We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we were looking for!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Villas at Poipu Kai
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2014

It was the perfect place for us. We didnt want to dump alot of money on a condo as we wanted to see the island. We were able to save alot of $$ by shopping at costco/walmart so we could eat breakfast/ lunch in our condo and eat dinners out. It was clean, loved the shower and comfy bed. Thats all that matters to us! Mahalo Cam! Hope to stay again!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Slplpn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
There are newer reviews for The Villas at Poipu Kai
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014

We loved this condo, but the noise from the people above was really annoying! If you plan to rent a condo, ask for the top floor. The condo itself was great; very well appointed and all the basics you need. I loved the fact they provided the, laundry soap, dish soap and paper products; nothing worse than showing up to an expensive rental and there's no tp or paper towels, etc. They also provide all the beach gear you need; great when you are travelling from the mainland! I would definitely stay here again on the top floor!

Room Tip: Pick the top floor to avoid noise from above
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vjwDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I really wanted to love this place, I had a wonderful experience booking the Villa with Ann and Tawni. They were both very friendly and easy to work with, five stars for their service.

We stayed in F210, it is spacious and has a great view of the pool. Two of the bedrooms have king/queen beds and each has a large ensuite bathroom. The 3rd bedroom has double twin beds, perfect for younger guests. I love the open floor plan of the kitchen and family room area. The kitchen is well equipped with everything you need, even crock pot and a rice cooker.

Poipu beach is only a 10 min walk but if you have young kids and lots of beach gear, drive instead. The villa has plenty of beach gear you can use, go early unless you prefer broken boogie boards and crying kids b/c all the sand buckets were taken. The pool is very cold in January, the hot tub was broken the first half of our trip but once it was fixed, it was definitely the most popular spot for all.

The other reviews were right about the noise, we could hear our neighbor above us every time they walk, run, move furniture. We wished that there was a number we could call to complain when our upstairs neighbor start moving furniture and wearing shoes while walking around at midnight. During the day, the kids had a hard time napping b/c of all the noises coming from the pool. We don't have our windows open but it was still very loud. The two bedrooms facing the parking lot could hear all the cars coming and leaving through out the day, especially early in the morning and late at night.

Overall, this is a very nice place for families looking for 3-4 bedroom villas, if you are a deep sleeper!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
7  Thank Satellite1115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Whilst the condominiums are large, very well equipped, clean and overall quite impressive, our stay here was less enjoyable than expected because the villas are built so close together that not only is the pool crammed in and not prettily placed surrounded by lawn, but there's virtually no sunlight on the pool from early afternoon because it's blocked by one of the buildings.

The other main drawback was the constant noise. There was a family of about 8-10 staying above us who we could hear constantly. Whilst the condominiums are large, very well equipped, clean and overall quite impressive, our stay here was less enjoyable than expected because the villas are built so close together that not only is the pool crammed in and not prettily placed surrounded by lawn, but there's virtually no sunlight on the pool from early afternoon because it's blocked by one of the buildings.

What didn't help was the onsite manager was never there - admittedly we only tried to speak to her 3 times during the week but each time there was a note saying to call her on her cell which wasn't ideal.

To be fair, the positives: the size, the cleanliness, well equipped, and 10 mins walk from 2 different beaches.

Room Tip: Always be sure to avoid a ground floor condo so you're the ones making the noise not hearing it!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank PinkishRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

We booked a villa that was suppose to have 2 master bedrooms and two bedrooms wirh queen size beds. What we got was:
- 1 master bedroom
- 2 rooms with a queen size bed
- 1 room with twin trundle bed.

Definitely not what we reserved and paid 7k for! Management tried to explain that the second bedroom w/ queen was a master bedroom. Really? The bedroom itself measured 10' x 12' with no television and no tub (see attached pictures).

Furthermore, I have never been to a condo/resort that charges for cleaning service. Shame on me for not reading the fine print. I'd definitely shop around the next time I travel to Kauai.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank cree8iv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We arrived on the 12th and depart on the 21st, so are at the tail end of our visit. Our first night, we stayed in B210 since the Ohana House wasn't available for our first night. The villa easily housed our family of 6 (my husband and I; our three boys(7, 5, 4); and our 11 month old daughter. B210 is a beautifully appointed, Plantation-style villa. The kitchen had white cabinets, granite counters, and was fully stocked with cooking supplies. The villa also had wood floors. Check-in was a breeze. VPK have the check-in process down.

We were met with a pack and play and a high chair for our daughter. Both well-kept and clean (you know how bad high chairs can
get).

The bathroom is spacious and has a soaking tub, which I enjoyed after herding kids through airports.

The next day we moved to
The Ohana House. Amenities were wonderful. No run though.

The kids had a great time racing around the yard.

Instead of driving to the beach everyday, we rented two red wagons from Karyn of Kauai Baby Gear Rentals(along with hiking pack). Karyn graciously graciously dropped everything off on our front porch.

For us, (even with four kids 7 yrs - 11 months) the trip to and from the beach was a breeze. We loaded up borrowed beach toys and gear (thx VPK), loaded up a kid one to four kids and walked to and from the beach.

Would we stay again? Most definitely.

VPK, thank you for your lovely hospitality. Our best family vacation yet!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jewelziet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We would highly recommend the Villas. We stayed in the "H" unit, not poolside, and got a huge, 2 bedroom/2 bath apartment for less money than the single rooms at the fancier nearby resorts. It worked out to about $280/night, including taxes and cleaning fee. Note the units have no daily maid service. The in-unit washer/dryer are great for keeping the clothes clean and the beach towels (included in the room) dry. The kitchen had plenty of equipment (although the microwave and exhaust fan over the stove were broken - there was a second microwave on the counter that worked), but no condiments of any kind, so you have to buy everything like oil, spices, etc. There is a sidewalk out back ("Green Way") that goes to Poipu Beach and Shipwreck beach and avoids the roads. In later November, Shipwreck beach is not swimmable but Poipu is. Poipu beach has a small "nanny pool" where all the local babysitters bring the toddlers to play in the 1-foot deep pool that is walled off from the waves - great for the under-6 kids. Poipu Beach also has a nice snorkeling area, not too deep, with plenty of colorful fish, although the coral is trashed (like most of Hawaii).
The upstairs neighbors were a little noisy (foot traffic at 7am), but only the ground-level units were available when we reserved. The unit was very clean, as were the pool and office/fitness center. We borrowed boogie boards and pails from the "beach stock room" which was handy.
Location is good, with restaurants within 2 miles, a supermarket in town (Big Save), and we recommend Seasport Divers for SCUBA.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are a little noisy from upstairs neighbors - choose 2nd floor if available, but d...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PeterBSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villas at Poipu Kai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villas at Poipu Kai

Address: 2373 Hoohu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9554
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Poipu
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
Price Range: £367 - £796 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Villas at Poipu Kai 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villas at Poipu Kai is a new boutique resort, situated in the heart of the Poipu Kai Resort. One of the finest properties ever developed on the island, these Poipu vacation rentals include 3-4 bedroom poolside villas and 2-4 bedroom garden villas. The Villas are luxurious throughout, including gourmet kitchens with granite countertops, custom cabinets, and SubZero refrigerators. Completely furnished with decor to compliment the plantation style, the poolside villas offer hardwood and tile flooring, natural stone bathrooms, and expansive lanais that extend the living area outdoors. Mountain, ocean, and pool views enhance the experience. A tropical pool, hot tub and water features are surrounded by island landscaping. Each villa includes central air, a true luxury on the island, and The Villas is the only condo property in Poipu Kai with its own exercise facility. Along the five-minute stroll down the tropical greenbelt, you will pass the Poipu Kai tennis club and pool on your way to famous Kauai beaches. And world class golf is just a two iron away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Villas at Poipu Kai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Villas At Poipu Kai Hotel Poipu
Hotel Poipu Kai
The Villas At Poipu Kai Kauai, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing