We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ocean View vs DeLuxe Ocean View? C Pix and U be the Judge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Kauai Resort
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Poipu
Reviewed 25 December 2012

In October we decided to go to Hawaii over Christmas. Plenty of time to book a room. I'm Starwood Platinum and decided to use points at the Sheraton Poipu. They have just completed a $16M renovation project and they told me they had upgraded us to a Ocean View Room. I was really excited until I got to our room, then I was like RU Kidding me? Take a look at the ocean view pics from the balcony and you be the judge.

Two Double beds, tiny room, tiny bathroom, tiny balcony, can tell you none of the $16M in renovation money went into building #3. If you stay here you want a Deluxe Ocean View.

Room Tip: Ocean View means views of street, telephone poles, parking lots, tennis courts and a bunch of other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ScottD58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine L, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2012

Aloha Scott D58,

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Kauai Resort for your December trip to the islands and for taking the time to share your experience following your stay. We appreciate feedback from loyal Starwood Platinum members such as yourself, and were disappointed that you were dissatisfied with your room category. As the resort was nearly at full capacity over the holidays from earlier in the year, we apologize that we were unable to relocate you to a room that would better meet your expectations, such as our beach front or ocean front rooms, which tend to be in highest demand. Again, we thank you for your patronage and look forward to the chance to be of service to you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,331)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,926 - 1,932 of 2,331 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2012

Wanted a central location for the islands activities with nice accommodations and good value - Sheraton fit these well. We stayed in the Garden View rooms - in fact, we were in Building 8 which is the furthest from the beach and this worked. I read the reviews on here about the Garden View rooms being too small and too far and you should upgrade to the ocean view ones; I think it depends on what you are looking for - if it is your honeymoon and you want to have a once in a lifetime experience with the ocean at your front steps or don't mind paying a good sum extra - go for it. For my wife and me, we liked being able to come back from a long hike at Waimea Canyon or any adventure up North and not be in the middle of the action unless we wanted to, which was a 200' or so walk to the beach/pool complex. Room size was more than enough - probably a little tight if you get two double beds and try to fit four people in it but that is to be expected at any resort. Comfortable bed and always well cleaned each day. Had a smaller pool outside our balcony, which was barely used - so this was an option as well.
No issue with service - we had a 9:30PM flight out and the staff offered us a "hospitality room" to clean up before heading to the airport, which allowed us to be able to enjoy the entire day at the pool and beach instead of wasting it waiting or heading to the airport nasty - great idea!
Weather in December is hit or miss - colder (70's) days, we opted for a hike or visiting another part of the island - sunny days for the beach / pool area. We were there 5 days and 2 were pool / beach days and other 3 were better suited for off property activities - which were excellent - some of the hikes on both the West and East side of the island will be the best your have ever hiked both in scenery and challenge. Don't expect to enjoy a December vacation at the pool the entire time - renting a car is essential!

Stayed: December 2012
2  Thank Fancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Great hotel- property lovely but spoiled by weather and lack of amenities. If you want rain and wind- then stay here. If you care about rooms and views then stay here. If not, literally just beside hotel sharing same beach is called the Plantation - much cheaper. Other options available too. It was so cold and windy we could not even sit outside and sunbathe. Forget about swimming on the beach too - strong undertow and huge waves. Water is not calm. Hugely disappointed. Kauai is more for " hippie types" who want seclusion and a remote experience. Hiking and sightseeing are only things to do. We chatted with a couple in the pool who had booked 9 days there and looked horrified. It was only day 2 and they realized they had seen most everything and weren't sure how they would spend rest of time . We left a day early ( lost a nights pay) but felt we had to get out of there!! Rain rain rain- wind wind wind. Nothing to do! Staff told us best weather with little rain is in summer- well who wants to go there in summer?? With 90% humidity? Crazy. Thank god we only spent 3 days there. Hugely disappointed. Research a lot before you go there - focus on weather and activities. You can't get around if u don't have a car - no buses or taxis are there.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

This is the second Sheraton property we stayed at during our first trip to HI. Similar to our first stop at the Sheraton Maui, great location but average service and rooms. Located on Poipu Beach which is excellent for familes and beach activities. Although beach gear kiosk is available at hotel, we suggest renting gear outside for better rates and flexibility. Nukumoi surf shop at Poipu Beach Park is a great place to rent all your beach gear! Restaurant RumFire at the hotel is poor service, expensive and bad quality. Avoid at all costs! Much better places to eat at nearby Poipu Village Shops. Convenient cafe at the hotel for food and drinks to go, but very expensive! Wifi available but weak signal, very annoying especially since there is a resort fee. Depending on which building your room is at, could be a very long walk to lobby area/beach/pool or self parking area. Two pools available however only central pool by the ocean seemed to be cleaned during our stay, probably because busy season is just coming up. Gardens and pool area at second building needs maintenance and attention. Upgrades available for SPG are unreasonably costly. Rooms do not have enough hooks for hanging clothes, especially wet bathing suits and towels. Can't hang on balcony due to strong winds and rain on the island. Overall, great location but disappointing for Starwood quality and service.

Room Tip: Ensure to get clear directions to elevators and room at first as it is very confusing to find.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Exotic_Flower21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

This was our last of four stops on the beautiful islands of Hawaii and we were disappointed. The hotel and rooms are dated and poorly maintained.
The views from our oceanfront room however was spectacular so if you book here...make sure you request one as it was the only redeeming quality of this hotel.
Pools were small and crowded.
No night life.
Breakfast was expensive and horrible.... go eat at the golf course it was great!
Service was bad. Had to call several times for towels etc.
Pool bar service was good and drinks were yummy.
I saw someone spill a bottle of wine on the sidewalk outside our room and called to warn the hotel of a potential safety issue. We then sat and watched outside for over a hour as other patrons were barely missing the broken glass in the dark and nearly tripping. We made a second call after we witnessed another guest attempt to clean up the glass herself.
Another half hour went by and a staff member came by to clean it up.
I would never stay here again and it was kind of a downer to end our amazing honeymoon on this note. I think we were just spoiled by the Four Seasons in Maui and Kona. ;)

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paedsrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine L, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2012

Aloha paedsm,

Congratulations on your wedding and honeymoon! Thank you for choosing Sheraton Kauai Resort and for taking the time to review your stay in November. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the views from your room and the food and service at Lava’s, our pool bar, but are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations in other areas such as your breakfast and housekeeping. In regards to the spilled bottle of wine, the delayed response time is certainly not indicative of our standards, and we are sorry for this lapse in service. Despite our shortfalls, we hope you had a memorable honeymoon, and hope you will give us another chance in the future to change your perception of us.

With warmest regards,
Elaine Leung
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Words cannot express how amazing the staff at the Sheraton were. My husband and I took a trip their for our one year anniversary. They showered us with the utmost care and attention. The rooms were spotless, the pool was amazing and the beach was stunning. My poor husband got sick on our trip and the amazing maintenance man who was fixing our TV brought us water and rice to settle his stomach. The front desk man in the middle of the night went out of his way to get us crackers for my husband and our lovely cleaning lady spoiled us with several pillows and extra blankets! Even though he got sick it could not have been a better place we had the ocean outside of our window and an amazing staff that made us feel at home. If you are looking to go there do not hesitate book it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karla Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

We stayed in the room by the pool with a garden view. We were offered an upgrade to an ocean view room for the price of an arm and a leg. We did attend the presentation and got the upgrade for five days for free. So worth the time. The room is much bigger. The view is spectacular and the bathroom is so much bigger and nicer. The hotel is nice, the pool closer to the ocean is great, but the other one is constantly dirty even though nobody uses it, that's probably the reason. The staff is friendly. I wouldn't mind coming back again to this hotel mostly because of the location

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sajopik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Kauai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kauai Resort

Address: 2440 Hoonani Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9639
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#5 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price Range: £209 - £562 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kauai Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Sheraton Kauai Resort on Poipu Beach in Hawaii has the Hawaiian Rainforest Spa, water sports, two pools, a weekly Auli'i Luau, and 50,000 sq ft of indoor/outdoor meeting and event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Kauai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kauai Hotel Poipu
Sheraton Poipu
Poipu Sheraton
Sheraton Kauai Resort Poipu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing