We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Outstanding in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

We booked 4 nights this month and didn't want to leave. Other area properties seemed over populated. The Koa Kea felt intimate. Also, this property allowed us to view the sunrise from their beach yet the sunset could be viewed from our balcony. The restaurant was perfect for breakfast, but we never had a dinner on property. Instead we felt Poipu was an ideal location to do all that we came to enjoy: helicopter tour, Waimea Canyon, the catamarran at Captain Andy's to see the Na Pali Coast, whale watching, spinner dolphin watching along with Monk seals and sea turtles. We will certainly stay at this property again. The staff was simply outstanding. We needed bug spray for a kayak excursion and they gave us a can to use for the day. Our flight wasn't until 10:30 p.m. and checkout was noon. Frank, at the valet stand suggested we as for the hospitality suite so that we could enjoy our day, return to the property and freshen up, shower or nap before our flight. Also, anything you need ~ the concierge desk can hand you a file card with directions on how to get to the place you are going. Even on the back of the card, there are suggestions on what to bring and what to leave behind. We were going on the catamaran at Captain Andy's and the card indicated to leave boat shoes behind, bring towels, sunscreen and bathing suits but all other gear was provided. Also, when I was at the front desk a woman said her husband wasn't feel well and may need medical attention that night. She was handed a card with the closest clinic with directions and suggestions. They also handed her another card with the hospital information in case they decided to wait until morning. All told, this was a perfect property for us to enjoy Kauai.

Room Tip: The only things that we didn't appreciate at this property is that they gave us 5 small coffee c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JzTz2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,046 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,620
    299
    89
    29
    9
See reviews for
139
1,670
37
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (657)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Chose this resort based on the glowing reviews and glad we did. Everything about the resort was top notch and lived up to all expectations. The grounds and pools are magnificent and Red Salt breakfasts and dinners were wonderful. All the staff, from waitstaff, valet, baggage, front desk, were super helpful, polite, and friendly. Rooms were very modern and cozy. But have to highlight the beds here as they were probably the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on. I don't think i have ever had better sleep then sleeping in these beds. Not sure if its the supersoft down padding or being able to sleep with the sounds of the ocean with the screen door open. I can't remember the last time I slept so comfortably. Simply can't go wrong with this resort.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whreck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york, ny
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

My husband and I stayed here for the last 5 nights of our two week honeymoon to the Hawaiian islands. This hotel was one of the highlights of our trip. The little details are what make the difference here. From being shown to your room at arrival to the chilled water left in the room every evening, to a staff who does what they can to make the most of your stay, we couldn't have been more pleased or better taken care of. The Red Salt restaurant serves wonderful breakfast and our one dinner there was delicious as well. And their lawn chairs make for the BEST spot to take in the sunset with a cold Mai Tai. Enjoy your stay! We don't see how you couldn't.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elenamechlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed at both the St Regis and the Koa Kea, so for anyone looking for a comparison, here you go:

Koa Kea is new(er), very well kept and is what seems to be a very modern twist on what was likely a motel at one point. Our room was nice and well appointed and we had a partial view of the ocean. While we didn't eat at Red Salt, we hit the sushi area located just outside the restaurant and had fabulous fresh sushi. The pool area is nice (the water is cold) and the pool bar is nice with fun drinks. You'll find mostly couples and any kids there seemed super well behaved. My only thing is there isn't a ton to do in the area IMO, but then again we tend to be people who get bored quickly. Make sure to hit Waimea canyon

If you're comparing this with the St. Regis, the view at the STR is magnificent, the property is much larger and despite the cloudier weather, the north shore/Hanalei area suits me better in terms of activities. I found the outdoor areas at Koa Kea to be much more enjoyable and of higher quality and in comparison, I didn't feel like there was someone looking for tips around every corner as I did at STR. If you can't decide which to do...do a few days at both and experience both climates.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mjmjpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

The location of the resort is mind blowing !! nice and peaceful and faces the ocean shore. we stayed their for 3 nights. The drive to poipu via koala is amazing !
The restaurant ' Red Salt' is worth the try if you are a sea food lover, just keep the money floating.
I would surely recommend staying at this hotel as the nearby locations are worth a visit and has lots to Eat. Also u can easily surrender yourself to the serenity of the place as its off the north belt where most of the traffic holds.
we were just DISAPPOINTED with the fact that - the resort does not provide complimentary toothpaste and first aid. found it a bit cheap , hospitality.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Khushi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

I'm so picky about hotels that I was pleasantly surprised that this hotel lived up to the great expectations that TripAdvisors created for it. We only stayed for a night, but enjoyed the restaurant and hospitality while we were here.

The rooms are immaculate with really crisp air quality (somewhat surprising in Hawaii hotel rooms which are always a little damp from the humidity or dry from the A/C). The white upholstered furniture was like new - maybe because it is new. Great little details like complimentary Fiji water bottles in the room and macadamia nuts delivered to the room as a welcome.

The whole place felt very chic but chill. The staff were very warm and welcoming.

Only downside is that it doesn't have the best beach right out front, but only a small issue because it is only a short beach walk to more expansive beach and swim areas.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kxv2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Koa Kea during our honeymoon in Hawaii at the end of October. What a fantastic experience! We expected that this would be a highlight of our trip, but it was beyond what we imagined. There is great attention to detail in everything and to a level we haven't experienced before.

A few minutes after settling in our beautiful room, there was a knock on the door and staff member brought us a bottle of champagne and a card with congratulations from the manager and staff. This was most unexpected and a wonderful surprise.

A bit later, as we walked past the main entrance towards the pool, one of the valet staff members greeted us and wished me a happy birthday, which again was unexpected and took me by surprise. My wife must have mentioned it when making our reservation.

We were impressed by the high quality of services and amenities, and the staff were exceptional. They take great care to make guests feel comfortable, and in a very genuine, friendly and personable way. We had dinner at Red Salt twice and the food and service were outstanding. On our last morning, we much enjoyed the hawaiian honeymoon treatment at the spa, which is a great experience for couples.

Best luxury/boutique hotel we have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dany S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,227 reviews
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koa Kea Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koa Kea Hotel & Resort

Property: Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Address: 2251 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9534
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#3 Business Hotel in Poipu
#5 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Koa Kea Hotel & Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter the golden beaches of Ko`a Kea Hotel & Resort, an upscale 121-room boutique oceanfront property in sunny Poipu on Kauai's south shore. This intimate and romantic Hawaiian resort offers the island's closest hotel accommodations to the water, complemented by award-winning service that is both highly personalized and personable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koa Kea Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koa Kea Hotel Poipu
Koa Kea Hotel And Resort
Koa Kea Resort
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort Kauai/Poipu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing