We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Respite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Kauai Resort
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
Westchester, NY
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful Respite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

After being extremely disappointed with the first "resort" we had booked up the road for our vacation, we were thrilled to have landed at Sheraton Kauai. The price difference was only $12 ... and what a huge difference that made. Many thanks to Peter for helping us confirm all of the arrangements. We truly appreciated his professionalism and kindness. We loved staying at Sheraton Kauai. It was clean, well-designed and on a beautiful section of the ocean. We stayed on the Garden side and loved it (Room 8304). It was peaceful and quiet, especially with a gentle sound of the waterfall at the pool below. [Great place to meditate.] The room was well-designed. Bathroom was a little meh, but amenities were nice. Also note that the lanai is spaceous enough to accommodate 3-4 people (unlike the first place we went to. Who wants to drink Mai Tais alone?)Enjoyed the selection of hotel activities. Kudos to the ukelele teacher (I learned a few chords and am now eager to learn to play), who was equally patient/adept/fun at teaching us how to make leis. I would absolutely return to this Sheraton resort and appreciate all they did -- each and every staff member -- for makiing our stay on Kauaii so memorable.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 8304. View overlooked beautiful garden and ocean was in distance. Very peaceful lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BKB217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,057 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    744
    716
    341
    157
    99
See reviews for
457
1,193
41
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (875)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

I had researched a bunch of lodging options and was (as most end up) confused with all the options. Trust me - just book this resort. Great rooms (splurge for ocean views) with comfy beds with soft sheets (I am a bed snob). The beach is beautiful, the food outstanding at all of the outlets and service is filled with friendliness and aloha.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MMNAVIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Verne, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

One of the best vacations ever! The room was wonderful!!! The staff couldn't do enough for us --they are the BEST! We were so peaceful and happy there. The grill by the beach has delicious food-everything so clean. Lani was so very nice-the valet helped us a lot. I just have 1 problem------------I had to come home.

Room Tip: Try to get on the beach side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
133 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

The buildings are old and dated, plus we could hear whole conversations through the adjoining door. The location is nice, with a sweet beach and wide expanses of lawn. The landscaping is mature and beautiful. Our room looked out over a pond and a pool. They were nice to look at but the pool water was freezing. You are bit off on your own at this resort, though you can walk through adjoining hotels to reach a touristy shopping center that includes restaurants. ice cream, and clothes and gift shops. The resort offers daily morning classes such as ukulele and hula lessons which are fun to try on a whim... You might well since you're paying for them with your resort fee.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ReneeRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

The Sheraton is a wonderful Hawaiian speed property in our opinion. We are so so happy and blessed to have chosen the right hotel (Sheraton). We checked out the Marriot and Grand Hyatt, both just down the beach from the Sheraton, and reinforced our decision that we picked the best hotel in our opinion. The Sheraton is so laid back and the property is situated so that you don't feel like you are top of each other. When we walked to the Marriot next door it looked like everyone was crammed together and the beach was small as a postage stamp by comparison. The Marriot did look more modern, but a lot of the windows appeared open so not sure if they have AC or not. The Grand Hyatt was "spectacular" and impressive when we visited, but in our opinion was over the top and a bit pretentious. The lobby feels like you are in a high end mall with pricey stores and a bit intimidating. We just did not feel at home at the Hyatt or Marriot. We were so glad to come back to the Sheraton to the comparatively more relaxed and inviting atmosphere that is Hawaii.

Room Tip: "partial ocean view" was very nice without the high cost of a closer room to the ocean. b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jjwolff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varna, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
131 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed for 8 nights and had a magical time on Kauai. Our rooms were at the back, on the other side of the road, but this didnt bother us. Actually, they have another pool there which is much quieter and when we did stay by the pool, we felt good there. The room was fine, nothing amazing, but nothing to complain about and the bed was comfy. Poipu is an awesome location, its worth staying on this part of the island in my opinion. We sat and watched giant turtles feeding off the rocks right next to the hotel and another night saw whales offshore. We got chatting to some Americans whod driven all the way from the north shore just to see this. Also, it seemed that Poipu skipped most of the rain, as often it looked like it was about to pour and somehow we escaped it more often than not. Wish I could go again, loved the place!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkMcT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed at the Sheraton in May 2014 as a fancy finish to our honeymoon. Our experience was quite standard for a resort. The rooms were nice, as were the pool and ocean view. Prices were high and pool/towel use quite regulated which kind of ruins the experience a little for me. The beach right in front of the hotel was phenomenal, but, honestly, all beaches in Hawaii are phenomenal so not that surprising!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank respect425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Kauai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kauai Resort

Property: Sheraton Kauai Resort
Address: 2440 Hoonani Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9639
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#6 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kauai Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Sheraton Kauai Resort on Poipu Beach in Hawaii has the Hawaiian Rainforest Spa, water sports, two pools, a weekly Auli'i Luau, and 50,000 sq ft of indoor/outdoor meeting and event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Kauai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kauai Hotel Poipu
Sheraton Poipu
Poipu Sheraton
Sheraton Kauai Resort Poipu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing