We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely reincarnation on Poipu Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
sacramento california
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“lovely reincarnation on Poipu Beach”
Reviewed 18 January 2010

The Poipu Beach Hotel that was wrecked by Hurricane Iniki has finally resurrected into the lovely Koa Kea. Situated between Kiahuna Plantation and the Waiohai, this small resort pampers to the utmost. Rooms are large with down duvets on the comfortable beds. A large terrace faces the sea. Baths are all marble with double showerheads and L'Occitaine amenities. Manager Chris and staff are stupendous! The hotel's restaurant, Red Salt, is one of the best on the island. We'd return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariodeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,044 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,618
    299
    89
    29
    9
See reviews for
139
1,668
37
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (657)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
west coast of british columbia
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2010

Boked on line, always wonder how things will actually be when you book sight unseen and without a referel. Don't you just love when everything is better than you could have imagined. Top shelf all the way.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debora40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 January 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Koa Kea for our Honeymoon. We stayed there for 6 nights. Upon arrival, the staff gave us a tour of the grounds, in addition to answering any questions that we had. The hotel is very nice in every aspect, and the staff goes out of their way to make sure you are taken care of. The pool area has a great bar, with unbelievable sunset views. Everyone is very freindly, and is genuine with their service. When we would leave for a hike, swim, or other beaches the staff would give unique, "insider/local" tips/ information on what to do and see. The resturant is out of this world for every meal (breakfast, lunch, dinner). The eggs benedict is no doubt the best I have ever had. We ate dinner there 3 times, cancelling our reservations at other local resturants. Fantastic atmosphere, and the chef is wonderful. We had a conversation with him one aftenoon, showing his care for his patrons. The actual rooms are wonderful, with absolutely no complaints. Very nice furniture/decor, sleek and stylish. This is a botique hotel, so service is fantastic. I would definetly stay here any time I visit Kauai.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WVU1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, Ca.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2010

Pros:
1. beautiful, small, boutique style property
2. on the water/beach
3. service, service, service!!
4. entire staff is fabulous
5. food is so yummy
6. very clean and brand new
7. great location
8. quiet
9. lovely details with service and entire property

Cons:
ABSOLUTELY NONE!

Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank island2123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2010

Small hotel (120 rooms), great staff with helpful professional attitude, excellent restaurant, and pool bar menu. All rooms with ocean view, or ocean front feature exceptional bed, with superior amenities. Walking distance to shopping, restaurants. Definitely not a chain hotel experience. Look forward to returning.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vinrouge-seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sausalito, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2010

I'm happy to say that this place lived up to it's reputation. It was a truly beautiful and relaxing place with a great staff. We stayed in a garden view room on the first floor and loved it. It really was like our own private little garden. We had coffee on the 'lanai' twice. Ahhh... The coffee machine was good (and a novelty to me) but if I had a single complaint it would be that they only give you three servings and then you have to buy more. Which wouldn't be so bad except that you can only buy them in packages of 10. We had one day left so what are we going to do with 8 capsules of coffee? Fortunately another guest left their extras at the front desk so they gave us those but I would encourage the hotel to make singles available for purchase, if not just complimentary.
The restaurant was great (although pricy). The bed was wonderful. But probably my favorite thing was the pool, the hot tub and relaxing on the lawn chairs. Tranquil paradise!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueTiger28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sherman oaks, ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2010

I should preface by saying I have never taken the time to write a review about a hotel before but today I actually feel compelled....

This year my wife and I decided what we wanted most out of our vacation was to just relax. We've been to Hawaii several times and have always found the "do what we want when we want sun, fun, romance" we look for in a tropical paradise vacation...especially in December.
We have splurged in the past and without regret...(Ritz...Four Seasons...) but capitulated to the reality this was not our year for a $500 plus a night vacation.
So.....
The online search began and we found this small, recently refurbished boutique resort located on what many believe to be Kauai's best beach area Poipu.... and we took a chance.
What we discovered was a small (I believe around 120 rooms) beautiful property located between the Marriott and Plantation resorts that offered everything we were looking for.

Room...ours was a partial ocean, tasteful Asian decor (truly nice), feather bed, wood trim, marble bath (with L'occtane products..very nice), and a small balcony with table and chairs.
New and always clean.

Food...turned out The Red Salt restaurant is one of the best gourmet eats on the island. It is relatively expensive but a must do....from room service to sit down everything we tried was sooo good and gourmet unique. (jazz duet on New Year's Eve dinner was big city pro...nice surprise). It's located next to the lobby which is artfully decorated in a classy yet subtle Japanese style.

Beaches...perfect sand, mild south island surf....from right in front of the hotel and on both sides we found beaches for sun bathing, snorkeling, walking, swimming, surfing...and those beautiful Hawaii sunsets over the ocean. Also...one of the great Kauai beaches Poipu Beach is less than 5 min down the sand...

Personal service...24/7 and excellent. The hotel manager is a classic international hotel pro. Always available, really nice, ready to assist, passionate about his hotel and clients, and if you're not too stuffy will make you laugh day or night.
There's a great pool/bar and hot tub, plenty of towels, and anything you need for beach activities and water sports is available for rent.

Valet parking...no charge.

For some the gym may be a disappointment. It lacks the glamor of a 5 star resort workout space. Although sufficient it is small and without any great views. For us it was a non issue because the extent of our workouts on this vacation was walking to the shops and restaurants down the road or floating around with snorkel masks.

Selecting the right hotel or resort can really make or break a vacation. If you are looking for something outside the cookie cutter, time share, noisy people everywhere, looks good on the outside but predictably mediocre inside kind of place....the secret's out.
I'm probably shootin' myself in the foot with all the rave comments but they're true. And on our next trip to Kauai we will come back to the Koa Kea...
Hopefully it won't be too popular and jammed.
rick

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rickShermanOaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,223 reviews
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koa Kea Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koa Kea Hotel & Resort

Property: Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Address: 2251 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9534
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#3 Business Hotel in Poipu
#5 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Koa Kea Hotel & Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter the golden beaches of Ko`a Kea Hotel & Resort, an upscale 121-room boutique oceanfront property in sunny Poipu on Kauai's south shore. This intimate and romantic Hawaiian resort offers the island's closest hotel accommodations to the water, complemented by award-winning service that is both highly personalized and personable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koa Kea Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koa Kea Hotel Poipu
Koa Kea Hotel And Resort
Koa Kea Resort
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort Kauai/Poipu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing