We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and awesome service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Yum Cha Asian Eatery - CLOSED

Yum Cha Asian Eatery
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Let your taste buds delight in the delicious flavors of Asian Fusion cuisine. Choose from tempting selections of small plates, soups, salads and entrees, ranging from well-known Asian favorites to our chef’s own unique creations. Choose from a variety of dim sum dishes or mix it up as Vietnamese blends with Chinese that merges with Thai and Japanese for a taste sensation. Cap off your meal with sake or a specialty martini and be sure to save room for our eclectic desserts.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food and awesome service”
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

The food here is delicious my husband and I ate here three days out of our five day stay in Kauai. The portions are large. The lychee martini is amazing!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S_moham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    56
    33
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We were staying at the Grant Hyatt and decided to try the restaurant at the golf course. It is listed as one of the Hyatt’s restaurants but is not well publicized. It was very difficult to find; we had to walk behind the tennis shop and down a dirt path to the road in front of the golf course. It was only 5:00 so we just wanted a drink at the bar and a light meal. We had the Spring rolls and Crab Fried Rice. Both where very good and there was more food than we could finish. The bartender and staff were extremely friendly and made our dinner very enjoyable. It was really nice to sit and talk with some locals.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck and Deb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Not my favorite in the area”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Liked: shrimp and pork potstickers, tempura vegetables; view of golf course and mountains.
Disliked: the sauces that accompanied all selections were bland or watery - we had to ask for soy sauce. Although our food came out quickly, we didn't see our server again until time for the bill. Got the soy sauce from a bus boy. There is also something unattractive about servers wearing black baseball hats in a upscale Asian restaurant.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank VGDreamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Americana, SP
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect breakfast!”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Breakfast with a breathtaking view!
While hosted in the Grand Hyatt, we chose to have breakfast at Yum Cha one morning. We took this 5 minute Hotel-Yum Cha walk and took a seat close to the window that faces the golf course. What a wonderful view! The food is also really good and well prepared!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Guilherme O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We are staying at the Grand Hyatt Kauai resort which is absolutely amazing, and wanted to try Yum Cha for some ethnic food, and were extremely disappointed.
Edamame was undercooked and did not have much flavor, pad thai was TERRIBLE, very dry, no sauce and tasted like plastic. Mandarin chicken was just OK.
Service was fine until the end when the server dropped the check and disappeared, we had to bring the check to the bartender to close out.
The atmosphere at the restaurant is very boring, no decor or romantic feel.
My wife and I had both worked in the restaurant business for several years, and although our standards are fairly high, we do not go around writing negative reviews unless we feel it is necessary.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hseqqat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yum Cha Asian Eatery also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing