We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Poipu Makai C-1”
Review of Poipu Makai

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poipu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Poipu Makai
Ranked #22 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Peoria, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Loved Poipu Makai C-1”
Reviewed 4 February 2008

We spent one week at Poipu Makai unit C-1 in January and just loved this condo! I second everything a previous reviewer has said about this unit. It has been updated within the past several years and has just about everything you could want.
C-1 is a ground unit so the shoreline is not visible from the condo itself; you have to walk to the edge of the lawn to look down at the shore. Still, the view from the condo is fantastic and we had the best view of winter sunsets on the entire island. Plenty of whale sightings, too, during this time of year.
I have been to Kauai many times and I love this particular area of Poipu. It's a perfect area for daily walks (or runs) and unlike the western end of Poipu, there's no construction going on here.
But - if you really want a pool at your condo, this is NOT the place to stay. The pool is laughably small; we never did see anyone using it the entire week we were there. Beaches are a short drive away and isn't that what you're here for anyway?
Keep in mind that the individually owned units will vary in condition and decor so try to find one that's been renovated in the last several years. We rented this unit thru Garden Island Rentals (kauairentals on the web) and they were wonderful to work with. The photos on their web site are an accurate representation of what this unit looks like.

  • Liked — The view and the wonderfully updated unit.
  • Disliked — The pool.
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    11
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
11
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2007

Rented Poipu Makai , Unit A-2 ,through Grantham Resorts, for 1 week during October 2007. The last week of a 3 week trip to Hawaii. I had rented from Grantham 4 years ago and had no hesitation about renting from them again. Upon arriving, we discovered that while the Unit was furnished as pictured on the web site, it was dirty ( walls, windows, bedding, carpet) with multiple maintanence problems ( broken unuseable drain in bath tub, broken freezer door, broken screen door in bedroom, rusted shower rods and rings, peeling paint on all the ceiling fans) .The exterior was also poorly maintained, (the sidewalk on one side of the complex was actually slippery from rotten vegetatation that had not been sweep off, the cooking sink by the B'Que was filthy, clogged and over-flowing with dirty water, old building materials were stacked in the parking lot and either renters or workers had left trash in the bushes. They had also failed to notify us prior to our arrival that the complex was being re-roofed while we were there.
We arrived on Thursday evening. I called Grantham Resorts on Friday moning and again on Friday afternoon leaving my cell number to receive a call back on. They left a message on the condo unit phone while we were out basically implying that we had unrealistic expectations and that maybe we could talk on Monday.
On Monday I received a refund for our remaining nights and moved to another condo unit through another company . I would not under any circumstances rent from Grantham resorts again nor would I recommend them to anyone else. They showed an amazing lack of concern, were extremely condescending, and defensive.To not contact me, and not be available during the week-end knowing how unhappy we were with the condition of the complex and the unit is plainly terrible customer service.

  • Liked — view
  • Disliked — maintenance
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2007

We stayed for a week in unit D-3 in early August. This third floor unit had 3 bedrooms (1 upstairs), with plenty of space. There were five in our group. All of the units face the ocean and the lava shelf below with crashing waves. This unit was beautifully decorated with traditional Hawaiian furniture and artwork. The outside of the buildings and the landscape are nothing special, and the pool was very small and not inviting. But with the beaches close by, it did not matter too much. This location on the point can't be beat. Not sure about the views from the ground floor units, but the third floor units are a great value. They were doing some roof work on our stay, but we saw or heard very little of the workers. While there is no A/C we got a nice breeze through the unit with the door and sliders open. The ceiling fans in all of the rooms helped. We saw turtles and other sea life from the balcony/lanai, and the sunsets were wonderful. The unit has a kitchen with all of the appliances/ dishes, etc as well as a washer and dryer. It was a perfect set-up. The only drawback is the tiny pool. Other than that, it is a great place and the price was right.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — The pool
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2007

We stayed in Unit A 1. It was very well equipped with every basic item as well as all the fun water toys, picnic cooler, etc. It was very clean though a little dated in decor. We were just a couple but it had the ideal set up for a family or two couples with two distinct private areas. Our oceanside bed was excellent. You don't see the shore or surf from the lanai because of a hedge but ocean and sunset views are great. You can see crashing waves and rocks if you walk up a few feet to the hedge. Some higher elevation units (another floor up) might give an improved view. The parking was close but presented some challenges - even hazards. The covered parking was accessed by a steep drive, and the spaces were hard to utilize due to ill placed concrete pillars. The tiny pool was useless. The kitchen was odd..all the cabinets were hung high enough for a giant. Although A1 was a mixed bag, it was a good mix overall. A value and a great location. No regrets.

Stayed December 2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2005

Our family just returned from an early Christmas vacation to Kauai and loved our condo. We stayed in unit C-1 on the ground floor. The views were wonderful and the condo had everything you could wish for. The owners thought of things such as binoculars for whale watching, astronomy books for stargazing, beach towels and chairs, boogey boards and other beach toys, and up to date tour books. The unit had high-speed internet access and flat panel TVs with home theater and CDs and DVDs. We would definitely stay here again if we find ourselves on Kauai!

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern CA
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2003

We rented a three bedroom condo at the Poipu Makai through the Poipu Connection realty. It was great condo that easily slept eight people.
There is no beach, but a wonderful ocean front unit. It is a a fully equipped unit down to the beach towels and coolers. It has a washer and dryer. It is easy to prepare meals in to escape expensive meals, if you choose to do so. It has a cd player, only one tv in the living room.
This is a third floor unit with two baths and two bedrooms on the entry level and a loft with two twin beds and a sofa bed.

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 23 October 2002

You view miles and miles of the south shore from this condo - you can see Spouting Horn from here. The waves crashing against lava rock provides a never-ending show. Watch the sun set behind Niihau island each night. 15 large nicely-constructed condo units with very large lanais providing the spectacular views. The postage-stamp-sized pool is a joke (I never saw anyone in it during the 10 days I was there), so may not be great for kids, but adults will enjoy the views and can then stoll a few blocks to Poipu Beach Park to enjoy the beach, or stroll a few blocks the other way to the Hyatt Regency. This is the southern-most tip of Kauai.

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poipu hotels
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Castle Makahuena at Poipu
Poipu Shores Resort
#13 of 29 in Poipu
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nihi Kai Villas
#15 of 29 in Poipu
142 reviews
Poipu Kapili
#6 of 29 in Poipu
381 reviews
Koloa
Hideaway Cove Poipu Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Poipu Makai

Property: Poipu Makai
Address: 1677 Pee Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9704
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This resort situated on the edge of a bluff providing spectacular views of the blue Pacific and the entire Poipu coastline. A small property with only 15 Kauai condos, Poipu Makai provides privacy and intimacy while being just a short walk to the world renowned Brennecke's Beach and Poipu Beach. The sounds of the sea fill every room and each condo has large lanais offering a great lookout for hours of watching turtles, dolphins, seasonal whales and brilliant sunsets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Poipu Makai Hotel Poipu
Poipu Makai Kauai, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing