We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Wedding Spot for Us & Our Guests!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Poipu Kai Resort - Suite Paradise
Ranked #5 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2006

My husband and I had a small wedding on the beach in Poipu and after MUCH research, we booked a condo & car via Suite Paradise, as did most of our 11 guests. We're SO happy we did. Our ocean view one-bedroom was #322 (see photos) and we could have stayed forever. The lack of air conditioning wasn't a problem (even putting on a heavily-beaded wedding dress!) and the kitchen was well equipped, which was nice for making meals or coffee or having others over for snacks/drinks. It was our home away from home! The grounds were IMMACULATE and we hardly saw other guests. We enjoyed the small pools, lounging with friends & family. Others in our group booked condos ranging from a large three bedroom to the smallest studio (which was air conditioned) and all units were lovely. Our rate for car and condo through Suite Paradise was an incredible deal - be sure to book via their web site for the lowest rates. When we return to Kaua`i someday (sigh), we're definitely requesting condo 322 through Suite Paradise.

  • Stayed: August 2004, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Martrese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (518)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

422 - 428 of 518 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2006

This was our first visit to Kauai. We booked the condo through
[---] unfortunately, due to construction, it was not available. However we were upgraded to unit 922,
[--] For us, larger does not always equate with an upgrade. Although the condo was very large, the kitchen cabinets had an odor - all the dishes smelled and we felt we had to wash everything before we used it. The previous occupants left rice in the rice cooker – YUCK clearly an oversight by housekeeping! The closet containing the beach supplies was so disorganized that we could not stand it - we ended up straightening it. Unit 922 was nice enough, and the location is great with a nice walk to a couple of very nice beaches.

Caution – do not use the concierge to book activities, with the added fees- you end up paying more then booking online.

  • Stayed: September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank rds92127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2006

We really enjoyed our stay on Kauai. We booked Manualoha building 1 (through Suite Paradise) because it was the closest to the beach - glad we did, what a view! We rented unit 102 on the ground floor, I believe the building has 3 floors and 6 units. The condo was spacious, well-kept, and reasonably clean. The only thing I would change for next time is to get one of the top floor units in the same building. The noise coming from the unit above us was way too loud way too early - stomping, talking, small appliances being used, etc. which I attribute to tile floors. And on the first floor you are sure to hear the cockadoodledoo which begins as early as 2 am from the out of control chicken and rooster population all over Kauai!

Stayed: September 2006
4  Thank CW22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2006

We stayed a week at Suite Paradise and wished we'd booked our entire Hawaiian vacation there -- it was perfect in every way. Huge, well-appointed condo with beautiful view, very clean and very private. We were close to the tennis courts which was perfect for us, and Tom at the activities hot-line was terrific with advice, tour bookings, etc. (golf club rentals are a bit steep though -- we could've rented for less than half the cost at the course). Waimea Canyon is close by with incredible views and hiking options, Kalua with the Big Save is a few minutes away by car. If this wasn't so far for us to travel to (Toronto Canada!) we'd be going back at least once a year. I highly recommend Suite Paradise at Poipu Kai Resort!

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Bastet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2006

My husband, son (4), daughter (1), sister. mother and myself went to Kauai in August 2006 for a wedding. After much research and deliberation, we decided to book a condo through Suite Paradise. We chose the Poipu Kai resort and booked a 2 bed, 2 bath ocean view deluxe unit. We were in the Kahala unit #312.

Let me just say, I loved it!! I was not sure what to expect from the resort as I had read mixed reviews. The grounds were gorgeous and full of beautiful and fragrant Hawaiian flowers and trees. The grounds are like one big yard and my children loved being able to go outside our patio and run around on the grass. The trees are great for climbing also!

Our unit was spotlessly clean and large enough to fit all 6 of us comfortably. One bedroom had a queen size bed and a portable crib for my daughter. It had an attached bathroom that was very large and a walk in closet. The other bedroom had two twin beds and a closet. The 2nd bathroom was down the hallway but it too was very spacious with dual sinks. My son slept on the fold out couch in the living room.

The kitchen was well equipt with everything we could have wanted. The resort provided plenty of beach towels and bath towels and it was great to have a washer and dryer in the unit to do laundry! There was no air conditioning but the ceiling fans provided enough cool air to keep us comfortable.

We rented beach chairs, a wagon, and umbrellas from their activities desk and everything was waiting for us when we arrived. We also booked our scuba diving through them and it was perfect.

We booked through the Suite Paradise website and included a mini van with our condo rental. Everything was effortless and I had no problems with the reservations once we were there.

All in all, I must say we loved this resort and are planning to stay there again when we go back to Kauai in 2008. It was perfect for my children, a close walk to 2 beaches and the pools were the perfect temp.
Hope this was helpful!

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank bellysmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2006

We stayed at the Suite Paradise in June/July 2005. When we arrived at the Suite Paradise offices, we were greeted with complimentary mai tai's and treated with the Aloha spirit. We went with extended family who also stayed there.

My mom's condo was older and a bit more run-down than ours, but our condo was fantastic! It was very big (two floors; two bedrooms; two bathrooms) with a view of the mountains and near the pool (Pool a little older). The condo was super clean, had newer decor and was just fantastic. The complex is kid-friendly and has wonderful grounds to walk through in the morning. You are also in walking distance of Poipu beach, another kid friendly place.


We plan on going back next year with my dad. I would recommend you call and ask for the newer complexes as you might enjoy them better. Kauai is fantastic and the best snorkeling beaches are on the north shore-Tunnels being the best. It is heaven on earth!

  • Stayed: June 2005, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
5  Thank verojay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2006

We stayed at Poipu Kai in Feb of '04 and loved the location, property, and condo. When we went back this past June (2006) we requested the same unit. We booked this through Suite Paradise, and they were quite unresponsive to our request. We didn't get the same unit, and instead got a beat-up condo that was clearly not cared for. The fridge was seriously rusty, pictures on wall, broken and hanging crooked, shower curtain was falling off, old furniture. YUK! I called to complain after the first day, but Suite Paradise did nothing. Half way through our stay we inquired as to why we didn't get our request of our old unit, and were told you cannot request a specific unit. This is a great location, but be forewarned that it's a total gamble as to what kind of place you will get.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank WisTraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,395 reviews
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poipu Kai Resort - Suite Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poipu Kai Resort - Suite Paradise

Address: 1941 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-8555
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Price Range: £112 - £337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Poipu Kai Resort - Suite Paradise 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poipu Kai Resort is a 70 acre property starting at Poipu Beach Park and sprawls over to Shipwreck Beach which we share with the Grand Hyatt Hotel. The expectational large privately owned condominiums and villas are furnished as complete vacation homes with complimentary high speed. Full home style kitchens and washer and dryers are included. The private lanai is off the living room. The resort has several swimming pools and a large tennis center with both soft and hard courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Poipu Kai Resort - Suite Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poipu Kai Hotel Poipu
Poipu Kai Resort - Suite Paradise Kauai, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing