We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location But Self Park”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Kauai Resort
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Poipu
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Valet was not great. we called for our car from our room a few times and it took the more then 20 minutes to grab our car. The parking lot was across the street. But the property was beautiful loved the pool. Service and staff was great. Food and Bar was good.

Room Tip: Ocean view is beautiful
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie3222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,224)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Kauai Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,249 - 1,255 of 2,224 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

My sister and I stayed for 11 nights in May/June 2014. The staff and our experience was exceptional. Any time we asked for additional services, it was always followed up by a phone call to be sure that we received the requested item. Our room was great and very clean. The bell staff is so friendly and helpful. Love, love, love the pool and the location. This is my Kauai vacation spot of choice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SWashinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Sheraton Hotel staff has always treated me well. Frequent customer so upgrades are pretty standard. Visited friends at other hotels such as the Hyatt and Marriott and the ammenities at those hotels were much more impressive. Nicer pools and lots more activity.

Room Tip: On the south beach so the southern rooms have the views.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eric K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed here to celebrate our engagement. Yes, I am SPG Platinum, but the staff treated us above and beyond what they're supposed to - I was upgraded 2x, including to likely the best suite in the house. Beyond the incredible sights and surroundings and delicious food options on-site and nearby, the staff helped make this a truly impeccable vacation. Thank you!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbs342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We only stayed two nights on the south shore, but thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Sheraton. Paid for a garden view room, but upgraded to an ocean view with our starwood points on the second night. I'll include pictures of both rooms. In our experience, aside from the 'ocean view', the only differences that the ocean view rooms offers are: proximity to the beach/main pool/restaurants, a four-poster bed frame, a larger bathroom and closet, and a slightly larger room. Weigh that as you may. Honestly, I recommend either room. Garden view is a nice way to enjoy the resort and the south shore, in a nicely appointed room, while saving a bit of money for other activities. The gardens are lovely, and I took many pictures of all the flowers on our way to and from the room. Ocean view- well, it's all about the view. The ocean is yards away. Get take-out and watch the sunset from your balcony as you enjoy your evening meal and listen to the waves crash against the rocks as you fall asleep.

We arrived on a Monday evening, and the luau was just about to start while we were surveying the grounds. We spent the next hour lounging on pool chairs enjoying the music. You can see the show from the pool, and compared to other luau's that I've been to, I think this show is worth the price of admission (obviously my opinion is based solely on the entertainment value, not the food).

If you like to stay active during vacation, the grounds are extensive enough for beautiful winding walks (sunrise walks while you combat jet-lag if you so desire!). If you are a runner, ditto, and you can extend your route through Hoonani Road (to remain on sidewalks or pavement, you will have to rely on "laps", but still a great run). Poipu Shopping Village is an easy walk from the Sheraton, where you can find more dining options without having to move your car.

The "resort fees" includes daily classes such as ukulele, lei-making, etc. We took the lei-making class. Worth the resort fee for that day- loved it. Met June, public relations director, during Tuesday social hour- a Sheraton gem.

The main pool is located right on the beach, making for a very relaxing mood (obviously this is dependent on the kid factor though). The pool's design incorporates lava rocks into the setting, which is a nice touch to blend an ordinary resort amenity into it's surrounding environment. I was also pleased to see a pool-side lift chair into the pool- access for all that would like to enjoy the water.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Moments4Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

The Sheraton was exactly as was expected. Lovely hotel, great and helpful staff. They were so helpful with organising excursions. Only downfall is that there was no bar at the hotel after 6pm unless you drink in the restaurant. Special mention to Maiko at the activities desk, she was amazing!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jennymccann7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My wife and I spent 8 nights at the Sheraton Kauai in Poipu. The property came highly recommended by friends who stayed at the resort a few months prior. Overall, we had a decent experience. The property and its onsite amenities are geared to families and we were fully aware of our decision to take an anniversary vacation in the middle of both Canadian and US Spring Break--lots of kids which was all good.

We had some initial hiccups during our first few days at the resort. Room was not ready at the 3pm checkin time indicated and concierge staff were of little help if it involved them having to pickup the phone or leave their desk to do just about anything. By day 2 of our trip, I had enough of the lack-luster service and decided to speak to a Manager to preserve what was left of our anniversary vacation in beautiful Kauai.

Blaire Dela Cruz turned our average stay at the Sheraton Kauai into a great, memorable one. Blaire and her devoted team of guest specialists went out of their way to make our anniversary and the remainder of our stay, truly exceptional. On our anniversary, Blaire put together a beautifully written card and a small gift to congratulate us which was really wonderful. Blaire's attention to detail and unwavering commitment to going 'above and beyond' was duly noted and most definitely appreciated. Undoubtably, Blaire has a bright future ahead with Starwood. We're fans of this exceptional manager.

Property PROS //
- Incredible ocean-front location
- Best location in Poipu to watch a sunset--hands down!!
- Blaire Dela Cruz ---above and beyond manager extraordinaire
- Free bike rentals to tour the area!
- Proximity to local shopping, great restaurants, etc. (walking distance)
- newly renovated rooms were very nice.
- worth the $$ to updgrade to full ocean front room!!! (amazing balcony sunsets)
-room service was great, friendly

Property CONS //
- Lazy concierge staff
- tired property in general
- restaurants were sub-par for evening dining
- poolside staff were unbearably slow and inattentive to guest needs
- towel trade in service was badly organized with long lines often
- pool and hot tub were often dirty / cloudy (wife wouldn't go in either b/c of this)

Overall // We'd go back to Kauai in a heartbeat as it is truly our favourite Hawaiian Island however not to this property. We need a Westin in Kauai!!

Room Tip: Ocean Front all the way!!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PassionDrivesSuccess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Kauai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kauai Resort

Address: 2440 Hoonani Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9639
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#6 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price Range: £177 - £390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kauai Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Sheraton Kauai Resort on Poipu Beach in Hawaii has the Hawaiian Rainforest Spa, water sports, two pools, a weekly Auli'i Luau, and 50,000 sq ft of indoor/outdoor meeting and event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Kauai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kauai Hotel Poipu
Sheraton Poipu
Poipu Sheraton
Sheraton Kauai Resort Poipu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing