We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Piece of paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Kauai Resort
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Poipu
Montoursville, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Piece of paradise”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I am staying there right now ocean front. We have stayed at the Grand Wailea and the Westin -ocean view-in Maui last wk and I love this place just as much or more. The walk to the beach was much longer esp the Grand Wailea. The views here
are amazing, staff incredible beach terrific......no coachroachs at all!!!! How sad to write a review like that. The only thing I would like is more umbrellas with lounges chairs by the pool to block the sun as they get taken early. Otherwise....heavenly. My son stayed at the Grand Hyatt and commented how nice our room was and fabulous views. The ocean at the Hyatt looked pretty dangerous and not safe to swim but the resort is gorgeous.

Room Tip: Ocean front is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    793
    767
    369
    169
    105
See reviews for
506
1,262
46
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (900)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandpoint, Idaho, USA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

On my third visit to the Sheraton Kauai due to its location and amazing beach, I requested an upgrade from my ocean view room assigned ( which I later learned was across the street and not on the beach at all!). When I arrived, all ocean buildings were full due to an area convention, but the receptionist discovered that Elaine L, manager, had indeed upgraded my room earlier to 4th floor in the Ocean building #1. I had requested a top floor view where it was quieter. Thanks to Elaine, my first trip on my own, sort of a retreat, was paradise !! The view of the sunset was fantastic, and I could hear the waves pounding in day or night. It was always easy to get a beach chair and a drink right on the beach. The luau had the best cultural dancers ( as good as Smith's Luau!), much better than the Hyatt's luau, although the food wasn't quite as good. Service was great and I especially enjoyed the helpful valet parking guys! I keep going back to the Sheraton since it doesn't seem as crowded or commercial as the other areas resorts, yet it has unbeatable beauty and ambience! Thanks again, Elaine :)

Suggestions: 1) Have screens on the balcony sliding doors so they can be open at night without wondering if lizards or bugs will come in. 2) Have more variety on the continental breakfast as you used to have in the prior location. I loved having the breakfast included in the price, but it was hard to have poached or scrambled eggs, bacon, and potatoes every morning for the hot meal. The waffle iron was great, however!

Room Tip: The ocean view building #1 was quiet with great views and very clean. A few people who stayed in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B0nnie2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I could mention the killer ocean view, the nice grounds, friendly staff, etc., but all that means nothing because our room last week was infested with cockroaches, one the size of a mouse. There's just no excuse for such a state, particularly with what an ocean front room costs at the Sheraton. Plus, the bathroom floor and tub were grubby the whole eight days. I cannot recommend this resort.

Room Tip: Room 1316 has a good ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KayinCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine L, Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Aloha KayinCal,

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Kauai Resort and for sharing your recent experience. We are sorry to hear your stay did not meet your expectations despite the great views, grounds and friendly staff that you noted. The resort takes pest control very seriously and conducts a diligent maintenance program. However, due to our location in a tropical environment, rare instances of insects in the room may occur, and we appreciate you indicating your room number so that we may investigate further. Again, we are truly sorry that your stay was unsatisfactory, and we invite you to connect with us to discuss your visit further. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cape cod, ma
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Very large hotel, lacked in guest parking and dining options. Good location, next to Poipu Beach. Front desk staff friendly and helpful. Housekeeping inconsistent. Two tennis courts available - only one with a net and both suffering large cracks. Claims badminton available, but no net or court to play on!? Rooms were comfortable, as you would expect from a Sheraton, good internet access. We stayed with points, so minimal cost, not worth the rack rate.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank windcall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groton, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

chose this place based heavily on tripadvisor-thanks. been here for 10 days now, and now have gotten to walk thru all the other resorts nearby, this Sheraton is a prime location. they have the best stretch on poipu beach. the grounds are well kept, and most areas clean. small pool but the ocean is steps away. there is ONE small hottub in the pool area, but its nice and good conversation and drink spot. we booked 3 rooms so ended up on the garden side of road. our 1st room was full of bugs, and SEVERE plumbing issues and wrong bed config, they changed us to new room after 1st night-thanks. rooms are a bit rough compared to the other resorts we saw, but are adequate. the ocaenside rooms have great views, but did not get to see inside one. everyone working at the hotel has been great. the onsite food drink offerings are café, lavas, rumfire.
the café is pretty terrible-understaffed, terrible coffee, got a rotten salad, burnt crunchy pizza, and overpriced (management please review your café). rumfire is decent but only open dinner tues - Saturday. Lavas I wrote a separate review on as this is the main food/drink service of the Sheraton = :-( the room keepers have been spotty, they often forget towels or coffee or water or lids for coffee cups, they finally changed the sheets after 10 nights. but we have all called front desk and they always fix or provide whats needed- thankyou. parking is good and easy. there is onsite laundy room, rough but functional. we have found only 1 vending machine onsite so far and it doesnot work. the resort has not been overcrowded. however there is the typical pool seat issue- kudos to any resort that solves this problem. with some guest room renovations, and some management oversight and improvement of lavas, café and room keepers this could be the premier Kauai resort. we would return here and stay in ocean view room. again the beach location is great! recommend they add ping pong,games etc.. for indoor rainy day activities.

Room Tip: ocean side rooms have great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jbturf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Chip and his staff did it again. A perfect stay at the property. Frank, Nick and the guys out front are almost like family now, Sissy at the front desk is great and the folks that handle the cabanas did their normal great job. We love the property and it's convenience to some of our favorite restaurants. We love to kick back and relax when on the island and this is the perfect place to do so. Great for whale watching in January from your cabana.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with Deluxe Ocean Front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marwalker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed for just one night recently and had an excellent experience. It started with really friendly and helpful valets/bellmen who took care of our bags because we arrived way before check-in. The front desk personnel were helpful and genuine. We especially liked Leeona -- what a sweetie. Our room was heavenly. We had to check out several hours before our flight, but not to worry. We were allowed to check out and still use the fitness center and hospitality room (for showers) before we headed to Lihue for our flight. What a nice perk!

Our only negative experience was that at Rumfire, they forgot to put in my husband's salmon order so it didn't arrive with the other entrees. When it did come (they totally rushed it), it was very salty. My scallops and edamame risotto were great, and our waiter was a doll, but I think we should've at least gotten our dessert for free for the inconvenience.

Overall, a really good experience. We would stay there again if we get back to Po‘ipu.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbinouye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine L, Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Aloha sbinouye,

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Kauai Resort and for sharing the experience from your recent stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed your short stay overall and appreciate the friendly service you received from Leeona and our bell team during check in. With regard to your experience at RumFire, we apologize for the inconvenience of your husband's delayed entree and the quality once it was received. Your comments have been shared with our team to ensure that these issues are addressed immediately, and we appreciate the opportunity to continually improve our service. We hope you will consider Sheraton Kauai for a future stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Kauai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kauai Resort

Property: Sheraton Kauai Resort
Address: 2440 Hoonani Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9639
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#6 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kauai Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Sheraton Kauai Resort on Poipu Beach in Hawaii has the Hawaiian Rainforest Spa, water sports, two pools, a weekly Auli'i Luau, and 50,000 sq ft of indoor/outdoor meeting and event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Kauai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kauai Hotel Poipu
Sheraton Poipu
Poipu Sheraton
Sheraton Kauai Resort Poipu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing