parking out the back.

The hotel itself is in an area that seems a tad removed, down by the pier. You definitely need to rent a car to stay here. The Kauai Marriott is a short drive away, and has a couple of nice restaurants overlooking the beach. There is a small town centre nearby too. The location of the Inn is good for checking out the sights though - situated approximately halfway between Ha'ena Beach Park (1 hour drive north) and the Waimea Canyon (1 hour drive west), getting to everything is quite manageable.  

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ses_australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (371)
There are newer reviews for The Kauai Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 371 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2012

While the access road leaves a little to desire (the approach is through the dock area and close to the cruise terminal) once you pass over a narrow bridge, the scenery changes into a delightful panorama of hills and greenery with a little water.
Hotel is clean, well maintained, although an older property, with pool and plenty of space to relax. There are laundry facilities if you need to use them, twenty four hour coffee and refrigerated drinks. Service is excellent as is the attention given to your requirements by the staff who are in constant attendance.
The resident cat maintains his position wherever he is relaxing and doesn't complain as you manage to get past him wherever he is resting on the stairs!
My only criticism is the a/c unit which was rather noisy.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StewLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Loved our stay over Labor Day weekend. Clean and well kept property. Breakfast was great, particularly since it was included in the rate. Muffin bread, bagels, gorgeous prepared tropical fruit and 24/7 coffee. Room was perfect for our needs---that is, it was a clean and safe place to sleep and de-sand after days of adventure and beach. Air conditioner kept room cool, but it was a bit noisy---I loved it because it solved a longstanding snoring issue that I have had with my husband. Also, great location because you can drive north for a day on the Na Pali hiking trial or in Hanalei/Princeville, or you can drive south for a day of Po'ipu and river tubing, ziplining, etc... very central.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We only stayed for one night but if was excellent and the strawberry guavas were excellent. Free fresh tropical breakfast too. So nice and lovely. Close to the airport, on a main stretch of road. Lovely views of tree line and right close to where giant cruiser ships dock. What a sight. The staff was very sweet and approachable. Questions were answered knowledgeably and swiftly. Everyone was respectful and happy and helpful. Especially Petra.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wahr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

I hesitate writing this because after 26 years of coming to Kauai from a neighbor Island I finally found this place. (literally found, since I have looked many times) If you want "old hawaii" with the true aloha spirit this is the place for you. I decided to spend the nite last minute and stopped by to check and Paula, the receptionist, was so kind and thoughtful, I just had to stay. She even found a phone cord for my antique cell phone. Crystal, the humble and hardworking housekeeper could run for state congress and she would get my vote...she is bright, caring and and knows the "aina" like no other. Korine, the night manager and Robert, her boyfriend were insistant helping me with the in room tv., even though I said "no worries" I really don't need to watch TV. The property pets, 2 cats and Kauai chickens add to the flavor. The property is quaint and charming. If you are looking for a resort....don't come!....and please try not to tell too many folks or I will have to make reservations months ahead of time and that isn't local style....

Room Tip: they have rooms with fans only, no a-c that are lovely and a little more economical. I love the tra...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Borntobewild1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We definitely enjoyed our stay. The room was lovely even though a bit old, but it had its charm. The beds were big and comfy, it was peaceful and calming. The houskeeping did a good job too.
Close to the airport but a bit off so rental car is a must if you want to conveniently visit beaches and other towns.
The breakfast was decent, fresh fruit, jam and toasts. Ice water and coffe/tee were available at all times. There is a computer and internet available, however internet does not work so well in the rooms.
All in all we are happy with our stay. Agree with the reviewers mentioning that you get more for what you pay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sparrisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We stayed for five nights during our trip to Kauai. I really liked it! Although the rooms aren't exactly up to date, they were clean and spacious. The fridge and the microwave in the room came in handy, too. The staff was friendly, breakfast ok and the pool was nice. I think you get more than you pay for.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
8  Thank Anilei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
4.4 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,332 reviews
0.8 mi away
Garden Island Inn Hotel
7.3 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#10 of 11 in Kapaa
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
9.3 mi away
Hotel Coral Reef
Hotel Coral Reef
#3 of 11 in Kapaa
353 reviews
1.1 mi away
Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kauai Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kauai Inn

Address: 2430 Hulemalu Rd, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-9503
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Price Range: £98 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Kauai Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Kauai Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kauai Hotel Lihue
Kauai Hotel Lihue
The Kauai Inn HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing