We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Graduation get away!”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Kauai Resort
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Poipu
Riverside, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Graduation get away!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My daughter and I stayed at the Sheraton on Kauai for a week. From the moment we pulled up to valet until our very last minute EVERYONE was awesome! The room, food, service, drinks, and spa were excellent. The property is right on the beach which makes it perfect for a dip in the ocean or the pool. Pool side service was on point. Never let me be without a drink in hand, be it water or alcohol. The luau was amazing and the dancers were excellent. I would so stay at the Sheraton again!

Room Tip: We had a garden room but the view from outside our balcony was overlooking the garden and the quiet...
See more room tips
Green Features: Everyone was very knowledgeable in everything. From places to visit, shop, and the best taxi services.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

2,184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    788
    760
    366
    167
    103
See reviews for
494
1,257
45
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (897)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

This is by far our favorite hotels. We have stayed here three times and look forward to returning again. We have only stayed on the ocean side, as we are Starwood members. Our rooms have always been pristine. The staff very helpful and friendly. We love the atmosphere! We have rented both cabanas on the beach and poolside and we have felt very pampered. We like to combine our timeshare stays with a few days at this hotel whenever possible.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The resort is wonderful! The property line facing the water is not too large, therefore, if you have a balcony room facing the ocean, it is amazing! Could lay in bed and have a full view of the ocean and palm trees!

Since it was our honeymoon, the resort gave us a bottle of champagne that we enjoyed on our balcony! Wonderful staff and hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine L, Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Aloha NinaBomm,

Mahalo for choosing Sheraton Kauai Resort and for sharing your experience with us. We are pleased you enjoyed the great view from your oceanfront room and our friendly staff. We hope you will consider visiting us again in the future, and look forward to welcoming you back with warm aloha. Mahalo.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Sheraton has a beautiful area to for swimming in the ocean! The pool area is rather small for the size of the complex. It is very hard to get a lounge chair, because people come early, put their towel down, and leave for hours, saving a chair they are not using. The rooms could use some upgrades. They are in need of paint. The railings outside on the balconies are peeling, the bathrooms could use new countertops, etc. They charge a $30 resort fee, but if you are like us, you are out doing things in Kauii, so we did not use the gym, take their classes, etc. We wanted to explore the island. If you are put in a room with a bad location, ask to change rooms. They were good about that. The location in Poipu is wonderful, near a great swimming beach, dining and shopping, etc. You might want to ask to look at your room before you move all your belongings into it.

Room Tip: For value, ask to be overlooking the pool, not on the beach side of the road. Or request a partial...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine L, Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Aloha Cheryl M,

Thank you for staying with us at Sheraton Kauai Resort and for taking the time to review your stay. We are pleased you enjoyed the resort's location and great swimming beach. We also appreciate your feedback regarding areas for improvement. Your comments have been shared with our team so that we may continually elevate the guest experience at our resort. We hope you will consider Sheraton Kauai again, and look forward to being of service to you in the future. Mahalo.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My friend and I stayed at the Sheraton Kauai last May for four nights. Upon arrival the valet staff, offering a shell lei, were friendly and helpful. The front desk staff were also friendly and check in was quick and easy, making time to hit the beach. The beach is great and we also enjoyed the pool/bar. Our room was in Bldg 6 with a garden view. After taking care of our luggage we noticed the safe was not operational. We contacted the front desk and were told Maintenance would take care of it. Day two, still no working safe and again were told Maintenance would take care of it. Along came day three, returning to our room after dinner, still no operational safe. Everyday, we had to pack up our important documents, jewelry and money to bring with us. Finally, my head exploded and again called the front desk only to be told that the safe could not be repaired and was broken from the last guests (the safe had drilled marks). The staff had "PRIOR" knowledge before we arrived that this room was not up to "their" standards. After venting my frustration and being declined to talk with a manager, I was first put on hold then was given a call back with a message from a manager. An offer to move us to another room was made and a bottle of champagne (which we substituted for two glasses of wine). We declined with the room move because as seniors, we had already retired for the evening and it's a hassle moving all of our things (suitcases and refrigerated food) for one more day (no staff help was offered). However, if a room upgrade was mentioned, we would have been motivated. It was so disappointing to stay at this resort with a Motel 6 room amenities rating. After reading other reviews, maybe the Hyatt would have been a better choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I are just leaving the Sheraton Kauai and we have to say, our trip was exceptional! Special shout out to Heather at front desk for her awesome personality and great suggestions about the area. Also to Noel & Benji, bartenders at Rum Fire, they remembered us and made us feel at home on our last night. Great staff. Thank you to Heather, Noel and Benji--we hope to be back soon!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine L, Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Aloha JComment,

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Kauai Resort for your momentous occasion, and congratulations on your honeymoon! We are so pleased our friendly team members could provide you personalized and comforting service. We look forward to your return in the future and welcoming you back with our warmest aloha!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanford
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Hotel was very nice and comfortable. Staff went above and beyond to assist and make my stay a memorable one. When we arrived we were upgraded to partial ocean view rooms and what a view. Most excellent. I stayed at this location 4 years ago and returned in May of this year and when I go back I will once again stay at the Sheraton.

Room Tip: The better the room the higher the price. I have found out over the years that the rooms to this ho...
See more room tips
Green Features: Sheraton Kauai Resort is a forerunner in environmentally friendly practices.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Sheraton Kauai Resort

Property: Sheraton Kauai Resort
Address: 2440 Hoonani Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9639
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#6 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kauai Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Sheraton Kauai Resort on Poipu Beach in Hawaii has the Hawaiian Rainforest Spa, water sports, two pools, a weekly Auli'i Luau, and 50,000 sq ft of indoor/outdoor meeting and event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Kauai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kauai Hotel Poipu
Sheraton Poipu
Poipu Sheraton
Sheraton Kauai Resort Poipu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing