We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing Chill Out”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Kauai Resort
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
311 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Relaxing Chill Out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in a garden view room as part of our 30th wedding anniversary, after reading previous reviews I was a little concerned. When we arrived we were initially given a second floor room with an adjoining door, within moments we had herd a full conversation from the adjoining room.

We returned to reception and were immediately relocated to a 4th floor room in the same block, and the reception staff could not be more obliging. Room was large, spacious, clean and quiet.

Must also thank the concierge for being most helpful and indeed all the staff including the bell boys who provided free transport both to and from local restaurants.

The location was beautiful and on our first evening we enjoyed the best sunset whilst dining at Rum Fire.

The whole island of Kauai is beautiful with a laid back approach, and excellent dining.

The beach at the Sheraton was first class and we had a welcoming sea breeze.

Overall very good location and beautiful grounds with very accommodating facilities and staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a high garden room for a quiet stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine L, Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Aloha MikeFinM'Bro,

Congratulations on your 30th wedding anniversary, and thank you for choosing to spend such a momentous occasion with us at Sheraton Kauai Resort. We strive to make each guest's stay a memorable experience, and we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed yours. We hope you will consider returning to the islands soon, and when you do, we hope you'll think of us again. Wishing you all the best and many more happy years together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,057 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    744
    716
    341
    157
    99
See reviews for
457
1,193
41
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (875)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

My wife and two kids have stayed at this awesomely located resort in Poipu. This resort is right on a beautiful strand ifgilden sand beach that offers a picture perfect view of the most southern part of the pacific. There are great waves for surfing or just spending the day in the water. I must command Randi,one of the concierge on location as she is the most wonderful person. Caring, smiling, really interested and knowledgeable, she will be there for you in a very enthusiastically genuine fashion. If you plan staying in Poipu,why stay anywhere else....: )

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlogabz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine L, Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Aloha mlogabz2,

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Kauai and your enthusiastic review of your stay. We appreciate you highlighting our beautiful location and our friendly team member Randi. We will be sure to share your comments with our team and hope for the chance to be of service to you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed one week at the Sheraton Kauai resort. We were originally in two rooms across the street (8000 building) but after the 3rd day we asked to be moved because of an odor in one of the rooms. I have to say that the front desk was very responsive to our request and actually upgraded us to two rooms on the ocean side of the property. The rest of the stay was very good. The price of food was ridiculous at the hotel. We made the mistake of eating breakfast at Lavas the first day and after paying over $80 for 4 of us we never made that mistake again. Poipu beach is great and the main pool is OK. The pool across the street in the older section needs some serious TLC. Very few people go to this pool because it looks old and dated. We might return to the Sheraton Kauai but would have to look at other properties first.

Room Tip: Make sure to request a room on the ocean side of the road. The rooms on the other side have had very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine L, Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Aloha Mike H,

Mahalo for visiting us in the islands and choosing Sheraton Kauai Resort for your week-long stay. With regard to your room, while we are pleased to hear that our team was responsive to your request, we apologize for the inconvenience of having to switch rooms. We appreciate your comments regarding our location but are sorry to hear you did not feel the value of dining at Lava's just steps from the beach. In addition to our three on-site dining options, our central location allows for a variety of dining experiences for our guests. We hope you will consider our resort again in the future and look forward to welcoming you back with aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

During our week long stay the hotel seemed nice but the service was never more than average. It seemed like the staff resented being asked questions and explaining things. Now on our last night there is a giant roach cornered under a coffee cup. We paid extra for the beach view room on the fourth floor in the new wing, I am disgusted!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kristinsprauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine L, Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Aloha kristinsprauer,

We appreciate you choosing Sheraton Kauai Resort for your accommodations in the islands and thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We strive to exceed our guests' expectations in every aspect of their stay and are sorry that we failed to do so with regard to the friendliness of our staff. Our team has a pest maintenance program in place due to our tropical environment and suggest for lanai doors to be closed for further prevention. We are sorry for the inconvenience of your discovery and hope you connected with our team for assistance. Should you wish to discuss your experience further, please don't hesitate to contact a manager on duty at 808.742.1661.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
135 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

The beach was beautiful but the resort was lacking. The pool felt like you were sitting at Coney Island.
The rooms were okay but the bathrooms were yucky with lots of ants.
Sitting at the pool was like sitting on main street.
The staff was not very helpful.
The restaurant was VERY expensive.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjzrsz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine L, Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Aloha kjzrsz,

Mahalo for choosing Sheraton Kauai Resort and for taking the time to review your stay. While we were pleased to hear you enjoyed the beach at our Poipu location, we are sorry you felt the Ocean Pool area was crowded. For guests seeking a quieter experience, our Garden Pool offers a relaxing alternative to the energy of the beach front. We strive to create a warm and welcoming stay for each of our guests and apologize that you did not feel the staff was helpful. Your comments have been shared with our team so that we may continually improve and provide a memorable experience for our valued guests. Should you wish to discuss your stay further, please connect with a manager on duty so that we may further address your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Starting with Leeona at the front desk. She was awesome, full of energy and love of her job. If my business was in Kauai, I'd steal her :) She explained everything well and was excited about our room location which was unreal! Beautiful property with lots to do with the kids. Boogy board rentals, snorkel, pool, etc were all reasonably priced for the level of hotel experience. The food was good and people were excellent to the adults and kids in our party.
We will be back!
WalkmanABQ

Room Tip: Pay for the Deluxe Ocean View! You only visit so often, make it worth while. Listening to the surf a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walkmanabq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine L, Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Aloha Walkmanabq,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sheraton Kauai Resort. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the beauty of the resort as well as the activities and dining offered. We also wanted to say Mahalo for recognizing the great service that Leeona provided you upon check in. We know that our team members' warm aloha is what makes all the difference in our guests' stay and we will be sure to share your kind comments with her. We look forward to welcoming you back to the islands soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fair Lawn, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Upon arrival to my room, I checked my mattress to find stains and hair. There were also ants in the bathroom. The staff has been indifferent to the fact that my stay here has become very uncomfortable. If you are going to spend the time and money to visit Kauai you should probably stay at a more hospitable hotel that is clean and bug free.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Greekgirl19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine L, Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Aloha Greekgirl19,

We appreciate you choosing Sheraton Kauai Resort and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It is always disappointing to read when we have failed to meet our guests' expectations, and we are sorry to read of your negative experience regarding your room status upon check in. Thank you for connecting with our team right away, as it has given us the opportunity to address your concerns and provide an acceptable resolution. Should you wish to discuss your experience further, kindly contact the manager on duty at your convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Kauai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kauai Resort

Property: Sheraton Kauai Resort
Address: 2440 Hoonani Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9639
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#6 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kauai Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Sheraton Kauai Resort on Poipu Beach in Hawaii has the Hawaiian Rainforest Spa, water sports, two pools, a weekly Auli'i Luau, and 50,000 sq ft of indoor/outdoor meeting and event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Kauai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kauai Hotel Poipu
Sheraton Poipu
Poipu Sheraton
Sheraton Kauai Resort Poipu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing