We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Kauai Resort
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Poipu
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place to stay!”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I loved the beach in front of the Sheraton and the pools were nice. We stayed in one of the garden rooms and thought it was great for what we wanted. We didn't spend much time in the room and it only took about 3 minutes to walk to the beach. The service from the hotel was good for the most part but some could have been more customer focused and friendlier. Overall I recommend this hotel and would come back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandyC78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine L, Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Aloha MandyC78,

Mahalo for staying with us at Sheraton Kauai Resort and for sharing your feedback! We are happy that you loved the beach fronting the resort as well as our pools. We hope you will join us again in the future and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    793
    767
    368
    169
    105
See reviews for
506
1,261
46
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (900)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Spent the night before my wedding here with my 4 groomsmen. They were incredibly accommodating and provided us with three roll away beds. The room was large enough to fit two queens and three roll away beds. The bathroom was super nice as well. Our room also featured a nice balcony. The hotel itself is beautiful and has a great location by the beach. The beach is very clean and is considered a good spot for swimming in winter. Really enjoyed the fire pits and the fact we could grab drinks from the bars and enjoy them by the fire. Valet parking was very convenient.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mbotaish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine L, Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Aloha Mbotaish,

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Kauai Resort and for sharing your experience with us! We are pleased that we were able to assist with your needs the night before your wedding and that you enjoyed the resort, our location and the grounds. We hope you will consider us again for a future visit and look forward to being of service to you once more. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Normal, IL
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We've stayed at the Sheraton Kauai a few times over the last couple of years. The last 2 times the resort was under construction- thankfully that has finally been completed, and the improvements were worth the wait. The location is fabulous- right on Poipu Beach and within walking distance of many nice shops and restaurants. The beach is wonderful, the pool is nice. The staff was very friendly and helpful from check-in to check-out. Our room couldn't have had a more amazing view from the lanai and the bed! Only a few negatives- the public areas of the remodel were done beautifully, but the rooms seem only half completed. For example, the bathroom counters were new, but the tub and toilet were older and the trim was looking tired. The bed was very comfortable, but the carpet was worn. Wish they would've gone all the way with the updates. There are a couple of restaurants on property. Rum Fire was great, but Lava is really overpriced. Even for Hawaii. The only other complaint- from this trip and last- our room was located with a fantastic ocean/beach view over the pool area, but every morning- before dawn- someone rolls a very loud metal cart back and forth across the stone pool area. Wakes us up EVERY TIME! Surely they can find a better time/method of taking care of whatever they're transporting. Overall this is a wonderful resort! We'll definitely be back- just wish they'd take care of some of the little details that would take the resort from 4 stars to 5!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tropicalcrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

Just spend a beautiful six nights here with my new fiancée. Great location and amenities at this hotel. Sunset views were just incredible. But for me, it was all about the staff, particularly Sissy, who upgraded us to likely the best suite in the whole facility. Oceanfront suite, can't say much more than that. All of our questions were answered quickly and with a smile. There's so much to do on Kauai, and these folks were happy to facilitate. Hopefully we are able to visit again one day!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jbs342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine L, Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Aloha jbs342,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Sheraton Kauai Resort and for choosing to stay with us out of the many resorts available in the islands. We are so pleased that you and your fiancee enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate you recognizing Sissy for making a great impact on your stay. We have shared your comments with our team. On behalf of Sheraton Kauai, we wish you and your fiancee a lovely engagement and look forward to your return in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
357 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

A OK+++...The staff was beyond helpful, the property is Spectacular+ beautifully positioned on a lovely beach, a variety of free activities for the Kiddies, & Monk seals sun themselves right there on the beach...how absolutely perfect! Shopping, adventure activities, & dining etc etc are all easily accessible from the hotel...the free hotel shuttle is GREAT!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank upupandaway3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana Point, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We booked a week at this Sheraton because of its location and the reservation was offered at a discount within a package including roundtrip flight and Hertz SUV rental. Very reasonable package through Pleasant Holidays. The hotel is beautifully situated on a beach in Po'ipu, which is well rated for winter swimming and snokeling. Clean, beautiful beach although we found the waves too strong and opted to drive to a nearby Po'Ipu beach to the east where we swam and snorkeled. We had no idea that we were swimming with a variety of small, colorful fish all around us until we used snorkel gear! The beach-side pool is long, clean, warm, with small waterfalls and some rocks to give it a lovely feel. The Beach and Pool Activity desk provided clean towels and anything else we chose to rent (snorkel gear, a cabana, etc.). Even though we had a garden-view room, we had a peek-a-boo view of the ocean from our ample balcony and could hear the ocean. The bedding and bed were very comfortable and we slept great! The room was clean and very comfortable as were the grounds. We felt like this was home for the week. Thank you for the No Smoking grounds (there are a few designated smoking areas removed from the frequented areas). The two primary restaurants, Lava's and Rum Fire, were pricey and we did not care for the food. There are nearby restaurants (Beach House, Joe's on the Green, Roy's, Keoki's) which are far better. The cafe at the Sheraton is good for getting a bagel or light snack/meal. There is a market in the Po'ipu Shopping Center that also has sandwiches and other light snacks to take out and is very reasonable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine L, Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Aloha Linda M,

Mahalo for choosing Sheraton Kauai resort for your recent visit and for taking the time to review your experience with us. We appreciate you describing our great location and are pleased you enjoyed the convenience and value of your car-inclusive package. We are sorry you felt the restaurants at the resort did not meet your expectations, and your comments have been shared with our food and beverage team to continually improve the quality of our dining experience. However, we are pleased that you enjoyed discovering the many great options available in the nearby Poipu area. We hope you will think to stay with us again and look forward to your return to Sheraton Kauai Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

As the final island of our honeymoon, we agreed that we saved the best for last. An oceanfront upgrade is the way to go. The rooms in the oceanfront building make you feel isolated from the rest of the hotel. The rooms were very tidy and had an "Island" vibe to them. The restaurant, Rumfire, served us one of the best meals we had on the entire trip. Self parking was very close to the rooms. The front desk staff was always there to answer questions and provide towels after hours.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine L, Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Aloha John F,

Congratulations on your marriage, and mahalo for choosing Sheraton Kauai as your last stop on your momentous honeymoon. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay from your oceanfront accommodations to your dining experience at RumFire Poipu Beach. Wishing you many happy years together, and look forward to being of service to you again in the future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Kauai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kauai Resort

Property: Sheraton Kauai Resort
Address: 2440 Hoonani Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9639
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#6 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kauai Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Sheraton Kauai Resort on Poipu Beach in Hawaii has the Hawaiian Rainforest Spa, water sports, two pools, a weekly Auli'i Luau, and 50,000 sq ft of indoor/outdoor meeting and event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Kauai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kauai Hotel Poipu
Sheraton Poipu
Poipu Sheraton
Sheraton Kauai Resort Poipu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing