We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing wildlife views!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castle Makahuena at Poipu
Ranked #26 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We loved our ocean front unit - in building 5. The first day here we saw turtles, spinner dolphins and even humpback whales breaching! Spectacular.

Overall a great value and location is close to beaches for swimming (although a short walk or car ride away).

Room Tip: Get an ocean front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AfricaGirl34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRHHNL, General Manager at Castle Makahuena at Poipu, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Aloha! Thank you for taking the time sharing your positive feedback of your recent stay, we sincerely appreciate your valuable input. We look forward to seeing you back again someday. Mahalo nui (thank you) once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

From the moment we walked into room 4205, we were so pleased with the wooden decor, stunning corner ocean and private view, as well as all the little extras like iPod player with hawaiian music cued up, games for all ages, and a fully stocked and spacious condo. Beautiful grounds, located in the sunniest pocket of kauai- poipu was magnificent. A 1.5 min drive (10 min walk) to turquoise beaches stocked with sea turtles, and poipu beach which has a baby beach, semi protected reef for excellent snorkelling and an area for boogie boarding and surfing- we couldn't have asked for a better location. Beautiful sunsets on the condo grounds, and a spacious pool made this a perfect condo and hawaiian experience. We love all the islands, but poipu may just be our favourite!

Only complaint- hot tub was lukewarm at night----- I had hoped for a hot soak under the full sky of stars!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank DANDEEEEEEEEEEEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRHHNL, General Manager at Castle Makahuena at Poipu, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Aloha and thank you for sharing your positive comments about your recent visit and overall experience on our property and the Island. I’m so glad you enjoyed the upgrades and amenities the condo has offered. I have corresponded with the property’s resident manager regarding the hot tub. Part has been ordered and it will be installed later this week.
Mahalo (thank you) once again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you back someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

With the many different condo sites to choose from, why choose an old place? Each unit is individually owned - some nicely furnished/maintained , others not. Outside boxing a ad landscaping are funky looking........
Fuggetabout dis place Bra.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soifdawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRHHNL, General Manager at Castle Makahuena at Poipu, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Aloha! Thank you for sharing your comments, we do appreciate your input. Unfortunately Castle doesn’t manage the exterior of the complex and has no control on outside condition of the buildings. However, I will definitely share your comments to the association. I understand, the new management is gradually making steps to improve the outside façade of the property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My family with 2 boys (8 and 10) spent 4 glorious days at Makahuena! We were treated to an ocean FRONT 2 bedroom suite - by oceanfront I mean we were steps from the ocean and enjoyed the soothing sounds of the waves on our entire stay (kept my lanai/balcony door open the whole time)! We were so close to the water that when the waves crashed on the shore we could FEEL the mist at times from our room! The property is centrally located to the airport (30 mins), and shops and restaurants are no more than 10 mins away... Great pool & tennis court for the active guests who don't want to venture far, but the views is what sets this place apart! Breathtaking sunrises and sunsets - the family and I spent countless hours over the past few days enjoying the scenery and whale watching. On one evening we must have witnessed 10 whales blowing their spouts (?)! Truly a must-stay hotel for families or even couples celebrating a special event (honeymoon?)! I give this place 5 stars - and I should know! I work at a 5-star resort! Much mahalos to Evelyn and Dean from Castle Resorts! Your hotel is truly a very special place... Tremendous value! Can't wait to return!

Aloha,
Anthony K
Honolulu

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank akuehnert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRHHNL, General Manager at Castle Makahuena at Poipu, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Aloha Anthony, I appreciate your positive comments about Makahuena. The property is indeed a treasure to us and many return guests who keep coming back year after year. Once again, thank you for sharing your pleasant experience. We look forward to seeing you again someday.

Sincerely,

Evelyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Sits on top of a cliff on the edge of the Pacific. Whales and turtles all winter long. Five minute walk to Brenneckes or the Hyatt. Warm hot tub and pool to star watch at night. Great tennis in the afternoon. Real people, no jerks.

Room Tip: Stay at the Hyatt if you want to close your windows and turn on an air conditioner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D D N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

My husband and I have been staying in the same unit (oceanfront) for 6 years. We love the location and service at Makahuena. We have been so fortunate with the weather during the late January-early February weeks, and it is fun to be on island for the SuperBowl. Our unit is very comfortable and the view is the best, and I mean the BEST!
I wish the pool were heated, and feel that solar panels might be a solution, but the spa is perfect for relaxation. The barbecue area is very clean and protected, as well as being a fun place to socialize. I love walking along the bluff toward the Hyatt and Shipwreck beach.The whales are fabulous!
We already have booked our reservation for 2015, and can't wait, even though our tan skin is still glowing!(proving we had lots of sunshine for our long walks and golf!)

Room Tip: We love being on the ground level, and have a gate right out to the lookout area for sunrises and su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SallyAllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

There are more modern places in Poipu, but we found our accommodations at the MAKAHEUNA very clean and comfortable. The location on the point can't be beat. We were fortunate in having a full view - so many whales! The beds were comfortable and the units are spacious - especially if you're sharing with another couple. Our unit was perfectly set up for cooking in house, which we love to do. Being able to walk right from the building onto the Maha'ulepu Heritage Trail was a real bonus.
The staff are marvellous - always smiling. We had an issue with the garbage disposal and a brand new one was installed within 24 hours. Good response.
Each unit is individually owned and we have stayed two times - each time in a renovated unit. We did see other units though that weren't as well appointed. All you need to do is ask to get a renovated one and ask for the view - you pay a bit more for it, but it's worth it.

Room Tip: They can never guarantee your location, but keep phoning and checking. The views are so fabulous - i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ottonbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poipu hotels
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
The Point at Poipu
The Point at Poipu
#3 of 29 in Poipu
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Aston at Poipu Kai
Aston at Poipu Kai
#12 of 29 in Poipu
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Makahuena at Poipu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Makahuena at Poipu

Address: 1661 Pee Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9593
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Price Range: £196 - £386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Makahuena at Poipu 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makahuena at Poipu is an oceanfront condominium on the southernmost point of Kauai that offers a rare opportunity to experience both a stunning sunrise and sunset. Accommodations include one-, two-, and three-bedroom suites with kitchens and washer/dryers. Amenities include a pool, jet spa, tennis court, and barbecue grills. Front Desk Hours: 8:30am - 4:00pm After Hours Check-In: Please call the resort in advance for after hours check-in instructions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Castle Makahuena at Poipu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Makahuena At Poipu Hotel Poipu
Castle Makahuena At Poipu Kauai, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing