We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great setting for breakfast”
Review of Red Salt

Red Salt
Reserve with OpenTable
Red Salt is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 38 Restaurants in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$75
Cuisines: Asian, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Koloa
Description: Red Salt’s diverse menu by acclaimed Executive Chef and Kauai native Noelani Planas celebrates fresh Hawaiian seafood and produce in a casual, yet sophisticated seaside atmosphere. Modern dinner cuisine including vanilla bean-seared mahi, ahi tartare, and the decadently layered Red Salt burger are served in a contemporary setting. Select nights, the Red Salt Lounge is host to a sushi bar featuring the day’s freshest catch in innovative, isle-inspired rolls. Lounge and sushi bar seating are not available for reservation and is first come, first served. During morning hours, Red Salt offers tropical takes on traditional breakfast dishes, such as lobster benedict and lemon-pineapple soufflé pancakes, recently featured by Food Network.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great setting for breakfast”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We were staying at the Marriott Waiohai next store, and Red Salt had good recommendations. We decided to try their buffet breakfast to see. Excellent setting, with many tables having a nice ocean view. I will say that Red Salt is not the least expensive place, but in most cases if the food and service warrants it, I'm fine with that. The menu provides a number of options, including a la carte items and entrees, as well as the full buffet, which includes one entree. The buffet has an attractive assortment of breads, meats, cheeses fruits, and juices. The fruits were great; some really good pineapple. The entrees we had were excellent, and unique. The services was a little slow, but given they seemed to be short a waiter or two and that it's vacation, it was not critical to our enjoyment.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travrelaxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,489 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    950
    342
    141
    39
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Dinner”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Food was super. Wait staff professional. Breakfast was good too. The soufflé pancakes were awesome. The setting was beautiful.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank joanne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Awesome Food, Awesome Staff, and I am a PICKY eater!”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

You must try this restaurant! It is located at the Koa Kea Resort. I was starving when we first arrived from traveling, and I was craving chicken quesadillas. They were not on the menu, but the guy at the bar said the chef would be able to make them for me. They did, and it was great! We ended up eating most of our meals at the Red Salt, and enjoyed EVERY one of them. We ate breakfast there each morning (it was included with our stay), and it was the best breakfast food I have ever had. The pancakes were SO good! One night I decided to try the filet mignon, and it was over the top amazing! My husband had the sushi one night and it was fantastic as well. The sushi chef was a nice guy, and he does a great job! We were overall VERY impressed. I cannot wait to eat there again one day.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johdel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Evening!!!”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We dined at Red Salt on our last night on Kauai and had the best experience ! From the greeting at the door where they somehow knew us by name to the chefs special dessert to celebrate our boys high school graduation celebration it was a very memorable night. The food was spectacular and they make great martinis. A little expensive but worth it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stacie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poipu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing (2nd) visit”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Dined here 3 years ago - good memories. This time not so much.
The restaurant is directly attached to a very lively and loud bar and has rather poor lighting - to the point you can't read the menu. Excellent service by Rebecca!!!
Appetizers reminiscent of Nouvelle cuisine - small and very pricy. The Kalua pork reminded of a tasteless fried spring roll, the so called Island Prawns were 3 small shrimp, mushroom bisque tasty, the Diver Scallops decent and the Ahi Carppacio nicely done. Main problems were the Entrees. Our 3 girls had the Lobster Ravioli and besides the mini portion all complaint about a lock of seasoning. My wife had the filet (cooked as ordered!!) but other wise boring presentation and I had a very lack luster Ono (why do they always put it on mashed potatoes?). Wine list boring with a couple of token, extremely over priced big names. No imagination!!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hendrik H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Salt also viewed

 

Been to Red Salt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing