We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Superb Stay”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Having visited all the other islands over the years, this was our first trip to Kauai. While I can't say we were impressed with the island overall, the Koa Kea was a very pleasant place to stay.
It is obvious by their service and amenities, that they are trying to compete with the "big guys".
Checkin and valet service were exemplary. The room, though on the small side, was comfortable and beautifully decorated. (My husband might argue the level of comfort of the bed....very soft feather beds made it difficult for him to sleep well)
Complementary bottles of Fiji water, L'Occitaine toiletries, turn down service, etc. were appreciated. Breakfast at Red Salt was enjoyable. The beach is a little small, and rocky in places. Though it may not be important to everyone, accessing the beach is not that easy for anyone with knee/leg impairments, or more elderly, like ourselves. It is a two step down from the grounds, each sandy step being over a foot deep. So we avoided the beach, and enjoyed a cocktail on the large grassy area instead. Having visited the St. Regis area in Princeville, I think I would recommend the Poipu area instead...more restaurants, hotels, better beaches, etc. We were glad we had the opportunity to visit Kauai, but Maui has our hearts.

Room Tip: We were in a garden view room on first level...There is a tall chain link fence separating the next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank woodcuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,064 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,635
    301
    90
    29
    9
See reviews for
142
1,683
37
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (664)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My wife and I began our honeymoon at Koa Kea. I had read the reviews and decided that it looked like it was located where I wanted us to be. It was "smaller" and more intimate than the national chains and I believed that the experience would be more personalized. I was correct. The room had a good partial view of the sea, and a lanai for eating snacks and drinking wine. The showers were big with plenty of room. The staff is overwhelmingly attentive. I highly recommend staying here. It is also located close to many attractions and/or ports to go on helicopter tours and boat tours.

Room Tip: Request what you want. If you want to face a certain direction, let them know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dgoldattorney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

The Koa Kea Resort is the place we will always go back to on Kauai. The staff is so personable. Within 2 days they know you by name. Claudia at the Concierge desk was so helpful. Every bit of advice she gave us was spot on. The food was great. The view from our room was beyond perfect. They have a great beach and pool area. The rooms were nice and had the most comfortable bed ever! The only thing we could fault them on was the housekeeping was inconsistent. Things don't get replaced daily. We had to ask for things like toilet paper. Not the sort of thing you want to run out of. But this won't keep us from going back. The good outweighs one small inconvenience. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tennvols1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Excellent hotel on the beach in the beautiful south of the islands Kauai. It is a small hotel (compared to the big Sheratons and Mariotts and you would like to call it a boutique style hotel.
It is very very clean, has the friendliest staff, great food and the location is close to the airport (about 20 min drive) but far enough to relax, de-stress or get active.
There are very good restaurants and eateries close by, little shops, etc
The hotel offers a very good variety of breakfast choices and offers very very good quality.
The room service is very fast, also provides very good quality of food and a good selection.
The spa offers massages next to the beach and you can relax while listening to the ocean.
The hotel offers a really good size whirlpool which can be used almost 24/7 if you don't get crazy while others sleep. Wonderful.
The hotel offers all different kind of water sports equipment and within few meters you are already in the ocean.
The area around the hotel is very quiet, calm and relaxing.
This hotel I would highly recommend for couples. Families with children might want to choose another hotel (no offense).
We will definitely be back and choose the same again - because it was simply the best choice we made.

Room Tip: all rooms (standard category) have at least a glimpse of the ocean but you do NOT want to be next to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mrs_Lizelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

When we were looking at hotels in Kauai, we wanted to make sure that we stayed in a part of the island where the weather was less temperamental (we chose Poipu), and the hotel itself wasn't too big or impersonal.

The Koa Kea was a great choice for us. The rooms were well appointed and the staff was very helpful and friendly. With only 120 rooms, its a lot smaller than some of the offerings put forward from the likes of the big chains that dominate a lot of the islands.

The pool and bar area had plenty of room relative to other options and you are legitimately on the beach. Good walking distance to Brennacke's for food or drink options as well as to some other hotels (and bars).

We ate at Red Salt, their signature restaurant, one night and have good things to say about the restaurant as well. Very tasty and well appointed, as you would expect from the hotel more in this category, although don't forget to book.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GloballyLocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Very well appointed boutique beachfront hotel. We stayed here for an informal second honeymoon. The star of the show is the incredibly responsive and friendly staff at the hotel. Whether it's the restaurant, pool bar, spa, front desk, housekeeping, room service, or valet staff, they were all extremely pleasant and helpful. It's really clear that this place trains their staff very intensively and consistently. The rooms are fairly elegant and well appointed. Great beachfront location. Pool area was never crowded or noisy. Clientele was mostly newlyweds or baby boomer aged couples, a couple of seniors. Hardly any kids.

Negatives were a somewhat worn down mattress, which was out of character to the fit and finish of the rest of the place. Also, for some reason, the housekeeping staff did not replace Nespresso cartridges each day, so we had to call every night for replacements (which were cheerfully delivered in a matter of minutes).

I highly recommend the package which includes the breakfast in the Red Salt. I think we paid an extra $20 per night for it, and it was very worth it. The $20 was far cheaper than walking into the restaurant ad hoc, and they also will deliver the same breakfast choices via room service for no extra charge (so there isn't even a charge slip brought to you with breakfast, which is nice).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SounderFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

The service was outstanding. Clearly a well trained delightful staff with aloha all around. The location directly on a perfect beach cove ideal. To our surprise the good was also outstanding. Breakfasts were included for us, lunches by the pool side bar totally convenient and dinners outstanding. It's a small hotel, which suited us just fine, none of the rigamarole of the large hotels. We will be back!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jedsmith2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,244 reviews
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koa Kea Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koa Kea Hotel & Resort

Property: Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Address: 2251 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9534
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#3 Business Hotel in Poipu
#5 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Koa Kea Hotel & Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter the golden beaches of Ko`a Kea Hotel & Resort, an upscale 121-room boutique oceanfront property in sunny Poipu on Kauai's south shore. This intimate and romantic Hawaiian resort offers the island's closest hotel accommodations to the water, complemented by award-winning service that is both highly personalized and personable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koa Kea Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koa Kea Hotel Poipu
Koa Kea Hotel And Resort
Koa Kea Resort
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort Kauai/Poipu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing