We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly residents, could use some freshening up!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castle Makahuena at Poipu
Ranked #21 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
New Vernon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
144 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly residents, could use some freshening up!”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed here in January 2013 in a two bed/two bath ocean front home. It was definitely dated - kind of stuck in the 1980's - I know this particular unit was cheaper to rent and I think that's why. We rented through PARRISH - they were great - very helpful before, during and after the trip. Go out of their way for restaurant recommendations, activity ideas, etc. Back to the unit - it was a great size - no air conditioning and it did get VERY hot as the sun was beating on it all day - being on the ground floor you could defintely hear the people walking above you. But you can't beat the views, the locations, the residents of the condo were all very friendly. I would stay there again, but probably not until 5-103.....

Room Tip: Choose the rooms wisely - the bottom units defintely hear the residents above - and it gets VERY hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esqbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    41
    18
    10
    6
See reviews for
54
21
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We just came back from Kauai last week and are impressed with this hotel. Although the rooms look dated from the outside, they are pretty comfortable and reminded us of home. We stayed in a two bedroom two bath that did not come with an ocean view. The pool was nice, but there was no wireless internet or an AC in our room. Not having an air conditioner was a big disappointment since it was over 80 degrees and we couldn't stay in our room. I needed wifi, so I had to buy a wireless router from the Walmart and install it in my room for the duration of our stay. Overall, it was a nice trip visiting Poipu and if I were visiting Kauai, I'd definitely consider staying here again.

Room Tip: No AC or Wifi in room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parthu71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, HI
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Loved it! Stayed there for 3 days at the beginning of October with my two kids and my cousin's son. We had a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom condo with a view of the pool. It was spacious, clean and comfortable except for the fact that there is no air conditioning and there was not much of a breeze to cool the unit down. There were ceiling fans, which helped, but the afternoons were very hot in the condo. Luckily, the pool was cool so we spent a lot of time down there. The trails along the cliffs behind the complex was the highlight of the stay there. The kids loved it and we enjoyed both beautiful sunsets and sunrises overlooking the crashing waves. It was an unforgettable experience!

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Esther K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Just came back from Kauai and I must say I was very impressed with this accommodation. After a disappointing stay on our last trip to Hawaii I wanted to book something decent and I must admit this place was perfect.

We booked an oceanview condo. The view was amazing, we could see the sunrise from our balcony. The condo was well equiped with most of the kitchen tools one might need. The unit was mostly well-maintained (although the kitchen cupboard could really use some cleaning) and comfortable.

If going back to Poipu I will make sure to book here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

This was our third stay with Castle in Kauai and we have always been pleased. The staff is helpful & friendly. The condos are well equipped, and give you a home away from home feeling. We loved the pool area, used the BBQ grilling area several times, and loved the sunrises from the lava rock point. If you read travel books they really don't give the Makaheuna the kudos it deserves in my opinion.

As far as sleep quality, we loved the sound of the ocean.The residents above us did play loud music into the late hours. We chose not to complain about it, so I can't hold the management responsible. If you read travel books they really don't give the Makaheuna the kudos it deserves in my opinion.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusiWitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Webster City, Iowa, USA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

This was a very nice and relaxing getaway for our family. It was a very well maintained complex with a stunning location along the lava rock seashore. Between Poipu beach and shipwreck beach. The personnel were very friendly (especially Jeremy and Rusty the cat). We had a jolly good time.

If I had one caution it would be that it is very "step intestive", which did not bother us but might be a problem for the "mobility impaired" or aged. It helped us work off Luau lbs.

Room Tip: We stayed in 2311;
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dwanyne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
111 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We booked a 2BR/2BA ocean-view unit and were not disappointed. The views are spectacular, the units are well-maintained and comfortable (though aging a bit) and the location is convenient to many of the local beaches and hotspots in Poipu. We did not rent a car for our stay and found taxi service to be a good alternative (South Shore Taxi).

The units themselves are individually owned so your experience may vary, but our unit (4309) was furnished in typical Hawaiian fashon with bright colors and light woods. A fully-equipped kitchen, washer/dryer, cable TV and free Internet provided all the amenities of home. The terrace overlooking the ocean, the sound of waves breaking on the shore and gentle ocean breezes to guide you to sleep are well worth the price, which was extremely reasonable.

Room Tip: Request an ocean-view room, somewhere away from the BBQ and pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VMBinExile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poipu hotels
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Poipu Shores Resort
#14 of 29 in Poipu
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Hideaway Cove Poipu Beach
Koloa
The Point at Poipu
The Point at Poipu
#4 of 29 in Poipu
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Makahuena at Poipu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Makahuena at Poipu

Property: Castle Makahuena at Poipu
Address: 1661 Pee Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9593
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Makahuena at Poipu 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makahuena at Poipu is an oceanfront condominium on the southernmost point of Kauai that offers a rare opportunity to experience both a stunning sunrise and sunset. Accommodations include one-, two-, and three-bedroom suites with kitchens and washer/dryers. Amenities include a pool, jet spa, tennis court, and barbecue grills. Front Desk Hours: 8:30am - 4:00pm After Hours Check-In: Please call the resort in advance for after hours check-in instructions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Castle Makahuena at Poipu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Makahuena At Poipu Hotel Poipu
Castle Makahuena At Poipu Kauai, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing