We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Location, Great Price, Very Nice Place to Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garden Isle Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poipu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Garden Isle Cottages
Ranked #29 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Concord, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Price, Very Nice Place to Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2011

My wife and I decided to take a nice vacation before our first born arrives and decided on Kauai. After much research we decided to stay at the Garden Isle Cottages in Poipu. The cottage is in a fabulous location in Poipu. Located close to a round-about with 4 roads leading to different adventures. The location makes it easy to get to the west shore as well as pretty easy to get to the east and north shores. There are a lot of wonderful restaurants and shops nearby.

The room was cozy with a comfy bed, but the main attraction is the front room with a spectacular view. The first two mornings as we were watching the sunrise we saw whales breaching on the horizon...magical. Then in the afternoon we were greeted by sea turtles in the mouth of the river leading to Whaler's Cove. With the windows open there was a constant tropical breeze which is very refreshing.

The kitchen is more of a kitchenette with a burner and hot plate. This worked out well as we enjoyed making a little breakfast and drinking coffee while sitting on the lanai. It is a very nice way to start the day. We ate out most nights and grabbed a sandwhich at the local market which is close by. For the price it was perfect. We did not spend a whole lot of time at the cottage, but when we were there we felt like we were home. This is not a resort...it is more like a nice place to crash in between adventures.

Wade is a very kind host who did not bother us at all, but found time to drop in once to give us fresh towels and to make sure everything was ok. We plan to go back to Kauai in the future and hope we can stay here again. I highly recommend this place to anybody who wants an affordable place in a great location with a wonderful view.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rpotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    7
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2011

Having never rented a private cabin before, I was a little wary of what we were getting. I was pleasantly surprised. Garden Isle was clean and adequately supplied. The kitchen had everything we needed to cook our meals. However, you must supply ALL foodstuffs including oils and spices. The bed was comfortable though the pillows were too hard for me. The bathroom was clean and came with two sets of towels. Laundry & detergent were in a room outside. Living room had a table and adequate furniture. The small patio had an awesome view. Sea Turtles in the cove with the ocean beyond. Bring binoc's. All in all, a nice little private place. We'll come back someday...

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank ORTraveller51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2010

The sea turtles from the deck were very cool, however it was really windy. The kitchen was VERY BASIC, no dish towels/pot holders. No maid service nor did we have contact with one person during our stay. That could be bad or good, depending on what you want.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank spookeysd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boulder
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2010

We have stayed in this property twice now and love the quiet residential location just
South of Poipu. It gives you the feeling of staying in a home and is much more cozy than a hotel. You can easily walk to town and to the new shopping center and is just down the road from the National Botanical Gardens. While the property is older, it is well maintained and is very quiet and private. The management is excellent, very responsive and ready to help in any way. Nowhere else have we ever had direct access to viewing turtles who hang out 24/7 in the fresh water stream bordering the property. The views of the stream running down from the mountains into Whaler's Cove are idyllic and our favorite romantic Baby Beach is a two minute walk. Paradise!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dudeBoulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2009

We stayed at the cottages for our honeymoon and we loved it! It isn't fancy - but it's comfortable and has a great vibe. Some of the furniture is from the early 1900s - so a lot of character. We cooked in both the kitchen and used the BBQ provided in the courtyard - which meant that we didn't have to eat out all the time. The cottages are located on a side street but Kaua'i is so small that you can get anywhere quickly from there. If you are looking for a fancy resort with a lot of action - this is not the place to stay. It was exactly what we were after and we were so sad to have to leave there. We will definitely be coming back!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annadellarocca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2009

We booked this hotel after reading fairly good reviews. It was not at all what we expected - not necessarily bad, but not great either. The agent was friendly and they had tons of beach gear, hiking books, etc. available for use. The location was pretty good - we were able to walk to shops and restaurants with ease. However, the rooms were not extremely clean and it was very old. I would say you get what you pay for. I would consider staying there again, but only because we spent very little time in the room. It is located on a fairly busy street, so I would not reccommend it as a place to relax.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liltank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennitaM
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2008

We just returned from our stay at Garden Isle Oceanfront Cottages for our anniversary in November. Everything was simply perfect for us. The location is slightly removed from the resort area, but close enough to be convenient to all of the restaurants and beaches. The view was great - overlooking a beautiful stream, ocean inlet with sea turtles, and whaler's cove. We could easily walk to the Baby beach, though more often we drove to Poipu Beach since it was larger, had better snorkeling, and had life guards. This is a great location for a stay on Kaua'i. It is quiet, yet central enough that you can get anywhere on the island in a reasonable amount of time. The unit was clean, had all the basic kitchen necessities, had a cabinet full of travel info and paperback books, and the property manager was friendly and helpful. We never actually slept in the bedroom - there is a daybed type couch in the living room, and we slept on it where we could be woken by the sun coming up every morning and the sound of the ocean was clearer. The bedroom had an A/C unit, but we never turned it on. I would not suggest this place to someone who is looking to stay at a resort or fancy hotel - it is more like staying in a friend's home, and we felt like we were coming home every evening. So if you are looking for somewhere quiet, laid back, and in a great location to explore Kauai, then this is a great place for you!

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JennitaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Poipu Shores Resort
#14 of 30 in Poipu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Poipu Kapili
#7 of 30 in Poipu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Isle Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Isle Cottages

Property: Garden Isle Cottages
Address: 2666 Puuholo Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9699
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Garden Isle Cottages Hotel Poipu
Garden Isle Cottages Kauai/Poipu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing