We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complete disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Kauai Resort
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Poipu
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We were extremely disappointed in the fact that the property is split up with more than half of the rooms across the street from the main property which is actually on the beach! Our room was at the very back of the property and the room itself left a lot to be desired. The website says that there was $16 million dollar renovation and we were left wondering exactly where was all this money spent?? On fire pits that weren't even that nice and pool that was freezing cold? It was definitely not spent in the rooms! I feel like it should be clear that a garden view means across the street as far away from the ocean as possible! My home in LA is closer to the ocean then the trek we had to make back and forth to our room to get to the pool by the ocean. Why even have the garden pool? There is no bar or food or anything at all on that side of the hotel anyway. When we checked in we were given two double beds even though we booked a room with a king bed. We were told that the hotel was sold out for the whole week and that there was nothing that they could do. After pestering the manager and literally going up to the front desk several times a day, we finally were at least moved to a room with a king size bed after 2 nights of our 8 night stay. The ocean side pool was nice, but cold and we were told, “It’s too expensive to heat”. The gym was mediocre to say the least with 3 tred mils and only 1 elliptical which is funny because there is a Sheraton channel at the hotel that shows the gym with 3 ellipticals…very misleading! As far as the food, it was very mediocre for the high price point. Overall, we extremely disappointed with this property and felt really mislead. One bright note, the beach is very nice.

Room Tip: If you chose to stay there for some reason then MAKE sure you pay the extra money for a guaranteed o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LDW2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine L, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Aloha LDW2012,

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Kauai Resort for your recent stay in the islands and for taking the time to review your experience. It is with regret that we read of your negative experiences on property and we are sorry that your expectations in several areas fell short. We are diligent in being accurate regarding our room offerings, and our interactive website map indicates where each room category is located. While many of our guests enjoy the quiet and serenity of our garden wing, for guests seeking the proximity of the ocean front, we do recommend our ocean front rooms. Your comments regarding our facilities and dining experience give us the important feedback to improve our services and provide our guests with the relaxing and enjoyable experience that is expected from a Sheraton resort. We look forward to the chance to be of service to you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,801 - 1,807 of 2,268 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2013

We loved our stay at the Sheraton Kauai Resort. Poipu was wonderful part of Kauai to stay. Our room was clean, quiet, and we loved swimming in the ocean and then jumping in the hot tub! Rum Fire was delicious, the activity planners were helpful, housecleaning was efficient and considerate. This hotel was recommended to us by our travel agent, and I can see why!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jennistress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Sheraton Kauai from Jan 30 - Feb 11, 2013. We had a deluxe ocean front room and it was absolutely wonderful.

I was a little worried before we left as there have been some scathing reviews of this hotel, but we couldn't find anything of significance to complain about. It was important for us to have an ocean front room, so we made sure that's what we booked and paid for. We also knew beforehand that the garden view rooms were in need of a reno and were old and outdated and across the street, so we made sure we booked the ocean front as we knew they had recently been updated and were on the beach side. Our room was amazing and the view of the ocean was spectacular. We saw so many whales right from our lania. Housekeeping were terrific (thanks to Shirley for keeping our room so neat and tidy and ensuring we had everything we needed). The beds were a bit too soft for us, but the bedding was clean and fresh and the bed was very large. Plenty of closet space too. Bathroom was clean and functional.

The resort itself is very nice. I would rate it a 4 star. The beach area is great for swimming and snorkeling. The pool was very nice. Not big, but approriate size for the resort. Lots of lounge chairs available. The smoothies at Lava's were yummy.

We had the breakfast deal at Rum Fire each morning. It was quite good. I would've perferred a buffet so I could have more fruit and more variety, but the breakfast was hot and service was good. The Belgium waffles were my fav!

The Poipu area is gorgeous. Lots of good places to eat and shop. We had a car for the entire time, so we were able to see a lot of the island. We loved everything we saw and enjoyed all our excursions around the island.

I think some people just love to complain about anything and everything. We did our research and were extremely satisfied with this resort. We loved Kauai and will go back for sure.

Room Tip: Ocean front with King Bed is best for couples. It's costs more, but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank prince1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

To be fair, we got a great rate at the Sheraton Kauai Resort and as a result, ended up in a room very far from the beach with no view. We were close to the second pool, which was barely used and somewhat hidden away. There's nothing special about the second pool, few sun bathing chairs and no food/drink service - but good place to bring your own beverages and have a quick dip.

The beach-side pool, Lava Lounge and beach are the best parts of the Sheraton Kauai Resort. At times the pool can be busy, tough to get sun-bathing chairs, and the pool-area can be busy with families/kids. The Lava Lounge serves food and beverages around the pool, service can be slow during busier days, food is not great, but happy hour (3-5 p.m.) is well-priced for a snack and drinks. The beach in front of the Sheraton is probably one of the best in Kaua'i too, less rocky and gentler waves.

There was nothing special about our room, and from what I gathered, rooms in the front buildings with views were much nicer and more modern. Still, the room was clean and well kept, so we can't complain about that given our deal.

The Sheraton is also in a good location and you could probably survive without a car. There's two shopping/restaurant centers/malls within walking distance, along with long stretch of beach with a number of nearby hotels to check out if you get bored at the Sheraton. Additionally, you can easily walk into Koala, for more shops, restaurants and grocery store, meaning you can get everything you need. Not sure about the activities surrounding the resort though, that might take some more research.

Room Tip: Try to get as close to the water as possible, but if you stay across the street, try to get near the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Drew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Each year I have the pleasure of planning an incentive trip for 30 people and as a result I've been to some great destinations. The Sheraton Kauai gets 5 stars! You couldn't ask for a better team of professionals to assist in the execution of every TLC detail. The resort is beautiful, clean and tastefully appointed. The food in their restaurant is delicious, and our group functions featured a marvelous collection of local cuisine and tropical spirits, delivered with warmth and attentiveness. If you are planning a group event, your guests will be embraced with the Aloha spirit upon arrival, and treated to the service experience of a lifetime. And you can relax knowing they are being well cared for. How great is that?

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luann O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013 via mobile

Our family stayed here for 5 days. We had an excellent time. Grounds are clean and well kept. Staff is very friendly and helpful. The was excellent plenty of lounge chairs and room for adults and kids to swim.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shodge12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

We stayed in the ocean wing room 1202. We had an oceanfront room and the view was fantastic. However, the room itself needs some updating. The carpeting is dirty and shredding at the edges. The bathtub has stains. There isn't a screen door to the lanai so we couldn't sleep with the sounds of the ocean because mosquitoes would invade the room. Listening to the sound of the waves is part of the reason we got an oceanfront room! Not impressed at all by the Sheraton. The location however was fabulous as it is walking distance to shops and restaurants. We would only stay there again if the did some updating of their rooms.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gaspass04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,395 reviews
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Kauai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kauai Resort

Address: 2440 Hoonani Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9639
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#5 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price Range: £197 - £439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kauai Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Sheraton Kauai Resort on Poipu Beach in Hawaii has the Hawaiian Rainforest Spa, water sports, two pools, a weekly Auli'i Luau, and 50,000 sq ft of indoor/outdoor meeting and event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Kauai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kauai Hotel Poipu
Sheraton Poipu
Poipu Sheraton
Sheraton Kauai Resort Poipu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing