We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poipi makai a3 - one of a kind”
Review of Poipu Makai

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poipu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Poipu Makai
Ranked #21 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Reviewed 17 April 2014

truly special place - view from deck couldnt be any ore spectacular - we walk in... walk out on deck and we see a humpback breaching, over and over - incredible - tons of turtles in the surf

spent there a week with our 3yr / 9 month old - sand beach 5 min walk away - perfect protected
little lagoon for small kids

surprisingly good snorkeling , turtle came on beach, tons of fish

condo is top level and end unitt - feels very private, no noise from above
super clean, EVERYTHING there - kitchen has everything short of an espresso machine ; )
has snorkling gear, two flat panel TVs, free internet - very spacious

there is a very small pool - nothing fancy - but who needs a pool with beach in walking distance

poipu is the sweet spot on the island in terms of location
- quick access to stores to kapa'a or koloa'a - gorgeous remote beaches a short drive away

great food close by - living foods for whole food style organic / local ware - and a big save for the
more typical grocery store stuff

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pluzall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014

We rented Unit B-1 through Kauai Vacation Rentals and Real Estate in January 2014. We have visited Kauai many times and usually stay elsewhere, but had guests decide to join us and needed a 2 bedroom in Poipu. The view here is great -- especially god if you want to watch for whales and dolphins. The unit itself was well furnished, good bedding and a well-equipped kitchen. It also has a full size wash and dryer in-unit -- a big plus for extended stays. There is a nice, well kept gas grill available for all. My two biggest concerns: there really isn't god cross-ventilation without opening the sliders in the bedrooms at night -- unfortunately not something one should be doing these days on Kauai. Second, the parking ramp is so tight, you better have a really small car. So next time, we will probably go back to our favorite Kuhio Shores.

Room Tip: There is a pool. It is tiny and very cold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank kimocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Our family loves this property. We have stayed here twice. Once over the Christmas holiday and just recently this summer. The view from the lanai is superb. There is a lot of space for a big family and they supply many items to make your stay feel like home (beach towels, coolers, beach chairs, fully stocked kitchen, etc.). Our family loves to sit on the lanai and watch the turtles. The pool is small but always well kept and clean. I think the only downside in the two times we have stayed here are #1 the sheets in the master bedroom are a little tired (but the bedroom itself is beautiful-there is nothing like falling asleep to the sound of crashing waves!). #2 The carpet was left a little dirty from the previous vacationers. Management was aware of it but we had to look at it for the duration of our stay. Other than that we have really enjoyed our stays here.

Room Tip: Always book A3 in this condo complex. It is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Axj907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

This unit is a great place to be. We were there in June and every time, within 15 minutes of being on the Lanai there were turtles to be seen just beyond the breaking waves. Big open floor plan. Open and airy. Nice kitchen with everything you need to cook. Some snorkelling gear and boogy boards as well in the unit for use. Brennake's Beach only 1/2 mile away with Poipu bch a bit further. We swam with a turtle at Poipu bch.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LangleyInTierrasanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Amazing view! Turtles hanging out right in front of you every day. This unit, or any other 3rd floor units (B3, C3, D3, etc) have the best view, where you see the ocean and much of the rocky beach below. First floor units can only see ocean, and also have people walking in front of them frequently (one of the paths to the beach)... so if privacy is key, stick with 2nd or 3rd floor.

Well appointed unit, with lots of basics like beach towels, chairs, sand toys, boogie boards, etc. This unit is perfect for kids; loft area with private living area that has a TV, Playstation 2 with a dozen games, board games, and two bunk beds. Newish updated kitchen with full set of pots/pans/dishes.

You cannot access the water from the little beach in front, but Poipu beach is a 2 min drive or 15 min walk. However the little beach is good for sunsets, the mini spouting horn, and the looking at the crab hole. Ignore the danger sign; it's just for liability... just don't get too close to the edge if there waves are high and crashing over.

Only neg is the pool; great if you have kids, boring for everybody else. There's a nice gas BBQ in the pool area for guest use; and it's cleaned daily by maintenance staff.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank geterd0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

There are a few other condos along Pe'e Road that appear to have comparable views, so I suspect that any one of them would be excellent choices, as long as you can be assured ocean front.

Let me assure you that every unit at Poipu Makai is indeed ocean front!

We rented through Parrish Collection. You can also find units in Poipu Makei on vrbo.com. It's hard to tell if prices are comparable, as each bit is individually owned, therefore standards of decorating and general upkeep may differ.
The morning sunlight playing off the palm trees, and the marvellous view down the shoreline toward Poipu Beach, are surpassed only by the breathtaking sunsets. All the while entertained by the giant turtles bobbing in the surf, and the whales breaching just offshore.

The location is very good. A neat little Italian bistro Casa di Amici is easy walking distance ( see my review), also Brennekes Beach Broiler, which we did not try. A short drive to a couple of local small malls, five minutes to Koloa for supplies. And a four minute drive to Poipu Bay golf course, which is a wonderful golf experience with an excellent Asian fusion restaurant.
Plenty of dining options nearby, but don't overlook takeout options, so you can dine on your lanai while the sun sets.

Unit E2 was very nice. Brand new kitchen, very well equipped (never seen a garlic press in a rented condo before!) and decent furniture. Minor complaint about the lanai furniture - bar level seating and table is a bit uncomfortable, but on balance, all the better to be sitting a bit higher so as not to have the lanai railing in the way of the view. There is also a chaise longe that has seen better days. We wouldn't use it, even with a beach towel on it. A new seat cushion would solve that issue.
The pool in the back is lame, but we're not big pool people. If the pool was in the front, we would have spent time around it. A couple of neighbouring condos have the pool in front, but the downside there is that the pool gets between you and the ocean view. If pool is important to you, check Poipu Shores just down the road toward the beach.
As others have mentioned, you will hear the surf all night. For some that might be annoying, we found it soothing, and had no problem getting a restful night of sleep.
Poipu Makei seems to be very good value for the price. If you want five star luxury, the Hyatt is just up the road. You will pay a LOT more, and will not have the ocean front experience. (Ocean VIEW yes, but not right on top of the rocks like at PM)

Sad to be leaving for home tomorrow. We will be back, and we will in all likelihood stay at Poipu Makei again.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Goodchip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

I stayed in this Condo for 2 weeks back in June and had a wonderful time. It was spacious, comfortable and right on the ocean. The view from the lanai is spectacular! The kitchen is newly updated and we really enjoyed cooking our meals there. The condo is also extremely convenient to shopping and dining.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank yamako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poipu hotels
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poipu Makai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poipu Makai

Address: 1677 Pee Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9704
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This resort situated on the edge of a bluff providing spectacular views of the blue Pacific and the entire Poipu coastline. A small property with only 15 Kauai condos, Poipu Makai provides privacy and intimacy while being just a short walk to the world renowned Brennecke's Beach and Poipu Beach. The sounds of the sea fill every room and each condo has large lanais offering a great lookout for hours of watching turtles, dolphins, seasonal whales and brilliant sunsets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Poipu Makai Hotel Poipu
Poipu Makai Kauai, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing