We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Honeymoon Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Koa Kea Hotel & Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fabulous Honeymoon Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed here for our honeymoon in Feb 2012.

Wow, they looked after us. Upgraded us to a double suite looking over the water.

You could see whales breaching off the beach. Get the room service breakfast, no extra cost, but just fantastic sitting on your balcony watch the whales over breakfast.

It is a small quiet boutique resort (no kids), perfect for honeymooners and couples.

There are lots of great restaurants close by. The Chinese restaurant at the Poipu Golf Resort is amazing, great staff. A helicopter tour is a must, amazing scenery.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheDnD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,029 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,604
    298
    89
    29
    9
See reviews for
134
1,659
37
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (652)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

I would definitely return to Koa Kea if I decided to stay in the Poipu area again. It is very quiet and understated. Its only downside is that it is located next to a big time-share resort and there is a boardwalk that runs along the ocean side of the hotel that carries a non-stop parade of people. Obviously, that won't be changing. The staff at the hotel is fantastic. The room was very comfy. I loved the pool. It definitely has the closest rooms to the ocean of any resort we saw nearby. Just know that those oceanfront rooms will have people walking by them all the time. Next time I would request a room on an upper floor. Red Salt was absolutely delicious!

Room Tip: If you stay in an oceanfront room, you may want to request an upper floor. The ground floor rooms ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yellowstoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kapaa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

This is a medium to small resort. They let you bring your little dog for a fee. Food is exclelent. Staff have all been helpful and calm. I will be back. Pool is salt water and warm. Really don't have any complaints.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kauai-dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

This hotel is absolutely amazing - it's right on a small (but perfectly sized) beach in the heart of the southern coast of Kauai. Here are some important points / tips:

1. the hotel is down a winding road behind a larger resort (slightly strange to find)
2. Valet only but they don't have a per day cost, just tip when you get your car. The valet staff could not be quicker or more helpful. remembered us by name and often helped with restaurant options and places to go for a hike / walk. it was less than 3 minuets usually from when we asked for our car to when we got it. perfection!
3. the pool is wonderful - just the right size and overlooking the beach and a large grassy area for you to lounge on. there are plenty of lounging chairs at the pool as well.
4. No kids at this resort made our honeymoon perfect (it's honestly not a kid-friendly location at all so it's not like kids would be here...)
5. the rooms are so nice - large and the beds are heaven.
6. we never at the Red Salt rest, but we heard great things about it.
7. the beach / ocean right outside is perfect - crystal clear water and surfers right outside. the surf here is a little too "rough" for kids (hence why kids are not really here) but it's not rough at all for adults.
8. if you can get ocean view - ask for the rooms above the restaurant - they have perfect, unobstructed views of the ocean and huge (larger than others) balconies.

We WILL be back to visit!

Room Tip: Rooms above the restaurant are THE BEST!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Pamela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

We went to the Koa Kea for 8 days the end of February. It was the perfect retreat after a rough winter on the East Coast.

It's a great hotel for a honeymoon or if you're looking for a private and relaxing vacation. It was a small hotel with mostly couples, so the pool/lawn area was never too crowded and or loud from families and children (unlike the neighboring Marriott or Sheraton). The location is great too, I was hesitant to stay in Poipu with all the resorts, but Koa Kea was like an Oasis. Poipu was a great home base for seeing all the other sights on the Island. Plus for the winter months it has the beast weather.

The grounds and rooms of the hotel are beautiful. We had a partial ocean view with a patio which we took advantage of - spending many evenings enjoying a cocktail and many nights we left the sliding glass door open so we could hear the ocean. The room decor was clean and modern with really nice amenities, especially the bathroom. The pool area and lawn is beautifully maintained. I was a huge fan of the Coconut Mojitos at the pool bar (Thank you Samdi). Red Salt was the our favorite restaurant on Kauai. After a day tuna fishing on a charter boat the chef at Red Salt made us an incredible dinner of Poke, Sushi and Sashimi from our yellowfin tuna.

The activities/sports hut was great, we did a lot of surfing and stand up paddle boarding (thank you Greg and Pedro).

We do a lot of traveling and rarely stay in one hotel for an entire trip. We also never make plans to return to any one location (we like to try new places). But Koa Kea is a hotel I look forward to returning to one day.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank RhettSCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We did expect way more out of Koa Kea.  The staff did stand out the most, when at all available.  There are definitely staffing issues- valet, front desk, and waitstaff.  When we first arrived, we were greeted by the valet team who sat us in the hotel lobby and it was nearly 15 minutes before we were finally able to check in. Our check in agent/concierge, assisted us with dinner reservations for the entire week and booking a helicopter tour of Kauai- very convenient service. Once escorted to our room, it took almost an hour until we received our luggage. Our first day at the pool was disappointing- no pool attendant or waitstaff. It took over 40 minutes to get our lunch and drinks from the pool bar where lunch is served (we ordered a salads). We also did wait a while to be seated for breakfast (almost daily), and service overall lagged. Although our servers were pleasant, they were extremely overwhelmed which took away from our overall dining experience at Red Salt. Food itself was great- must do sushi night with Justin! Another disappointment was the room and amenities. We were being nickel-and-dimed with some of the room amenities, which in most resorts (just stayed at FS Wailea) are complementary and especially at the rate we were paying. Nespreso coffee machine was a great touch, but we were given only 6 complementary capsules for our entire stay. It didn't matter if you were staying 1 or 10 nights, you were to receive only 6 capsules. Water in the room is not replenished either. We were told to share our 330ml bottle of Fiji water. Additional coffee and bottled water may both be purchased at the front desk. The room itself was exceptionally clean and housekeeping did a great job with both morning and evening service. We were very pleased with the L'Occataine bath amenities. The overly soft and slightly lumpy king bed did bother us both. We did notify housekeeping and the feather topper was removed which did help a little. Our view of the ocean was okay- it was further back and also overlooked the interior of the property (pool, lawn, pool bar). I am glad we weren't put on the ground floor which especially lacked privacy, the pool bar fronting your room balcony. Overall, one of the best aspects of koakea was the staff- they were all very courteous and helpful. However I don't think we will be returning.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jubear2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

I don't think there are enough complimentary words in the dictionary to describe the hotel, the restaurant, the spa and the staff at Koa Kea! Upon arriving at the hotel, the relaxation my husband and I were in such need of began immediately. The hotel is so calming you immediately detach from life on the "mainland". Our room was an extension of the environment created in the lobby. A super comfortable King size bed, a well appointed bath and a comfortable deck with chairs to enjoy outside the room. We were so mesmerized with the property that we immediately extended our stay an extra three days....and even though those ended up being rainy days....we continued to enjoy our stay. The staff truly goes above and beyond to ensure your every need is addressed. Don't hesitate to ask your question - the staff will address your need or find a way to help you out. Red Salt, the on site restaurant serves a wonderful menu. Well prepared dishes in a welcoming setting with attentive staff make for a great dining experience. The pool area is well maintained with comfortable lounge chairs and a convenient bar for drinks and food. We will definitely plan on returning! Many thanks to the staff at Koa Kea for providing us with a much needed vacation focused on relaxation and exploring the wonders of Kauai.

Room Tip: There really is not a bad room on the property due to its size and layout. Our room was directly ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunnygirl59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,203 reviews
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koa Kea Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koa Kea Hotel & Resort

Property: Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Address: 2251 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9534
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#3 Business Hotel in Poipu
#5 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Koa Kea Hotel & Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter the golden beaches of Ko`a Kea Hotel & Resort, an upscale 121-room boutique oceanfront property in sunny Poipu on Kauai's south shore. This intimate and romantic Hawaiian resort offers the island's closest hotel accommodations to the water, complemented by award-winning service that is both highly personalized and personable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Koa Kea Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koa Kea Hotel Poipu
Koa Kea Hotel And Resort
Koa Kea Resort
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort Kauai/Poipu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing