We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful resort in the perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Kauai Resort
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Poipu
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful resort in the perfect location”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Located right on Poipu Beach, the Sheraton Kauai Resort is a sweet hotel! Beautiful location with lovely landscaping. Not too far from all of Kauai's attractions, shopping, restaurants and, of course, the beach. Our room was clean, cool, and well kept. We were well informed of all the hotel had to offer, which included all kinds of fun activities from a sunset visit to see sea life in the tide pools to an intro to snorkeling. By the way, the snorkeling instructor (sorry, I forgot her name!) was OUTSTANDING!! If you've never done it before or don't even swim, she can safely introduce you to an experience of a lifetime!

Every member of the staff that we encountered was simply outstanding! The bell desk, housekeeping, pool & bar staff, reception, concierge, etc.-all were very professional, helpful, and friendly. They made sure that we understood that they were there to make our vacation special. We were always met with a smile and great customer service.

On our last day we didn't fly out until late evening, but had to checkout by 11am. We'd wanted more beach time and when we called to see if we could get a late checkout we were informed that it was impossible, because the hotel was at capacity. However, they suggested we have the bell desk store our luggage until we were done on the beach and offered us a complimentary room to shower & dress later in the day! We were able to utilize every minute of our vacation and still were able to clean up before getting dinner and catching our flight!

It was an all around great visit and I strongly recommend The Sheraton Kauai Resort! I would certainly stay there again!

Room Tip: No need to pay extra for an ocean view-you can see & hear the ocean everywhere! Quieter pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    780
    755
    360
    163
    102
See reviews for
484
1,245
45
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (893)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We have been here for 5 days. The location is paradisal the staff are non comital. They do try to cater for so so,too many cultures.the Americans are definitely prioritised.every time
But that does not mean that they do not care. The staff do their best. Tourism from abroad is NOT their first call. The room service is fantastic. With rooms immaculate,by the pool noisy Americans rule. If you don't conform to the limited instruction then you are out on a limb.the Americans and I generalise here are forth-rite,pompous and in your face. From a Brits point of view.even Skegness had its obligatory loud mouth.
Why do Americans need to have no volume control.a tuner for all in General would be good. America why is everything " a good job" . Trying not to be a true Brit here signing off. Xx

Room Tip: Ocean front
See more room tips
Green Features: Ok. I think but we did into experience much. More bikes would be good or shooters for hire
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Love It!! An amazing view, the best service, starting with the valet parking guys, ended with the room services ladies!! Super clean!! Family oriented!! You can surf, snorkeling, free Wifi, full of activities for the family. I absolutely recommend!!

Room Tip: The best view are in buildings starting in 2 for example I stayed in 2406 pool view and beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The level of customer service was excellent, everyone who we dealt with, from cleaners, gardeners, bell men, receptionists, management, presented a professional image and were extremely friendly and helpful.

The rooms were very pleasant although a couple of areas could be improved on - the refrigerator was excessively noisy and kept waking us up at night, despite turning to lowest setting; the sound proofing could be improved as when someone showers and takes a bath at 1.30 am and 4 am each morning for 30 minutes the noise wakes you and disturbs your sleep; we were beneath someone who did this for a week.

I gave 5 stars because of the personal friendliness of everyone; if I had rated it purely on the room then it would naturally have been less, so maybe something for management to consider in future upgrades.

We would return again - our family of 4 had two lovely weeks (well except for the hurricane / tropical storm one weekend) flying from the UK.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisG1963A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed at the Sheraton Kauai Resort for 4 nights, July 29th - August 2. When we arrived we were informed by the valet to leave our car and then register inside. After we registered, we requested that the valet please park our car and bring the luggage to our room, the Valet stated we could park our car ourself and that we could carry our luggage to building 3, floor 4, as he pointed to a building across the street. After flying for 10 hours, we were to tired to argue. We then drove our car to the building we were staying in, and hauled our luggage to the 4th floor. The air-conditioning in our room did not work adequately the entire time we were there, when we requested that someone come take a look at it and please provide a fan, we received no responses. The front desk staff did not inform us of what the resort had to offer, we did not know about the pool cabanas until day 2 of our stay. At one time we attempted to use our room key to get ice, our key was not working, an employee happened to be walking by, we asked for assistance and he informed us that he was not clocked in and was not able to help. The bathroom in our room needed serious attention, there was a foam caulking substance used around the shower head to keep it from leaking. Just overall, a horrible experience. Thankfully we went to Maui and stayed at the Marriott Wailea for four more nights and had a much better experience.
We are even Starwood Preferred Guest for the Sheraton and that did absolutely nothing for us.

Rundell-Little Family

Room Tip: Stay in a different resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine L, Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Aloha Jason R,

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Kauai Resort and taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate your comments as it allows us to meet our guest expectations. I am very sorry to hear that you left our resort dissatisfied. We apologize for not providing you with a warm welcome and luggage assistance at check in, and for the temperature of your room during your recent visit. It is not the standard we provide. Again, thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us. We hope that you enjoyed Kauai and had a seamless journey home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Like a lot of the commontaries on this thread I viewed our forthcoming stay with a degree of trepidation, anticipating a filthy room crawling with tropical bugs and cockroaches. Suprise! Was nothing like that at all. At check in wr were upgraded to a delux garden view room with a balcony opening onto a nice outlook ovet a really nice pond surrounded by lush vegetation. Not a bug to be seen inside or out! Room is very nice. Having been here a few days my one complaint is that we are next to a cleaners storage room and they are less than caring about being quiet in the mornings.
We have just returned from breakfast a Lava's and on this point I do concur with the general view that is average at best, $17 for continental and $25 for full done it once, wont' be doing it again although view from Lava's is pretty cool.
Regarding bugs I have seen very few bugs, flies, cockroaches and no mozzies since I have been in Kauai such a change from home (Western Australia) So maybe some of the prior reviewers come from pristine bug free environments.
Would I come back to the Sheraton Kauai? Absolutley!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FatCharlie225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed here a few weeks ago for our 10 yr anniversary! When we arrived we were greeted by a very kind valet staff and the ladies at the front desk were super friendly. When we got to our room we were blown away!! What a view. We had oceanfront and it was literally like 30 steps from the ocean, we couldn't get enough of the view!! The room was so clean and the bedding, OMG. The bedding is soooo comfortable. You literally melt into the bed each night, from the pillows to the comforter its the best! There was a bottle of champagne in the room and a welcome card from various managers and staff wishing us a happy anniversary. It is also my husbands birthday the day after our anniversary and they had a birthday plate in the room, a happy birthday card and some delicious desserts :) What a wonderful and thoughtful hotel. At the end of the week on the day of our anniversary we went that morning to renew our vows at Keiki cove and when we returned there was a note saying to look in the fridge and happy anniversary. Inside the fridge was chocolate covered strawberries, and a bottle of wine! This place was top notch and the staff and view were above and beyond. Thank you to all of the staff who helped make our stay so special, it meant the world to us. We will definitely be back!! We cannot wait
Mahalo
Dave and Jen
Chicago, IL

Room Tip: Get the oceanfront, you will NOT be disappointed. You are coming to Hawaii, you are spending money...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redsilk78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Kauai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kauai Resort

Property: Sheraton Kauai Resort
Address: 2440 Hoonani Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9639
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#6 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kauai Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Sheraton Kauai Resort on Poipu Beach in Hawaii has the Hawaiian Rainforest Spa, water sports, two pools, a weekly Auli'i Luau, and 50,000 sq ft of indoor/outdoor meeting and event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Kauai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kauai Hotel Poipu
Sheraton Poipu
Poipu Sheraton
Sheraton Kauai Resort Poipu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing