We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property and great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Kauai Resort
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Poipu
Reviewed 16 June 2014

After being extremely dissatisfied in our first hotel in Kauai, we came to look at the Sheraton to see if we could switch our hotel for the remainder of our trip. The manager, Peter, that night was extremely helpful and even let us look a few different rooms before we officially decided to change our hotel. He even left complimentary wine in our room after we ran into him the next day after checking in! The rooms were wonderfully designed, I highly suggest the complimentary Resort activities (Lei making, Ukelele lessons…all very fun!). A wonderful experience at a definitely reasonable price.

Room Tip: If you are not getting an ocean view, request a forth floor room over-looking the pool on the Garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ACB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine L, Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Aloha ACB B,

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Kauai Resort! We are sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your originally booked resort, but are pleased for the opportunity to turn around your Kauai experience by moving your accommodations to our property. We are happy you enjoyed the variety of resort activities available for our guests as well as the great service you received from Peter. We hope you will consider Sheraton Kauai Resort again for a future visit, and we look forward to welcoming you back. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,346 - 1,352 of 2,327 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

The resort is lovely; rooms are pleasant; beds are comfortable. We reached the hotel our first evening and wanted to grab a quick bite before bed. No such thing. We ate in an area surrounding the pool with prices high and servings small. Advice to the travel-weary: if you find a place to eat before you get to the Sheraton, stop and eat. Definitely treat yourself to a day on the beach and rent a cabana. Spectacular view with great service !

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pidge B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine L, Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Aloha Pidge B,

Mahalo for choosing Sheraton Kauai Resort for your accommodations in the islands and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your room, our comfortable Sheraton Sweet Sleeper bed and our beach-side cabana. However, we are sorry that you were not able to find a quick bite to eat after a long day of travel. The resort's Link@Sheraton Cafe serves light fare and to-go items from 6:30 a.m. to 11 p.m. for the convenience of our guests and are sorry if this was not shared upon your arrival. Your comments have been shared with our team to better communicate resort dining options and services to our guests. We hope you will consider Sheraton Kauai Resort for a future visit and look forward to welcoming you back. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed here in a partial ocean view. Yes these rooms are across the street, from the beach but it really isn't that big of a deal because they have a nice view and are close to the parking lot for easy access. This place is OK. I went to specifically hike on that side of the island and I probably wouldn't go back. No major flaws but no major rights. It was all adequate: the room was clean, hot tub and pool--check; sandy beach--check; OK room size--check; AC--check. Very good restaurant check.
The main problem was the staff's lack of attentiveness and the way the resort seems to be set up more for the staff and Sheraton corporation than customers. Some examples: When we arrived the signage was terrible--really hard to figure out where to go. Got there around noon, but our room wasn't ready though it was clear the resort wasn't full at all. We were told we could have an upgrade for another $75 (better yet why not give folks upgrades and get them to come back?). The receptionist's greeting was about as lackluster as you can get. It's not that the words were wrong it was the way they were said. I asked for a hospitality room and was told we could use it for a half-hour. Come on, what did they think we were going to do, have a party? Towel service at the pool ends at around 5:30 pm (Why so early?) and requires you to sign a form so they check if you return the towels. Most resorts you just drop them off and that's enough. Not here. You have to walk out of your way to reception to return your towels after 5:30. Then the receptionist rather than taking our towels invited us back into an ugly service room off reception to deposit them (Get over it and take people's towels by hand). There isn't really a small store on site. There's a little deli that sells some products for ridiculous prices. With the exception of the restaurant Rum Fire the whole hotel was swell for the eighties, but now is dated. Sheraton should upgrade this place and improve the customer experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JOHOSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Valet was not great. we called for our car from our room a few times and it took the more then 20 minutes to grab our car. The parking lot was across the street. But the property was beautiful loved the pool. Service and staff was great. Food and Bar was good.

Room Tip: Ocean view is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie3222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My sister and I stayed for 11 nights in May/June 2014. The staff and our experience was exceptional. Any time we asked for additional services, it was always followed up by a phone call to be sure that we received the requested item. Our room was great and very clean. The bell staff is so friendly and helpful. Love, love, love the pool and the location. This is my Kauai vacation spot of choice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SWashinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Sheraton Hotel staff has always treated me well. Frequent customer so upgrades are pretty standard. Visited friends at other hotels such as the Hyatt and Marriott and the ammenities at those hotels were much more impressive. Nicer pools and lots more activity.

Room Tip: On the south beach so the southern rooms have the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eric K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed here to celebrate our engagement. Yes, I am SPG Platinum, but the staff treated us above and beyond what they're supposed to - I was upgraded 2x, including to likely the best suite in the house. Beyond the incredible sights and surroundings and delicious food options on-site and nearby, the staff helped make this a truly impeccable vacation. Thank you!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbs342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Kauai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kauai Resort

Address: 2440 Hoonani Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9639
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#5 Family Hotel in Poipu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
Price Range: £206 - £532 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kauai Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Sheraton Kauai Resort on Poipu Beach in Hawaii has the Hawaiian Rainforest Spa, water sports, two pools, a weekly Auli'i Luau, and 50,000 sq ft of indoor/outdoor meeting and event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Kauai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kauai Hotel Poipu
Sheraton Poipu
Poipu Sheraton
Sheraton Kauai Resort Poipu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing