We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful home base,excellent staff,no glitz/glam.Just solid value”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poipu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Poipu Plantation Resort
Ranked #9 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Duncan, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful home base,excellent staff,no glitz/glam.Just solid value”
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Five of us recently stayed here in an Upstairs 2 bed,2 bath condo.I had stayed here 2 years ago and found the place charming.Go to the Hyatt or Sheraton for a fancy cocktail,a special dinner,but come back to the friendly,quiet comfort of the Plantation so you can afford that second Martini.We found the beds comfortable,everything we needed in the kitchen,but as many others have noted,the staff cannot do enough to help.We arranged our rental car through them,enjoyed the advice on hiking,dining,the daily Market locations where fresh papaya ,pineapples and bananas are a delicious bargain for breakfast at the condo.Location is great,and I have just noticed from other reviews that Javed makes breakfast for the B&B! Next trip.Construction noise nearby.A pool someday would be welcome.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher M, General Manager at Poipu Plantation Resort, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Aloha Pamela and thanks very much for taking the time to review Poipu Plantation and keeping us in your thoughts as a return guest. Not sure we will ever add a pool, but that calm water swimming area at Poipu Beach is pretty nice too. You mentioned construction noise and I am guessing it was our neighbor and his storage shed. Not something that happens often and we will do our best to control their hours if it does.

thank you again for being our guest and A hui hou! Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    42
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
25
155
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
254 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Positive: Amazing location within walking distance to one of the nicest beaches on the island. Thoughtful staff that always tries to help with a welcoming friendliness. Great value for the price.
Neutral: None.
Negative: Wireless internet quality weak and sometimes unusable (we were fairly warned upon check-in because we had the condo furthest away from the office). Some little aspects of the room showing their age (outlets loose from walls, towel holders about to fall).

There is a review or two here commenting on the "poor" quality of the rooms. Those are incorrect. The rooms are nice to average. Is everything super shiny and new? No. Is everything working, pleasant, and clean? Yes.

Room Tip: The ocean views are well worth the sunsets and rainbows over the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFOPhD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher M, General Manager at Poipu Plantation Resort, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Aloha Mirandajjl and thank you for taking the time to review our Poipu Plantaiton. We had read your comments closer to your date of departure and are just catching up with written responses. We appreciate your kind words and constructive comments as well. Each early December, we take extra time to address deep cleaning and maintenance and adressed those loose items you mentioned.

Wifi signals are a challenge here, even being furthest from the antenna. We are currently looking at this with our IT expert and plan to improve the signal strength and reliability. Hopefully the new generation router and access points will help.

Thank you again for being our guests and we hope to see you again here on Kauai! A hui hou, Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, MA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

We had never been to Hawaii, and had heard so much about the paradise which is Kauai that we chose it as one of the two islands we visited. Although the beach community of Poipu is most characterized by high end over-the-top resorts and a burgeoning supply of condos, the Poipu Plantation is the great alternative. While there are separate housekeeping cottages, we stayed in one of the B&B rooms, which are all located in the original plantation house. We had the "master suite" which was quite spacious and comfortable. The place, admittedly, is not high style, but it has something much more important: real heart. The motto of the staff is to make you feel at home, and, in that regard, it is one of this most comfortable places we have stayed. They are helpful in innumerable ways when you need them (including keeping us calm during a tsunami alert during our stay), but never overbearing. The breakfasts are always changing and delicious, but the common breakfast room, at its best, is also a place for friendly and relaxed conversations. The Plantation is an easy walk down to an amazing string of beaches, sunsets included at no additional price. You can also stroll to all those giant resorts and their great restaurants, but then come back at the end of the evening to this wonderful home-away from home at, no doubt, a fraction of the cost.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JoelMarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher M, General Manager at Poipu Plantation Resort, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Aloha JoelMarty and thank you for taking the time to comment on Poipu Plantation bed and breakfast Inn. It is so great to hear visitors "get" Kauai and all it's magic. This is true Hawaii with Kauai having preserved that atmosphere and nature more than any other island. It is the Aloha spirit you feel from our staff and others living on Kauai, helping our wonderful visitors.

This year is a planned renovation of our Bed and breakast Inn, we are all excited about. We plan on a full new bathroom in your Master Bedroom suite, furniture in the rooms, new floors, paint, different air conditioning systems and more. The Plantation style and character of our wonderful Inn will be continued with a fresh touch.

Thank you again for being our guests and enjoying what we and Kauai have to offer. For now, A hui hou! Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We are returned guests: our first stay, two years ago, had been awesome - and this one has been even better !

We stayed in the B&B building ( in the Ali'i suite) : at once we found out some new little touches which are very convenient, for instance the small in-room safe.
The lawn around the building is always blooming with fragrant plumeria and other tropical plants and the lovely Audrey leaves fresh plumeria flowers everywhere in the room , from your pillow to the tea-table .

If you are wondering about the quality of service, all the house is sparkling clean and really welcoming !! Of course it is not an Hyatt, but it has a lovely , unique hawai’ian feeling to it: another guest (Ohau resident) told us that in this B&B he feels like at home. And my husband and I think of the same !

Though all the staff goes out of his way to make your vacation memorable, Javed is the “soul” of the small resort : he will greet you every morning with a smile and a tasty breakfast , always served with aloha !! (Every day you get a different kind of breakfast stuff , everything is homemade and delicious).
Javed seems to know everything about the island and is always happy to help every guest with advices: for instance , he told us about the Makauwahi trail on our way to CJM stables, both wonderful experiences we would have missed without his tips.

Thank you very much to Javed, Audrey and all the staff for the wonderful days we spent with them, we will surely be returning as soon as possible !!

Highly recommended

Room Tip: Choose the Ali'i Suite ... it's gorgeous !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraDiItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher M, General Manager at Poipu Plantation Resort, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
LauraDiItaly and thanks so much for being one of our return guests and enjoying Kauai as you do. Javed is Mr. Hospitality, that is for sure. I dont know where he gets the energy sometimes, but obviously loves hosting our guests.

This year will bring a renovation to the B&B Inn that we are looking forward to. Alii suite won't see much in change except paint and air conditioning, any fix ups we need to do. We will be replacing our window a/c units with a more built in and quieter type for those warmer moments. Breakfast room witl get new floor and furniture, and the entire Inn including rooms, lots of work. Rest assured we will maintain the warm, homey plantation style that exists now.

Thank you again for being our 'Ohana guests...A hui hou! Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Going to Hawaii was a big trip for us, coming from the UK. It was also for a special occasion and Kauai was the last Hawaiian stop on our itinerary.

We booked one of the sunset condos which are situated over the road at the Kahili resort. It was situated on the second floor with an ocean and sunset view. It was a spacious property, nothing too fancy, and although the kitchen and bathroom are a little dated, they were clean and everything worked. The bedroom and lounge were very comfortable. Javed and Melissa were super helpful both when we were booked and prior to our arrival. As we were travelling from the UK and visiting various Islands, it was really helpful that they were so well organised. Responses to emails were almost instantaneous, which I really appreciated. We met them only the day after arriving and on the day we were leaving but were struck by their warmth and the personal touches which are part of the service. For instance, when we arrived at the condo, it was stocked with a supply of essential items and they left us a vase of fresh, local flowers which was a lovely touch.

They also supplied beach towels, beach chairs, flippers and a boogie board which was another nice touch.

If we could have afforded it we would probably have booked the Sheraton or the Hyatt but to be honest after a very long trip with multi stops both on the US mainland and other Hawaiian islands (at hotels), we really enjoyed staying in the condo and being able to do things such as having breakfast when it suited us, rather than being tied to a hotel timetable.

I would thoroughly recommend Poipu Plantation, it is in a great location, you can walk to the local beaches such as Brennecke's or even to Poipu Beach Park and. unusually, for the States, you can walk to a couple of local restaurants which is great if you want a glass or two of wine!

On arriving back home, we received a postcard from Javed and Melissa thanking us and confirming a discount if we return in the future, which was a lovely personal touch. How nice is that?

The other thing is that PP is very affordable whereas places like the Hyatt etc charge upwards of 400usd for an ocean view room. Sure, you have all facilities on hand but the point of visiting somewhere as beautiful as Kauai is to go out and about and enjoy all the lovely beaches and sightsee rather than staying in the same place? I also object to paying resort fees which some hotels seem to use to coin in extra cash from customers. This seems to me a particularly strange and expensive American custom. Why on earth do Americans put up with it????

Anyway, we had a great stay, loved Poipu and Kauai in general. Would urge people to do the Blue Hawaiian helicopter trip which is amazing Javed and his team will be happy to offer you advice on where to do and what to see if you need it. Thanks to him we found a lovely beach a couple of miles away which was practically deserted and spent a really enjoyable morning there.
He said we might see Hawaiian Monk Seals at Poipu and we did, on three occasions! Fantastic.

I would recommend hiring a car to make the most of your Kauai visit. Although it is a small island, there is a lot to see and it is easy to get around with a car.

My only, fairly minor, criticism is that there is no air conditioning in the property, which we knew when we booked. Although this was fine in the lounge and the bedroom, it did get very hot in the bathroom when using the hairdryer and the kitchen if using the stove top. Not that I do any cooking when I'm on holiday, but I did occasionally boil a kettle for a morning coffee :) Having said this, I'm still awarding the PP a 5* rating because all the other things made up for two fairly minor inconveniences.

Thanks Javed and Melissa and your staff. We had a great stay and hope to see you again, time and money permitting! Mahalo!

Room Tip: If you want breakfast included, book a room at PP. If you want a great condo, go for one of the sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelhappy111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher M, General Manager at Poipu Plantation Resort, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Aloha Travel Happy111 and thank you for taking the time to review our Sunset Ocean view condo across from our main property. We really appreciate your kind words. We see reviews by alert when they are first sent and have slipped in responding. We hope you forgive us for this and please have a wonderful new year. A hui hou! Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We stayed in a partial ocean view flat(no one under or above us) with our 3 year old. It was a wonderful location, within walking distance to Poipu Beach or a 3 minute drive. The kitchen was perfectly equipped with what is needed to make some simple meals, which is very helpful when traveling with young children.
The management was very helpful about directing us where to find everything.
Definitely the best value near Poipu Beach!

Room Tip: We liked to not have a neighbor on top or below, being with a potentially noisy kid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STLL7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher M, General Manager at Poipu Plantation Resort, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Aloha Still7 and thank you for reviewing Poipu Plantation and enjoying your visit and our island of Kauai. Your pleasure is our reward and mahalo nui loa for being our guests! A hui hou, Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

The staff at the Poipu Plantation are very friendly and were helpful in directing us to activities, restaurants, etc. The customer service was great and the location is just a short walk from Poipu Beach! However, the accommodations were a bit disappointing. We were first arranged to stay in the Mango vacation rental and found it to be outdated and unclean. The shower had mildew, the water in the shower turned hot and cold, the bed was very uncomfortable, the dishes were not clean (guests are expected to hand wash them and it didn’t look like housekeeping checked to see if they had been washed), the windows from three different units looked into our unit and with it being so hot and humid in HI you cannot close the blinds and cut off the breeze since it’s the main way to cool the units. Luckily, we were able to relocate to a smaller, but more updated unit with a garden view. Really enjoyed the staff, but the cleanliness of the units was bothersome and the beds were not comfortable in either unit.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher M, General Manager at Poipu Plantation Resort, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Aloha Stacey T. Great you enjoyed our staff and Poipu Beach location. We are however, disappointed that our room did not meet your expectations.

I am concerned over any room housekeeping results of anything less than very clean. I understand that we may not always be perfect in every endeavor, but rest assured it is a high priority and a comment we never want to hear. Concerning dish washing; certainly our housekeepers wash everything in a kitchen upon a guest departure. Showers are bleached and sanitized. It is unfortunate that something was missed on your arrival and i am glad we were ultimately able to accommodate you.

Here in a resort community, the feeling of other suites in close proximity to yours is really contrary to the open space and separateness of our cottage buildings. With thirty to fifty and more feet between buildings and only three spread over our gardens, one could not find a more private atmosphere at a Resort or multifamily property. You might have enjoyed our air conditioning for those times of closed blinds and lack of trade winds.

I do our best in maintaining high levels of repair and updated accommodations. I suppose cottages built in the 80s may be considered dated, but with appliances and features replaced and maintained on an ongoing basis, we certainly stand up to the standards of a three star Poipu Beach resort. Our bed is a Serta Hotel King of less than a year old, but understand in our industry that bed comfort is clearly a subjective issue.

I was away during your three day visit, but rest assured that the staff and i have discussed all of your comments to learn how we can improve our work. Mahalo, Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poipu Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poipu Plantation Resort

Property: Poipu Plantation Resort
Address: 1792 Pee Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9535
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful value and quality accommodations at Poipu Beach. Never an extra fee, pay room and tax only! Poipu Beach neighborhood resort includes ten Vacation Rentals with kitchen (non B&B) and four Plantation House bed and breakfast suites with daily breakfast(no kitchens),all in air conditioned comfort. Situated on spacious gardens an easy walk to Brennecke's and Poipu beaches and the surrounding coastline. This is Poipu's best value. **Breakfast included for Inn guests only (no kitchens). Rental guests with full kitchen, breakfast is not offered. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Poipu Plantation Hotel Poipu
Poipu Plantation Resort Kauai, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing