We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location, great beach supplies, artwork, guidebooks, ukelele”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Poipu Sands Condominuims - Poipu Kai by TPC
Ranked #14 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We loved ...
- the poipu location right beside the grand hyatt and nearby shopping at poipu shopping villange and old koloa town
- the comfortable beds including the air mattress bed (kids slept on)
- the mirror outside the lanai which reflected the oceanview at the dining room
- hawaiian artwork
- ukelele / guitar
- available guidebooks, and other books
- generous supply of beach mats, chairs, snorkels
- nice cross breeze
- sturdy cutlery and plates

A few minor improvements:
- sharper knives as we used the kitchen a lot
- more beach towels and guest towels
- newer pillows and more pillow cases

But most of all.... BIG THANKS to the maintenance dude Randy, security lady Naomi and owner Bill for responding quickly with my predicament when I locked my purse inside the condo on our way to the airport (and keys were inside the condo).

Thank you for your helping me in my time of need.... ALOHA and MAHALO.

Kauai is such a beautiful place ... drive up the Waimea Canyon and take a helicopter ride with Blue Hawaiian to see the Na Pali Coast.

Another tip ... if you are arriving at night, it's advisable to bring a gps since the highway/roads are very dark and the signage is poor.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Service
1  Thank jsquare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2014

1 bedroom Garden view with loft which is in need of an update.
Upon arrival Ice maker was not working and after repeated attempts of repairing still no results. The en-suite off the master bedroom toilet was not flushing and and water continually running. One suggestion to make this suite more appealing would be replace the bed coverings with something that could be washable. The kitchen is very dated (old cabinets) and old tile on counters, difficult to maintain cleanliness. The staff have been attentive and friendly though unsuccessful.

Stayed: March 2014
2  Thank SarahG234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We have enjoyed vacations here in this condo complex for over 30 years starting with our own kids and now our grandkids. We have stayed in over six different units and have enjoyed all. We have our favorites and prefer ground floor units. Most units have a great ocean view, however some of the view was spoiled when a badly designed mega condo complex was built in the ocean side. That poorly designed timeshare thing should never have been approved. The other distraction is the Hyatt Regency which was built after Poipu Sands. It dominates adjacent Shipwreck Beach, but is only visible from the 400 condos. It is also a nice design and blends into its environment with thoughtful architectural design.

What is nice about our condos: well maintained lush landscaping with lots of open space lawns, a nice private swimming pool, tennis courts, clean and functional gas barbecues, close parking, well furnished and upgraded condo units, great walking paths, walking distance to nearby beaches.
Be advised that adjacent Shipwreck Beach is unsafe for kids and only OK for surfers and expert swimmers. It is fine for playing in the sand and watching surf. We see sea turtles and whales almost daily.
Poipu Beach is a little farther away but walking distance and it is family friendly and has lifeguards.

If possible rent from owners or their agents. Avoid resort management company that up changes all sorts of things like choosing which unit you prefer.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Malice6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We enjoyed our stay in Poipu Sands #326. We booked through Suite Paradise and the photos on the website were very accurate. It is a 2 level condo (2 bedrooms and 2 baths) and it was spacious, attractive and comfortable for the 4 of us. The ocean view is somewhat restricted, but we still spent a lot of time on the lanai enjoying the view and the sound of the ocean waves. You can also hear the evening entertainment at the nearby Hyatt on some nights which some of us considered a plus and others considered a minus. Everything was in good repair. We made use of the kitchen, outdoor grills, washer/dryer and the pool. As other people have mentioned, Shipwreck Beach and the lovely grounds of the Hyatt are right next door and Poipu Beach is in walking distance.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janel_mpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We recently stayed at Poipu Sands 314 and liked it very much. I was a little worried because the most recent review of the unit was quite negative, stating it was dirty. We did not find this to be the case at all. We thought the unit was very well-appointed, clean and large. I would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone.

Room Tip: Each of the units varies because they are furnished by the owner. The unit in the 500 Building woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aichen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We have just returned from a week spent at Poipu Sands Condo #425 and I have to say the photos of this place on the internet just don't do it justice. It's a great condo. It's a two bedroom unit - upstairs master with fabulous rainshower ensuite. The bathroom is great - granite benches, his and hers basins and plenty of space. There's a lanai overlooking gardens with a view of the ocean from the master bedroom. Has a very comfy king size bed. Didn't get the small tv to work up there, but we didn't really care enough to call mantenance. On the first floor is the living/dining area with good furnishings in a oriental/island theme. The kitchen is well equipped with granite benches, and all the appliances you need. I couldn't think of anything missing in terms of kitchen equipment and we ate in all the time using the bbq grills on sight which were very clean if a little difficult to light in the wind at times. There is a large lanai again with sea views with dining table and chairs. These lanai were in full shade for our stay in September. There is a bedroom on the same floor with two single beds and another bathroom. The laundry is in a cupboard on this floor with big washer/drier combo. We used the bigscreen tv a lot to watch sport - there is HBO and a good range of channels. We are sole traders so need internet every day even when we're on holiday. There was a problem one of the days with connection, but that seemed to sort itself out even though the repair man did come the next day. There is no AC in this condo but lovely sea breezes if you open up the shutters and windows. We learnt to weight the blinds down (bamboo and noisy in the breeze at night when you're trying to sleep), with cushions - worked brilliantly!

The Poipu Sands facilities were great - the pool was lovely - not Hyatt standards, but nice just the same. The Hyatt do have security, by the way and will move non-guests on from their pool - why bother, the Poipu Sands pool is clean, with good loungers in the sun and shade and was never busy or noisey the whole of our stay.

We saw turtles swimming in the coves off Shipweck beach - so look out for them.

My only complaint was with the check in desk on arrival and when we left - the only time we had contact with them. The girl on duty both times was rushed, didn't make eye contact and spoke so fast I couldn't tell what she was saying. When I dropped the keys off at departure, she got up from her desk and turned her back to me as I walked in - ignoring me altogether. This was the only thing that I could find fault with and that's nothing to do with the condo itself but with Suite Paradise staff. Pity - it's still in my mind and was the only thing that spoilt an otherwise perfect stay. When you've arrived from a long journey (we're from New Zealand), a welcoming smile means a lot!

Room Tip: #425 - brilliant condo close to the ocean and Hyatt Grand. Ocean views from the lanais.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank flyok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

What an awesome stay, good value and comfortable accommodations - we could not have asked for more! We stayed in unit 121, 2B/2B, two-story, 2 lanai, in-unit W/D, spacious and overlooking the lawn and pool with Shipwreck Beach in view. You will see reviews of units in building 5 which are closest to the Hyatt, building 1 is at the opposite/west end. Its a 15 minute stroll to the Hyatt property, 3 min. to the pool. The pool is awesome - huge, clean, nice loungers and grill space. The pool was perfect for us when we needed a break from the ocean and we actually ended up spending more time at the pool than we thought we would because it was so lovely and nice to be out of the waves but still by the water. Grills were nice and clean, never a wait. We grilled out a few times and ate our b'fast in unit, and had all we needed right there. Get groceries in Koloa at Big Save or Sueoka's. Shipwreck Beach is rough, so you plan on trying others in the vicinity for snorkeling or swimming. Get gear at Kimo's near by. There are beach chairs, boogie boards, a few toys and beach towels available for you at this unit. It was a great home-base for activities on the south side of the island. We enjoyed it very much and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank JoC722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poipu hotels
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
The Point at Poipu
The Point at Poipu
#3 of 29 in Poipu
819 reviews
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poipu Sands Condominuims - Poipu Kai by TPC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poipu Sands Condominuims - Poipu Kai by TPC

Address: 1565 Pe'e Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Price Range: £140 - £368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Poipu Sands Condominuims - Poipu Kai by TPC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poipu Sands Condominuims - Poipu Kai By Tpc Hotel Poipu
Poipu Sands Condominuims - Poipu Kai By TPC Kauai, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing