We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great staff, good restaurants!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sheraton Kauai Resort
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location, great staff, good restaurants!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here for our babymoon and loved it! The beach in front is fantastic and the pool is great too. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff is very friendly and attentive. We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RCTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,031 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    737
    708
    336
    154
    96
See reviews for
448
1,183
39
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (864)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

The views are great, right on the water. Room cleanliness is just okay. The grounds are just okay. I think it's time for some major renovation. I'd skip the $25 breakfast buffet. In fact, I would skip all of the food on site. There is a small store/cafe that is open early to late which was very helpful. There are computer terminals with a printer available to pre-check for your next flight. Standard Wi Fi isn't very good- but, of course, you could pay for an upgrade. For $30 a day resort fees, I'd think the Wi Fi should work better. I wouldn't elect to stay here again and I'd not recommend this resort to any of my friends.

Room Tip: I'd choose a room at another resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Groverbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lehi, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Celebrated our 41st Aniversary. Had a Beachview room on the Third floor, I will be back soon with my 80 yr old parents, First time on Kaua'i fifth time to the Islands, service was great, only complaint is "they need more self parking stalls"

Room Tip: any thing that says "Pool or Beach view" is a great room, third and forth floor rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand oaks
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We were at the sheraton last week. On july 30 we came back from our dinner and found bugs in our room. On the tables and where tv was. Small ones and a couple of big ones. We didnt leave any door open. I called front desk. I talked to Erika the manager that night. It was around 9:30 pm. I asked her why this would happen. Her exact words were " this is a tropical island there are bugs everywhere". I was so shocked. I told her that this is the Sheraton and bugs shouldnt be inside the room. We moved to a different room but I will never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sny73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine L, Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Aloha Sny73,

Mahalo for taking the time to offer us your feedback. I am glad that we were able to connect regarding your most recent stay. Please accept our apologies once again for the inconveniences you have experienced. Please feel free to reach out to us should you have any further questions or need any assistance.

Mahalo Nui Loa,
Elaine L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Lake, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

This hotel upon checking in asked us if we were celebrating anything. We told them that we were celebrating the passing of my father on that exact date four years earlier and that we were remembering when we had been to Hawaii some 35 years before that. They were so kind and upgraded our partial ocean view room to a full ocean view that had a wonderful swimming pool, hot tub and also included breakfast in the restaurant by the pool. They also gave us two mai tai coupons and a bottle of wine.

This was a lovely place to stay and we really enjoyed the amenities. Thank you.

Room Tip: The rooms by the ocean are better than the ones farther in back. Make sure you get one my the ocean...
See more room tips
Green Features: The people at this hotel went to every extreme to help us get our groceries delivered up to the room as well as the bottle of wine they gave us.
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

First time at the Sheraton at Poipu and delighted with my choice. From the moment at Check-in through the entirety of our stay, we were greeted and served by friendly, welcoming staff. As SPG Gold members, we were immediately upgraded to a ocean view over a quiet section of the beach for a minimal cost. Free valet parking. While the pool is crowded for swimming during the busy part of the day, I had ample time to swim laps in the early morning without interference.
The beauty of the location was it's proximity to the beach. The Hotel is right on Poipu Beach with reasonably priced beach side cabanas. ($50 for the day!) Well worth the price and it came complete with restaurant service. Service at the Fire Rum restaurant great and food superb. Breakfast at the Lava a little pricey, but good. The hotel is a little dated, but the staff and service and beautiful location make up for it. Concierge helpful in scheduling Catamaran tour. In all, a great time at the southern part of the Island before journeying north for a week in Princeville.

Room Tip: worth upgrading to ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine L, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Aloha Laurel W,

Thank you for sharing your experience during your stay with us at Sheraton Kauai Resort and for being a loyal Starwood Preferred Guest Gold member. We are so pleased you enjoyed our friendly service and our beautiful location. We trust the rest of your stay went well and hope you will come back for vacation in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sheraton Kauai. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at the Sheraton as our friends had stayed there and recommended it. It was even nicer than we expected! Great location, wonderful beach and shore views, rooms very nice and quiet, some of the very best beds we have ever experienced at a hotel. Every single staff person we met smiled at greeted us, and offered to help us. Wow! How often does that happen? Thanks to Lonnie at the front desk who helped us change to a king bed when one came open, as this was our anniversary trip. We first were in the garden rooms, which were in the back of the resort, but oh so quiet, and we had the pool to ourselves after the sun went down. When we switched rooms, we were in the part of the hotel closest to the beach, but our room faced the street. We still had a nice view though of the fish pond, greenery, and beautiful mountain views. Both rooms were very quiet. Plenty of free parking too. I would recommend this hotel for a relaxing vacation

Room Tip: Garden rooms across the street from the beach. These have a quiet pool and nice garden view. Rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ascott510510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Kauai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kauai Resort

Property: Sheraton Kauai Resort
Address: 2440 Hoonani Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9639
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#6 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kauai Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Sheraton Kauai Resort on Poipu Beach in Hawaii has the Hawaiian Rainforest Spa, water sports, two pools, a weekly Auli'i Luau, and 50,000 sq ft of indoor/outdoor meeting and event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton Kauai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kauai Hotel Poipu
Sheraton Poipu
Poipu Sheraton
Sheraton Kauai Resort Poipu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing