We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beach Spot, Decades Old Rooms, Time Share Vibe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Kauai Resort
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Poipu
Reviewed 30 July 2014

For $250+ a night you would expect a genuine resort style feel, but unfortunately the facility is a little dated, and still needs some major investment to renovate, not to mention that upon check in they send you to concierge for a "Free Gift" only to try to sell you into coming to some weird time share presentation. They have a man made beach that's beautiful, and a nice view from their restaurant, but this place needs to get with it to remain competitive with more sophisticated travelers who are used to more Vidanta style resorts that are world class experiences.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that's on the beach side of the street, across the street was a schlep every time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChristopherWalling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,208 - 1,214 of 2,238 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

I expected a lot more from a Sheraton. The staff was pleasant enough but the rooms were older. Definitely not for a romantic getaway. Much better for a family vaca. I don't mind paying for quality but wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eemeetah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine L, Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Aloha Eemeetah,

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Kauai Resort and for taking the time to review your stay. While we are pleased to hear that the staff you encountered were friendly, we are sorry the resort did not meet your expectations in other regards. Our resort strives to create personalized experiences for all of our valued guests, including many couples seeking a romantic getaway. We appreciate your feedback, which has been shared with our team. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I have waited quite a while to write this, as I was expecting to hear back from the Sheraton's corporate offices on the letter I wrote them about my epxerience. Since it is more than fair to wait two months to receive a response to a mailed letter, I will now share it here and on other travel sites:

The property is standard to above average for this location, and needless to say the natural surroundings are breath taking. The staff is generally professional and friendly. The bars and restaurants are nice but clearly designed to funnel you into the very expensive Lava resaurant for dinner.

So what was the issue? We were encouraged before (via postcard) and during our arrival to utilize the hotel's conceirge services to plan our excursions, meals, basically everything on our trip. My wife and I were convinced to do so based on all this enthusiasm, so after checking in, we turned directly to the conceirge desk and sat down with a representative. We started telling him about a few things we had planned, places we wanted to see, etc.

The first red flag was when we told him the desk clerk had suggested a good local dive operator. He said "I don't know why she'd send you there- we have a dive operation right in the hotel" and then gave us that info. Suprising based on my thoughts as to what a "concierge" was supposed to do, but we moved on.

As we discussed hiking and seeing different parts of the island, it became apparent that every one of his suggestions, trip ideas, routes to take seemed to include seeing other Sheraton hotels and properties.

Then, all the pretense was dropped when he found out my wife was in marketing and he said "so, you probably know where I'm going with this". Of course we did- this wasn't a conceirge service. This was a sales pitch for Starwood Resorts' time shares.

It's absolutely appalling to me that you would book a room in a hotel that advertises as nothing but a hotel- especially one in such a beautiful, classy, and expensive area- and be subject to this.

Perhaps others have not had this experience or perhaps they have and are just not as concerned about it as we were. But if you stay at this property, be aware that the employees are going to attempt to get you into a time share conversation. DO NOT USE THE CONCEIRGE for any help with planning your stay. That is not why they are there. They are there to pitch time shares to you.

I'm still irritated by this, and that irritation has been compounded by the fact that my letter was ignored.

So, when booking your trip to Kauai which in every other way I absolutely recommend, DO NOT BOOK HERE UNLESS YOU'RE COMFORTABLE WITH HEARING A TIME SHARE PITCH!

Room Tip: Rooms have paper thin walls- on both of the first two nights, we had to call the desk to get them to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
10  Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine L, Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Aloha Jon W,

Mahalo for choosing Sheraton Kauai Resort for your accommodations earlier this year and for taking the time to review your stay. Thank you for highlighting the resort's location and the surrounding natural beauty, as well as our friendly staff. However, we are sorry your left with a negative impression of the concierge and that you have not heard back regarding the letter you sent to our corporate office. Our mission is to provide a warm and comforting experience in all aspects of the resort, and we trust our concierge team to provide great suggestions and assist with our guests' travel plans - any tours are strictly optional. We are sorry you felt your interaction affected your overall experience at Sheraton Kauai, and we invite you to connect with us so that we may learn more. Please call 808-742-1661 and ask to speak with Mike Schorr, Project Director, at your convenience. We hope for the opportunity to turn around your impression of Sheraton Kauai. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Right on the beach in Poipu - perfect place to relax and enjoy the Hawaiian life! RumFire restaurant was delicious and had tables with a great view of the ocean and sunset. Our only real complaint is that they offered free bottled waters daily; we would rather have refillable water bottles - these make a perfect souvenir and help the environment! With over 300 rooms, that's a lot of plastic every day.

Room Tip: Our garden-view room was great - not necessary to splurge for oceanfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JMM-LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine L, Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Aloha JMM-LA,

Thank you for visiting us at Sheraton Kauai Resort and for taking the time to share your experience. We are pleased you enjoyed the resort's location and RumFire Poipu Beach. Your feedback regarding bottled water has been shared with our team. We hope you will consider Sheraton Kauai Resort again in the future, and look forward to welcoming you back. Aloha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

There is nothing special about this hotel. We were very underwhelmed for the money and further bothered by the additional $30/day resort fee charge. It's very dated and old, the pool is very simple and small, and the restaurants, bars, gift store are all super pricey. What you're paying for is location and beaches. If you don't plan on upgrading to ocean front, you will find your room across the street and behind the buildings which line the beach. It's a short walk, but still oddly laid out. Parking is easy. The beach is great for surfing. Snorkeling, is slightly difficult during the summer months with high winds and surf, and sadly there is not much thriving reef and marine life.

That said, the staff was friendly and nice, the rooms were clean, and the bed was somewhat comfy.

I would give this hotel 3 stars at most.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

As far as clean rooms go, this hotel was fine. However, it was super pricey. We booked through a travel agent and were not made aware of the $30 a day "resort" fee until we checked in. The resort fee is basically for basic internet (which was slow and kicks your out every 5 seconds) and parking which at times were full and we had to park on the street anyways. The bar/restaurant Lava's was SUPER pricey... during "Happy hour" 3 drink ran about $48 bucks... we tried other happy hour places and ordered 3 appetizers and 2 drinks for $22 bucks. The check in personal at the hotel was also rude. our flight came in at 12 and apparently check in is not until 3 PM... we were on our honeymoon and she wanted to set us up in 2 queen beds. When we said no, she rudely told us to find something to do until a clean room becomes available. We were given a room with NO view too after 3 PM... We were set up for a garden view which is not at all what we got. I will not be staying here again.. I heard a lot about this place but was not impressed. For the price we paid it was not at all worth it.

Room Tip: Walls are paper thin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bita s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine L, Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Aloha bita s,

Congratulations on your marriage and thank you for choosing Sheraton Kauai Resort for your honeymoon. We are pleased that you found the hotel to be clean, but are sorry to hear your overall experience did not feel special. It is our goal to create a memorable and welcoming stay for each of our valued guests, and we are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. Your comments have been shared with our team to ensure we are addressing the challenges you faced, and we welcome you to connect with a manager on duty should you wish to discuss your experience further. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This is a great hotel. Lots to do nearby and great restaurants just a few minutes away. We stayed in a deluxe oceanfront room that was on the first floor. Highly recommend the Makai Wing of the hotel - less noise on that side of the property that has incredible views of the ocean which is just 25 feet from your room. It may cost a little more than a partial ocean view or garden view but it was definitely worth it

Room Tip: Go for the oceanfront Makai wing. Less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Kauai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kauai Resort

Address: 2440 Hoonani Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9639
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#6 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price Range: £178 - £365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kauai Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Sheraton Kauai Resort on Poipu Beach in Hawaii has the Hawaiian Rainforest Spa, water sports, two pools, a weekly Auli'i Luau, and 50,000 sq ft of indoor/outdoor meeting and event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sheraton Kauai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kauai Hotel Poipu
Sheraton Poipu
Poipu Sheraton
Sheraton Kauai Resort Poipu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing