We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Use to be a 5 star, but....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kiahuna Plantation Resort
Ranked #3 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Pleasant Hill, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Use to be a 5 star, but....”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I'll start by saying that this was our third stay at Kiahuna since 2006 and before this last stay it was easily our most favorite place to go when we plan a trip to the islands. All three times we got the one bedroom units that are beachfront which are great. There are still many positives about Kiahuna. The location is perfect! You're staying on a great section of beach and you can walk to many stores and restaurants. The weather on this side of the island is great and rain is not as common like the wetter north side of the island. The grounds at Kiahuna are beautiful and the parking is free, which is nice for a change. The units are cozy and full of fresh air since you can open vents in all of the walls to hear and smell the ocean. So what dropped this five star to a three? They don't have free daily cleaning anymore! You get fresh towels every 3 days and that is it. We stayed 10 days, in the same sheets and with the sand accumulating on the floors. By day 6 we had to wear flip flops around the house because our feet would get so dirty walking around. With the lack of cleaning we had to deal with roaches, large spiders and lizards. The lizards are fine and spiders are spiders so what are you going to do. But I had to kill 3 cockroaches!! When I checked out and asked about the lack of cleaning the lady was almost embarrassed in telling me the owners recently voted to eliminate the cleaning service to save money. I told her we love Kiahuna, but for the money it's not acceptable to live 10 days in a dirty condo. For three thousand plus dollars it costs for the condo we had for over a week, I shouldn't have to pay $55 every time I want my room cleaned. I hope this lack of cleaning is short lived because we love going to Kiahuna, but we will have to look at surrounding accommodations so we can enjoy a clean room during our trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Anton D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    713
    633
    203
    112
    52
See reviews for
578
817
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (518)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed for a week in Unit 305, a very nicely decorated one-bedroom condo. It's located in a great spot on Kauai - right around the corner from Poipu beach, and the beach here is wide and has silky soft sand. The water has been a little rough for snorkeling or swimming right here, but that may be normal for this time of year. One disappointment has been that the beautiful pool that was supposed to be available was closed without notice by the athletic club management. While this is not Castle's fault, if a pool is important to you then be sure to contact Castle and see if the agreement with the athletic club has been reinstated.

The grounds are amazing. Unit 305 looks out over a cactus/succulent garden, and there is also an orchid garden with many varieties of orchids. These gardens have pathways, small ponds with koi, and benches for relaxing,

Unit 305 is a long walk to the beach, and there are some steep parts that get very slippery when they are wet, so if you have trouble walking, you will want to request a unit closer to the beach. This is a huge complex. It is an easy walk to some great restaurants and shopping.

I look forward to staying here again.

Room Tip: The rooms on the large lawn near the ocean would be a great choice! But the other rooms all have go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pryncesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Great place to relax and take it easy. Nice room with great view. Nice Sandy Beach adjacent to an expansive beautifully manicured lawn. The landscaping is well maintained, beautiful trees, Had a giant perfectly ripe all yellow Hayden Mango drop by the walk on Saturday morning. It was delicious!!

Decent surf spot on the East side of the beach. Shopping and restaurants nearby at two conveniently located shopping centers. And Joe's on the Green had a pretty good breakfast!! The coffee was great and the hollandaise on the Eggs Benedict was top shelf. (I am a chef and know the difference!)

Nice place to get away and chill for a week.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thomas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Pole
Level Contributor
137 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Our stay at Kiahuna was a very nice experience. The units are very comfortable and homey, and they have all of the amenities of home. We lucked out in that our condo had been recently renovated, so the furniture still had that retro 70s feel to it, but all of the appliances and surfaces were newish. Nice TV, WiFi, updated bathroom and kitchen, and spacious lanai all make for a very nice unit. And the prices are very decent for the size of your condo.

The grounds are absolutely gorgeous, and every inch of it is tropical paradise. There is so much tropical greenery everywhere, and the open areas are well-manicured grass and trees. It's a quick walk to a nice beach too.

I had to ding a star in my rating for a few minor reasons. First, their check-in system is outdated- Not sure why I am filling out all of my personal information on a paper card and on a form, when I've entered all of this information online. Secondly, their pool/tennis area is a third party venue tucked away across the street. That requires a 10 minute walk or an extra drive. But my main gripe has to do with are all the window slats for airflow throughout the condo. Since there's no A/C, the combination of the slats and ceiling fans does the job. The weird part is that the bedroom slats (which are floor to ceiling) are only a few feet from your bed and are right next to the public walkway outside. If you don't fully shut your slats, people walking by can easily see inside your room. Coming up the building stairs, there is a unit directly at the top of the stairs, and directly in our line of sight we saw our elderly neighbors in various states of undress because their slats were wide open. In a condo this relaxing, it is unfortunate you have to be mindful of your own privacy.

Even with these minor issues, we loved the place and would definitely stay here again. It really is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jerry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaska
Level Contributor
59 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Not ritzy but not motel 6 either. Just enough space to not feel cramped. Kitchens were well equipped. Grounds were well maintained. Desk staff was knowledgeable, knew their job and the transitions were over in seconds. The property is centrally located to many things to do. We were all over the island daily doing activities and enjoyed coming home nightly to a quiet area. The condos are also equipped with roomy safes that are of concern to us and many others traveling. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: 3rd floor has high ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyInHawaii08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

This property is much more laid back than the surrounding resort style properties along the south coast such as the Marriott and the Sheraton. It sits right on the beach - can't get a better location. As its condo style, easy access to shops is helpful and there is small set of shops directly across the main road. We picked this property out after staying in the area 18 months ago and couldn't have been happier with our choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

This was our first trip to Kauai taken in 2012 and third to Hawaii (Maui and Oahu) and this is the best island, out of the three, in our opinion. The condo was perfect for us with a large one bedroom ground floor suite that was quiet, clean, and fully equipped with everything we needed. The service was excellent and it is nice that there is a front desk building with staff there at all times. There was ample parking right outside our unit, which made it very easy to come and go from our car rental. It is also easy to walk to nearby restaurants and shopping. The best thing about this property is that it is right on Poipu beach, which is easily accessed from any of the units. It is the nicest swimming beach on the island because it is the warmest and safest, however, the most scenic and least populated beaches are located on the North Shore of the island. We were happy with our stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nic1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiahuna Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiahuna Plantation Resort

Property: Kiahuna Plantation Resort
Address: 2253 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-8554
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiahuna Plantation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai by Outrigger(R) is situated on a 35-acre oceanfront setting at Poipu Beach shaded by tall swaying palms and scented by fragrant plumeria blossoms. Play at the resort's swimming beach, dine at Plantation Gardens Restaurant, and tee off at Kiahuna Golf Club. The internationally-recognized orchid and succulent gardens are living legacies of this former plantation estate. Explore historic Koloa Town a few minutes away, drive west to Waimea Canyon, or east to Hanalei on the north shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kiahuna Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation Hotel Poipu
Outrigger Hotel Kiahuna Plantation
Outrigger Hotel Koloa
Outrigger Poipu
Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai/Poipu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing