We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top of the line”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Checking out tomorrow but can't say enough about the value, location and service at the Koa Kea. From the intimate and quiet pool/hot tub to the way every employee treats the guests, this place is top notch. Don't miss dinner at Red Salt. It is also top rated in Poipu for a reason. We are already planning our return.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank jdc2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,142)
There are newer reviews for Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

929 - 935 of 2,142 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2013

Very small sign, a bit hard to find on first visit, but well worth it. Room and amenities much better than average nice hotel...as good or better than Ritz or Four Seasons. Great service ....from the moment we arrived, everyone new our name and acted as though they were the owner!y

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack-Diane-NewBloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We chose this hotel based on the reviews on Trip Advisor, so our expectations were very high, and they did not disappoint.

The grounds are gorgeous, and breathtaking. The location could not be better. The complaints about the rocky beach right in front of the hotel I found were unfounded...I quite liked the private beach, we were able to lay out, swim, and snorkel, with no problems. It was quite and refreshing, and away from the hustle of the neighboring hotels.

The beds are to die for. My husband though the matress was slightly firm, but the comforter alone makes you not want to get out of bed. Sleeping with the fan on (needed for the humidity!!) and the door open was absolutely perfect.

We loved the little touches. Complimentary champagne, turn down service with the radio and ice water, quiet hot tub all to ourselves every night, perfect sunset from the lawn, personalized sushi at the bar downstairs. Everyone is very friendly, but if you want advice ask either the Red Salt waitresses or the valets. We found them much more personable and helpful with local insight than the concierge.

It is in walking distance of a lot of great places to eat and shop. We walked to dinner basically every night!!!!

We both had massages but were not that impressed...the only disappointment!!!!

The breakfast package at Red Salt is A MUST!!!!!!!!! The souffle pancakes are to die for!!!!

For a special occasion for a romantic getaway, you can't beat the Koa Kea.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

The Koa Kea exceeded my expectations. The staff appeared to have received the same training as staff from places like the Ritz Carlton or Four Seasons. They are kind, professional, and seem so happy to be there. Even before we arrived, my requests over phone & email were handled with perfect efficiency. They helped me book an oceanside massage and picnic lunch via email request. When we arrived, they had a chilled bottle of champagne in the room to celebrate our anniversary.

Our room was on the first floor (165). The front desk agent, Claudine, showed us to the room & gave us a little tour. The Nespresso machine was very cool, but when I mentioned that I didn't drink coffee, she had an electric kettle & tea tray brought to the room while we were away at the restaurant. The room was beautiful and very quiet. The only sound we heard was the rain, waves, and breeze through the trees. There is a down duvet as well as mattress topper but they'll offer to switch it out for something lighter if you ask. That double shower head system is fantastic (great for tall people like my bf).

The weather wasn't suited for swimming in the pool, lovely as it was. We made good use of the hot tub at night, though. It's a nice temperature and large enough to accommodate 2 couples without anyone feeling crowded.

We had dinner & breakfast at Red Salt. I was pleasantly surprised at the inventive, well prepared dishes. Also, our server, Nancy, was a lot of fun. It looks like it could be a rather stiff place with the cool, modern decor, but she was so friendly and cheerful that we felt very much at ease to enjoy the meal. We thoroughly enjoyed every bite from the bread to the dessert. Breakfast was also fantastic. Most hotel breakfasts are, to be blunt, a rip off. But they have a $25 buffet + entree which is a great deal. The bf got steak & eggs along with the buffet and didn't have to eat the rest of the day! I opted for the signature souffle pancakes and those did not disappoint at all!

We were sad to leave this place and will be back again next year and hopefully for many more vacations in the future!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed for 10 days, had great service from everyone. Loved the Red Salt....ask for Brian but everyone is amazingly friendly and a pleasure to be with. Staff made you feel like you were truly welcome and a guest to them not just a job. Worth the price and I will go back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeniseD2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Upscale hotel with personal touches. Highlight of trip with concierge always available for activity advice. Great little gym. Rooms immaculately clean, comfort and fresh as only 4 yrs old. Amazing location near to shops and running, with sunset view. Perfect for couples, quiet getaway. Breakfast and dinners at Red Salt top quality and prices commensurate. Hope to come back! Rarely say that about a hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ksaridakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Koa Kea. It is an adult oriented, classy, small boutique hotel…..just a few steps away from Poipu Beach. We stayed in a garden view room which was average in size, but very well appointed. The bed is very comfortable, and dressed in wonderful white linens. Although the bathroom doesn't have a bath tub, it does have a beautiful and large marble shower with multiple rain heads. The room was very private and quiet, and we even had a peak of the ocean when we sat on our lanai. All the people working at the resort are warm, friendly and service oriented. They are proud of their resort and take special care of you so that you have a great experience and want to return again. The pool bar/restaurant makes great drinks and food during the daytime hours. The cocktail lounge makes the most extraordinary chocolate martini!!!! I highly recommend you share it with a friend as it is quite large!!
We will stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,332 reviews
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koa Kea Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koa Kea Hotel & Resort

Address: 2251 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9534
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#3 Business Hotel in Poipu
#5 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price Range: £336 - £476 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Koa Kea Hotel & Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter the golden beaches of Ko`a Kea Hotel & Resort, an upscale 121-room boutique oceanfront property in sunny Poipu on Kauai's south shore. This intimate and romantic Hawaiian resort offers the island's closest hotel accommodations to the water, complemented by award-winning service that is both highly personalized and personable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Koa Kea Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koa Kea Hotel And Resort
Koa Kea Hotel Poipu
Koa Kea Resort
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort Kauai/Poipu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing