We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boutique Hotel but Could Use a Few Small Upgrades”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great Boutique Hotel but Could Use a Few Small Upgrades”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

I stayed here with my spouse for a few days when we visited Kauai. Since we are members of the hotel's reward club, we were given a free upgrade to an ocean-front room. The rooms are large (especially the bathrooms) and have higher-end ammentities (shampoo, lotion, etc).

The hotel itself was very clean and well-decorated. The pool and spa area were relaxing and decorated in a very Hawaiian (but not cheesy) fashion.

The staff was extremely helpful and were able to book massage appointments (there is no on-site spa so the therapists have to be scheduled to be on-site), recommend dining and provided maps to navigate around the island.

There is also one small on-site restaurant that serves a great dinner. The service was a bit slow, but it's Hawaii, so I expected that.

My only complaint would be to expand the breakfast buffet. Yes, it's included so I can't really complain, but it would be nice to see an expanded set of offerings and some higher quality fruit.

Overall, I plan to return to this hotel. It is small, but it's a nice change from the hustle and bustle of some of the larger resorts in the area!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goferris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,046 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,620
    299
    89
    29
    9
See reviews for
139
1,670
37
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (657)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

We came to celebrate my wife's birthday. It was well worth the trip to Kauai! People on staff were 100% outstanding and amazingly all valets, staff, and restaurant people knew and used our names right from the first day we got here. Can't say enough good things about this resort hotel!

Room Tip: East wing on pool side with balcony allows seeing sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dback98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

My wife and I delighted in our 8-day stay at Koa Kea. Chris Steuri and his staff are consumate professionals, attentive yet discrete and helpful to a fault. The rooms are immaculate, bathrooms spacious and top-of-the-line, with wonderful beds. The large full HD TVs made it that much better. Red Salt is a delight for dinner and breakfast. Both the bar and poolside service are excellent. A spacious pool and manicured lawn at the ocean and chaises with cushions made relaxing a joy. Just one caveat for arriving guests: Koa Kea signage (probably intentionally) is minimal, so keep a sharp lookout. All in all, a great vacation stay made even better by the Koa Kea staff.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the top (third) floor, ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craig s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

The Koa Kea is a wonderful place in an idyllic location. Everything is very new and modern. The rooms are very well appointed and honestly I don't think we had a single complaint. The staff was friendly and helpful and helped us book a number of activities and restaurant reservations. The hotel has amazing ocean views, although you have to walk a few hundred feet to get to the sandy beach. The bed was the most comfortable one I've ever slept on. In fact after our trip we called and asked for the name of the mattress and actually ended up buying the same type for our house! The grounds are lovely and the pool is nice; though not particularly large.
If you have the chance, you should visit their restaurant; Red Salt. Although it is quite pricey, like everything on the island, the food is fantastic. The service was extremely attentive and it was by far the best meal of our trip.
The hotel is very close to a number of shops and restaurants which is convenient and the drive to the airport is not far at all. Overall we had a wonderful time and will hopefully be back soon.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lucygertrudis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Koa Kea for a week and had an absolutely wonderful time. The hotel is just the right size for delivering personal service in an intimate setting. In rating the hotel our choice for top of the list was the people at Koa Kea. They were all uniformly friendly and helpful. I'd also like to add that while I have no idea what the recipe was you have to try the Eggs Benedict.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StarlightGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

We spent five nights here on our honeymoon in early January 2012 and enjoyed it very much. We stayed in a small oceanfront room that was very close to the water. The room was very clean and modern. The service was excellent, particulary the valets who were very quick to get our car and quite polite and friendly. The grounds and pool area are very well maintained and have a pleasant and laid-back vibe. Their restuarant, Red Salt, is superb and was as good as anywhere we ate on our trip. We ate here every morning for breakfast and twice for dinner. Best eggs benedict I have ever had. Also, the hotel serves sushi on Fridays in their lobby/lounge area which we greatly enjoyed. Overall, I would definitely stay here again and recommend this hotel highly to couples looking for a more romantic option than the other large hotels in Poipu.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pisha_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

We always stay on north shore and finish the last few days on the south side. We've stayed in many different places in Poi'pu but I gotta say, Koa Kea is the most tranquil and romantic hotel we've been fortunate enough to stay at. We've basically loved all other places too but this sweet, charming boutique hotel is so wonderfully understated and blissful. I love how the hotel blends in with the surroundings. Walking by it on the beach side you'd never know how luxurious the rooms are or how stunning the lobby is. There's something lovely about a hotel that doesn't have to scream for attention. In its' quiet, tranquil way, it says it all.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,226 reviews
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koa Kea Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koa Kea Hotel & Resort

Property: Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Address: 2251 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9534
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#3 Business Hotel in Poipu
#5 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Koa Kea Hotel & Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter the golden beaches of Ko`a Kea Hotel & Resort, an upscale 121-room boutique oceanfront property in sunny Poipu on Kauai's south shore. This intimate and romantic Hawaiian resort offers the island's closest hotel accommodations to the water, complemented by award-winning service that is both highly personalized and personable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koa Kea Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koa Kea Hotel Poipu
Koa Kea Hotel And Resort
Koa Kea Resort
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort Kauai/Poipu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing