We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Winter wonderland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Kauai Resort
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Winter wonderland”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We had a great time at the Sheraton. The beach and pool were wonderful. The location was excellent. We easily found our way to all of the sights we wanted to see.
The grounds were peaceful, beautiful , and the service was great. The rooms were clean and comfortable. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 311chyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,083 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    756
    725
    345
    157
    100
See reviews for
464
1,206
43
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (885)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We were first married at the Sheraton Kauai in 2010, returned the next year in 2011 and can not get enough. This is our number one vacation. Kauai is beautiful, quiet, yet has a little of everything. If you are looking to go clubbing or partying this is not for you. But for a romantic or family getaway it is heaven.

The Sheraton has one of the best buffets on the island, they organized our wedding on the beach to our exact request. The staff go above and beyond. And the location is perfect with excellent snorkelling right on the beach. Poipu to us is the best spot on the island, little rain, great beaches.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T0uringTw0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine L, Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Aloha T0uringTw0,

Mahalo for choosing Sheraton Kauai for celebrating your marriage and for joining us time and again since. We are pleased to hear you have continued to enjoy our great location as well as our friendly team members. We hope you will continue to think of us for future visits to the island and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I've stayed at the Marriott and the Kiahuna plantation next door for many years. The Sheraton was a pleasant surprise on a number of levels:
Quiet and peaceful even when full.
Small fridge in room is large enough for breakfast and snacks
Great bed and nice shower
The Ocean view rooms are perfect and private
Nice gym that's open 24 hours
Coffee shop on site thats reasonable
Great beach...
My only rub was renting a beach chair for eight bucks... not that I'm cheap... but next time I'm heading to kmart to buy one and it will be my gift to the Sheraton.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markmDanville_Ca_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We have been to this Sheraton many times over the years, putting up w/ reconstruction, union strikes, all night wedding parties, inexperienced wait staff in the restaurants, but this time…BUGS!
We checked into our Ocean Front Deluxe room and went to the lanai to see and hear the ocean. Wow! it was outstanding! No where else on the green isle can one get so close to the ocean w/out actually being in it from your room. I was watching whales chase one another when I heard my wife scream from the bath room, "We have roaches!" She said a couple of them went into the shower room. I thought maybe she was seeing things, until the day we checked out and I crushed one by the door, in front of the bathroom! You pay premium prices to be in those Ocean Front rooms and we have never had a problem before. So, bring your bug spay and/or ask for a roach free room before you check in. We put up w/ the bugs so we could maintain our view. The management really does not care all that much as they have a good thing going and they will always have people come to their exceptional location, so there is really no motivation for this Shearaton to strive for excellence. We have noticed over the years that they are more interested in taking your money than giving you good service. But, as long as one is aware of what one is getting into and you go for a good reason, like the exceptional view, the low level WiFi, the $31 daily facility fee, and the lack luster Lava Bar and restaurant must be overlooked!

Room Tip: Go to Roy's or Tropical Burger at the shopping center only a couple blocks away. Going for the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank craigpainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine L, Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Aloha craigpainter,

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Kauai Resort time and again and for taking the time to review your most recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the resort's great location, however, we are disappointed to hear of pests in your room. We maintain a diligent pest program at the resort and encourage you to connect with us at your earliest convenience so that we may learn more. We hope for the opportunity to connect with you soon. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

My husband and I returned home yesterday (travel dates: March 6-13, 2014) from a one-week anniversary trip to Kauai. We booked at the Sheraton because the Westin did not have a traditional hotel on Kauai. We were completely blown away by the level of service displayed by the staff at this hotel! We booked a deluxe ocean view room, and it was so close to the water that we could hear the waves crashing. We could see the sunrise AND the sunset from our room (1408). I need a fan to sleep well at night, and was provided with a box fan within 15 minutes of asking for one. I like LOTS of cream for my coffee, and was always provided with ample creamers, by a super-friendly house keeping staff, for my morning coffee. The bed was really comfy. Soft and plush...the room was clean. I have no complaints. Big TV, plenty of channels. We didn't spend a whole lot of time in the room. We came for the beach.

We ate breakfast at Lava's restaurant, and the first morning our server was Roger. From that point on, we asked for his section. He was AMAZING. He remembered our names and where we were from. He remembered I wanted coffee and my husband preferred juice. It was crazy! The other restaurant, Rum Fire, is fantastic for dinner. The food is really flavorful. We were impressed. We hail from Houston, where good food is on every corner, so our standards are incredibly high...Rum Fire passed with flying colors.

The beach at the Sheraton is nice as well. I particularly enjoyed the cabana rentals. They are right on the water with food and beverage service from Lava's. Perfect. It is $50 for the day, 8-5. I think that is beyond reasonable for a day with a great view AND someone bringing you food and drinks! Cabana #10 and #14 were my favorites because they did not have people RIGHT beside them. Arch was super friendly and always making his rounds with frozen Go-Gurt and ice-pops. I have never seen those touches at any resort before. Two thumbs way up!

I would recommend this property to anyone. It's close to town...a little town, but town. It is down the road from the only shore dive site in Kauai. You won't find a nicer staff. I did NOT want to leave. Oh, they also have a "Hospitality Suite" for those people who have late departure flights home. We had to check out of our room by 11 am, but our flight home was not until 8:30 pm. The bell desk held our bags for the day, and we rented a cabana, then used their Hospitality Suite (for free) to shower and clean up and THEN head to the airport. It was a great way to spend the last day on the island.

Book at the Sheraton Kauai. You will NOT regret it!!!

Room Tip: 1408 has a FANTASTIC view of the sunrise AND the sunset!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dallas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Trip Advisor had us worried..."#6 of 6 hotels in Poipu" was a scary designation. While not the nicest hotel we've stayed in, the location cannot be beat.
We were in the Ocean Wing, third floor Deluxe Ocean Front room... maybe 20 yards from the water. It was an incredible view and one we enjoyed very much. The room was a bit worn, but very clean. A problem with the shower draining our first morning was reported by our housekeeper, not us, and fixed in a few hours... with a follow up phone call asking if everything was to our satisfaction. We actually liked the layout of the room and bath area very much -- the dual sided closet was handy as was the double vanity.The room itself was pleasantly decorated altho' a bit narrow. We would have loved a larger lanai with some lounges, but the chairs and table were fine. Screens would be a very significant addition... so sad we couldn't leave the doors open! :(
Our concerns about service were quickly set aside. Everyone was lovely, and friendly, and full of aloha spirit. People, if you want to be treated well, you've got to be nice to your servers! We talked to all of them, listened to the tips they gave and followed up with them afterwards... we left a note and a tip for our housekeeper everyday (asking for more towels, or to ask for extra creamer for our coffee set up) and our room was fully stocked every time. We tipped well, and often. We learned everyone's name. When you go 1% out of your way with hotel staff you will be paid 50 times over. We could not believe how many surly visitors we observed... those are apparently the people writing here complaining about service.
Food was very good at RumFire.... breakfast and lunch at Lavas were fine... bar service was always fast and reliable. Pool Desk was friendly and helpful.

Our concerns were met by realizing that either Sheraton corporate management, or the local hotel managers are putting the bottom line over guest satisfaction. It is clear that what the guests may want isn't a main concern.
How do you chase guests out of beach cabanas ($50 a day) at 5:00 every night when sunset isn't for another 1.5 hours? How do you tell pool and beach guests to turn in their towels at 5:00 pm or possibly face a charge for un-returned towels? That pool and beach were busy until at least 7:00 the week we were there...
No live music other than a guitarist in the RumFire bar, which is closed to the outside and really could be an airport bar in Cincinnati for all the island ambiance it has...
Other than a flower or two, the staff here dress like they are manning a hotel in any city in the US, not an island oasis -- muddy brown uniforms somehow don't scream Hawaii to me. Same with the landscaping -- many of the beds are covered in the same little flowers you get at the garden department of any Loews in the mid-west. We saw some plumerias, and ginger, but it's clear that management has cut back.

We walked to other hotel properties up the beach (really another great thing about this hotel is the walk-ability -- we could go to many restaurants in minutes... no need to get the car!) and took advantage of beach front island music and entertainment, happy hour menus on the water, open pool desks with staffing past sunset.... why does Sheraton not subscribe to this type of service for their guests?

Overall, we were pleased with our time there... but as others have said, IT COULD BE SO MUCH MORE! C'mon Sheraton and do it! We'll move in if you do!

Room Tip: Everyone says it and it's true: Ocean Front Deluxe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Babs45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warrenton virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

My wife and I came for our 35th anniversary. It was a little hard to find, even with a GPS. When we arrived that evening we were expecting Ocean Front, but the view was obstructed on the far end. When I talked to the evening manager, Erica, she resolved the situation immediately and we moved to another room. In fact Erica took care of everything including getting me an extra night since we had been snowed in and couldn't make it as planned. The people at the hotel were extremely nice. The concierge was well versed in places to do and things to see. Whatever you do, don't drive to the beach past the world famous PGA golf course. The roads as horrible but I will say the concierge warned us. We enjoyed the Sheraton, just thought the microwave should have been free (not an additional charge) if it was already available. It would have been nice to have a few flowers available to celebrate our anniversary. The complimentary champagne was ok, but not the highest quality. Overall great location, beautiful sunsets, great whale watching and a nice place. We would come back again. Thanks again Erica.

Room Tip: Oceanfront is the only way to go. The garden views are just ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwallace79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine L, Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Aloha mwallace79,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Sheraton Kauai Resort for your 35th Anniversary and for sharing your experience. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay, and appreciate you highlighting the great service you received, particularly the warm, personalized service you received from Erica. We will be sure to share your comments with the team. We hope you will consider our resort for a future stay and look forward to welcoming you back. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Kauai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kauai Resort

Property: Sheraton Kauai Resort
Address: 2440 Hoonani Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9639
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#6 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kauai Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Sheraton Kauai Resort on Poipu Beach in Hawaii has the Hawaiian Rainforest Spa, water sports, two pools, a weekly Auli'i Luau, and 50,000 sq ft of indoor/outdoor meeting and event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Kauai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kauai Hotel Poipu
Sheraton Poipu
Poipu Sheraton
Sheraton Kauai Resort Poipu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing