We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great holiday Apartmenent's” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kiahuna Plantation Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kiahuna Plantation Resort
Ranked #4 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Gold coast
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great holiday Apartmenent's”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Great location on beach front at Poipu we stayed in the privately owned self contained units. Great large 1 bdrm full kitchen and large lanai. Shops straight across roads with restaurants etc all walking distance and short drive into town more shops and a supermarket . loved it here

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MartineGCAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    694
    616
    195
    109
    51
See reviews for
556
799
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (509)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

The place was fabulous. The room was very clean. The staff was professional and friendly. We used the laundromat which was exceptionally clean as well. I will definitely reccomend this place to my friends

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maya8Zephyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for your visit. We apologize that you did not like your original assignment, but are pleased that you were offered options.

My only correction to your review is that our Ocean View category (along with our awesome Beach Front units) DO most definitely have fabulous view, but of course they are more pricey.

We hope that you come back again, and stand ready to assist you if called upon.

Mahalo,

Roy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

After yet another visit to the Kiahuna Plantation, we decided to leave a review. The complex, while a bit dated, is still very elegant and impeccably maintained. The reception area for the Outrigger side was nicely staffed and prompt in processing our arrival. The unit we rented, 230, was in excellent conditions and with a beautiful garden view. The ocean was only 5 minutes away. The lawn area in front of the beach is fantastic and service at the beach hut very friendly. The only annoyance was a power washer cleaning the sidewalks, but we guessed that the place had to be cleaned here and there and it is hard to do it without making noise. This is a family friendly, safe and quite destination.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank CristianoDadamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

I'm writing this review after the first sleepless night @ Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation. We paid for the partial ocean view room as I thought those rooms are closer to the beach. What a huge mistake! It's the last building, next to the busy street. In a long distance you can see a small piece of the ocean over the whole property. But the room (to see the ocean) is located @3rd floor. There is no elevator so I need to climb multiple times during the day - a huge challenge for a 5 months pregnant woman, especially when it's slippery when it's raining. Then I wasn't able to sleep because of the busy street (no glass in windows do the noise is pretty loud). The property itself is pretty nice but I don't enjoy walking so long to go to the beach (with my baby playing in my tummy).
The rooms next to the street, so far away from the ocean, shou7ld be discounted, but they charged a premium price for the ocean view... I'm very disappointed.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the building 16!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
9 Thank Iwona_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Kiahuna recently for our kids Spring Break. It feels like "Old Hawaii" here to me. So relaxing and easy. Our condo was in a perfect location up towards the beach. I definitely recommend getting a condo on the front lawn where you can step right on to the beach. It makes a big difference where you're located here. Our kids loved playing on the grass - kicking the soccer ball, hitting a volleyball or just doing cartwheels right in front of our room. The condo had everything we needed and was in good condition. We loved bar-b-que'ing by the beach. Easy walk to shopping across the street and restaurants (Keoki's was fun!). People and service were very nice. Great for families or couples. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Ground floor units on the front lawn are definitely the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nolagirl17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We have stayed at Kiahuna Plantation many times over the past 10 years. We are drawn by the beautiful landscaping and gardens, the splendid beach only a short walk away, and the location in Poipu affording easy access to the shopping centre and many excellent restaurants, including the Plantation's own restaurant. The units are clean and comfortable, although, I grant that some are looking tired.

For years guests had access to the athletic facility across the street for pool, spa, and tennis court. We learned on our arrival this time, that this pool was no longer available. It had become a private club, and owners associated with Outrigger had not joined - although owners with Castle Resorts had. We relied on that pool and were enormously disappointed. There were no alternatives other than the YMCA in Lihue. This is a resort - a pool is a basic requirement. We don't do ziplining - we prefer to sit by the pool.

If you are considering Kiahuna Plantation, be sure to ask whether the unit includes use of the Poipu Beach Athletic Club pool.

Room Tip: Ground floor will have walk out to the lanai and grounds - and spare you the steps to the second flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellingFriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

This hotel can be wonderful, with a great ambiance from wood slat windows, flowering landscaping, and a beach a 2 minute walk away. But all units are not the same, as they are independently owned! We booked through Pleasant holidays, chose the cheapest garden view option and were "upgraded" upon arrival to unit 313. The room was awful! Obviously not updated since the 80s or early 90s, with a sofa table that had a warped/peeling-away tabletop, discolored and peeling tub bottom, a faucet top that came off in my husband's hand, and a bed that rivals the thinness/age of one $50 Utah motel I stayed at. Needless to say, this hotel costs significantly more than $50 to stay at, and I felt I was not getting my money's worth.

After one night, we went to the reservation desk and asked for a different room, one that was updated. They gave us a choice of a few rooms to look at that they said were updated (so they obviously have a list of ones that are and are not), 2 of which we looked at. One in our same price range was obviously updated, with a newer bed, better decor, cleaner in general, but with a poorer view (building 40?). We looked at the other, which was one step up from ours (Garden paradise?) and it had granite kitchen counter tops, 3 sets of gorgeous sliding doors leading to the balcony, new rugs, a comfy bed, granite and tile in the bathroom, and beautiful decor (unit 61). It cost $28 dollars more per night. How can only $28 separate the cost of our first unit and this one? That is absurd. But we had a wonderful rest of our stay in the new place.

Advice:
1) Ask for an updated unit.
2) Look at multiple units and pick the best one.
3) Ask for a top floor room - better views and better breezes.
4) Don't pay for "ocean views" -- few seemed to really be ocean views, these buildings are not very tall.
5) Stick up for yourself if you don't like it!

Best Wishes :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happytraveler03_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiahuna Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiahuna Plantation Resort

Property: Kiahuna Plantation Resort
Address: 2253 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-8554
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiahuna Plantation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai by Outrigger(R) is situated on a 35-acre oceanfront setting at Poipu Beach shaded by tall swaying palms and scented by fragrant plumeria blossoms. Play at the resort's swimming beach, dine at Plantation Gardens Restaurant, and tee off at Kiahuna Golf Club. The internationally-recognized orchid and succulent gardens are living legacies of this former plantation estate. Explore historic Koloa Town a few minutes away, drive west to Waimea Canyon, or east to Hanalei on the north shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Kiahuna Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation Hotel Poipu
Outrigger Hotel Kiahuna Plantation
Outrigger Hotel Koloa
Outrigger Poipu
Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai/Poipu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing