We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Home Away From Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Villas at Poipu Kai
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We all have different goals while planning our vacations. That being said, my wish was to have a comfortable homelike setting for my children and grandchildren while staying in Kauai. We had a party of eight and rented two villas, C11 and E11. Each had three bedrooms and baths, ground floor. I could not ask for a more inviting villa. I love to cook and this kitchen was stocked better then any I have seen. A beautiful setting close to everything we needed. A lovely five minute walk takes you to several beaches, then go in the opposite direction for five min. and you reach the Hyatt and Shipwreck beach. Whaler's Village for shopping is just a mile away. You will feel completely comfortable in your villa. I loved how I didn't have to check in after a long day and just entered my villa with a predetermined key code. These villas also have a wonderful stray cat that we nicknamed "Poipu". He visits each villa for kind strangers to give him a little food. He always spent a few hours with us each day to the delight of the children.
The only negatives I can offer is that some of our party prefers pool swimming rather then the beach. The pool area is rather small for the amount of villas. When we arrived it was fine because I don't think every villa was booked. However the last four days we were there, a large party came in and there was no room for any of us to swim. Also, if you are sensitive to noise, do not book on the ground floor. You can hear toilet flushings and people walking upstairs, although it did not bother me. I highly recommend the Villas for anyone desiring a homelike atmosphere and convenient location to activities. Finally, please remember to be kind to the little gray cat that calls these villas his home. Hopefully we will see him on our next vacation to the Villas.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
9  Thank 257aprilp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

Had dad, his three kids and spouses. We had Building F, 300, top floor villa. Four Bedrooms, 3 1/2 baths. Perfect for large group. Place was well maintained, loved the fact you could use their beach chairs, boogie boards, umbrellas, etc. Low key, no signing in or out. Honor System. Kitchen facilities were great, enjoyed cooking in great room. Everyone could be together. All around awesome spot. Close to beaches. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank 5immeo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay here as we gathered families from the US and Australia in this "central" location. Great bathrooms and lots of them. Bedrooms, closets and dressers made it easy to move in and feel at home. We had 3 different balconies in the 5 bedroom/4 bath unit, though they were small. Only downsides were small common areas and spotty service after we checked in. Fortunately, no big deal, but we didn't get a call back re: a broken DVD player in spite of numerous tries. The dining space is limited, but we managed with our group of 11. The unit sleeps 12 but really has dining space for 9.

Room Tip: I don't think I'd want a downstairs unit due to potential to hear people walking around upst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank ChristiB50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed in a 2 bedroom Villa (H211) that far exceeded our expectations! It was spacious, comfortable, quiet and convenient. Family of four with a teen, 22 year old daughters. The beds were very comfortable. The kitchen was beautiful . We were concerned with having a 1st floor villa but it was quiet and fine! Easy walk to multiple beaches

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank TobyandOak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This place was a lifesaver for our family! We booked a property in Princeville through RCI. We love the Princeville/Hanalei area so much and did not think we would be as happy in Poipu. Our RCI property did not have air-conditioning and was not recently remodeled as they claimed. During our one and only night there, we searched for a new place and found the Villas at Poipu.

They were so easy to work with and we were fortunate to find such a gem. We all enjoyed the area and having a choice of 3 beaches a short walk away. Our unit (Building B poolside) had new furnishings, beautiful wood flooring, large master bath with stand alone soaking tub and walk in shower with dual shower heads, huge walk in closet in master, full size washer & dryer with lots of laundry soap provided. The a/c is a must and hard to come by on Kauai so we were very happy. Rooms also had ceiling fans.The elevator was super handy with all of our luggage. Beautiful fresh Hawaiian flower arrangement greeted us upon arrival.

The location is close to great shopping and restaurants. The reviewer that had such a negative experience said they were in building H. That is at the Regency Villas and NOT at Villas at Poipu. Our kids loved the beach supply room..filled with toys, boogie boards, rolling cooler and chairs. We were also provided with a large insulated beach/cooler bag in our room. The hot tub was great to soak in after a day of surfing. We did not use the poolside grill as we were eating most meals at one of the great nearby restaurants, but we did love having the dining room table and bar stools for other meals and the large lanai to enjoy sitting outside.

We will definitely stay here again when we return to Kauai.

Room Tip: We were right at the pool and 2nd floor and were not bothered by pool noise. The pool closes at 10pm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1pickyeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We own at the Marriott Resort in Poipu which is beachfront. I was not able to use that property due to the size of our group so looked for alternatives and ended up booking here. The property is great, the villa was super. Had minor maintenance issues which were dealt with immediately by the property manager. As I said before, we own beachfront so please know there is a 5-10 minute walk to Poipu Beach. We were in unit H224 which is the farthest building from the beach. In fairness I paid less for this unit than those that were closer to the pool and a shorter walk to the beach. I would recommend this property without hesitation.

Room Tip: You can pay more for a Pool facing room. We were very happy with our unit. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The villas are fantastic! We must have come at the right time (mid-June), weather was superb,the villas were not that full, traffic was non-existent. We waited along time for this trip and we wanted something beyond the basic hotel set-up and we got it with this villa. We stayed in C-210 which is poolside but the room is beyond the pool and typical pool noise. Guest bedroom has a view of the ocean. The Lanai is awesome and we rarely ran the A/C. We are from SC and this weather to us was cool and comfortable. Saved money by having breakfast (and lunch when we were around )in the villa and nice dinners out. If you golf, you must play Poipu Bay - fantastic course with stunning scenery.Don't waste your time driving up to the north shore, Hanalei area. Typical touristy type areas - similar to Myrtle Beach in SC (for those that have been there). Staying in the Poipu area is the place to be and this villa was the right choice.

Room Tip: Just ask for a room that is beyond the the pool if you want to avoid the pool noise. I would reques...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,381 reviews
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villas at Poipu Kai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villas at Poipu Kai

Address: 2373 Hoohu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9554
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Poipu
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
Price Range: £366 - £986 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Villas at Poipu Kai 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villas at Poipu Kai is a new boutique resort, situated in the heart of the Poipu Kai Resort. One of the finest properties ever developed on the island, these Poipu vacation rentals include 3-4 bedroom poolside villas and 2-4 bedroom garden villas. The Villas are luxurious throughout, including gourmet kitchens with granite countertops, custom cabinets, and SubZero refrigerators. Completely furnished with decor to compliment the plantation style, the poolside villas offer hardwood and tile flooring, natural stone bathrooms, and expansive lanais that extend the living area outdoors. Mountain, ocean, and pool views enhance the experience. A tropical pool, hot tub and water features are surrounded by island landscaping. Each villa includes central air, a true luxury on the island, and The Villas is the only condo property in Poipu Kai with its own exercise facility. Along the five-minute stroll down the tropical greenbelt, you will pass the Poipu Kai tennis club and pool on your way to famous Kauai beaches. And world class golf is just a two iron away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Villas at Poipu Kai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Villas At Poipu Kai Hotel Poipu
Hotel Poipu Kai
The Villas At Poipu Kai Kauai, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing