We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place, very helpful hosts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poipu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Poipu Plantation Resort
Ranked #9 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
305 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Lovely place, very helpful hosts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

My wife and I stayed 5 days at Poipu plantation. Its not actually a plantation of any kind. =)
We stayed in a garden-facing ground floor unit. The suite was very spacious with a bedroom, a living room, a dining area, kitchen and a lanai. Parking was very conveniently located.

Chris and Javed were really patient in introducing the areas of interest around the island to us from the moment we met them. It felt like they really wanted us to experience the best Kauai had to offer. They were always very helpful. There was also equipment such as iceboxes, beachtowels etc that we could borrow from them.

Its a 5-10 min walk to poipu beach park and a 5 min drive to the nearby shopping centres and the Hyatt.

Definitely good value for money and highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrJohnWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    42
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
25
155
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Just spent a fantastic week at this newly remodeled B&B. A five minute walk to the ocean where we saw sea turtles and monk seals. The Maile suite was very comfortable with a well appointed bath, private lanai, king bed( great mattress) and strong wifi. As others have mentioned, Javed was great at suggesting destinations and also cooked up some awesome breakfasts including homemade pancakes, lillikoi French toast and fresh guava juice and papaya every morning. It is also about a 10 minute walk to the Grand Hyatt, Sheraton and other resorts. The B&B also provides beach towels, beach mats, chairs and coolers. We felt totally at home the entire stay.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dccantor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

As a family of 4, we stayed in the Ocean-View 2 Bedroom Unit for 10 days. It was an excellent location for us; a 5 minute walk to Poipu Beach and Brenneckes Beach for snorkelling and boogie boarding. With the excellent information provided by Javed, we were able to discover more beaches, other activities, more entertainment and terrific food choices. Old Towne Koloa is only a 10 minute drive away and provides a variety of food choices and stores, without losing its small town charm. From the resort, we could walk to Casa di Amici for a wonderful evening meal or to Brenneckes Beach Broilers for drinks or a light meal. Or we made many tasty meal in our vacation rental with all the fresh fruit and fish available. We loved the fruit stands and farmers markets in the area. Poipu was easy to find from the airport, even in the dark at 11pm. I agree with the previous review by "packourbagsyyz". Poipu Plantation Resort was an excellent setting for our island getaway. I found it thru Tripadvisor and it lived up to all its excellent reviews.

Room Tip: The photos & website are an excellent representation of the resort. The rooms were large and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed 5 nights in a one bedroom 2nd floor ocean view unit, the Macademia, and wished we didn't have to leave. It is a large and immaculate apartment with high, sloped ceilings and windows on three sides including three sets of sliding doors to a big balcony. We slept extremely well on the very comfortable bed. The kitchen is fully equipped. Management is friendly and knowledgeable. The grounds are attractively landscaped and well-kept. Poipu Beach is a 5 minute walk down the street.
I call this "the perfect place" because for us it was: quiet, understated, small property, well-located, friendly management. It felt authentic. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank packyourbagsyyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 5 nights in July this year. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. The breakfasts each morning were absolutely amazing and Javed was an absolute gold mine of information on where to go and what to do while also providing fabulous insights into the history of the island. I would absolutely recommend as a wonderful location to stay while enjoying Kauai. I will definitely be back some time soon I hope.

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Eire-traveller O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher M, General Manager at Poipu Plantation Resort, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Aloha Eire-traveller O and thank you for taking the time to review you visit with Poipu Plantation B&B. We know we are late to respond and are trying to get better with this. We are so happy you enjoyed your time here. Since your visit, we have completely renovated and restored our Inn to its original splendor as a Hawaiian plantation era home. Javed and our staff hope to see you sometime in the future. A hui hou! Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

We spent two nights here, staying in the Norfolk Suite (holiday rental rather than bed-and-breakfast). Our suite was spacious, the fittings of a decent standard for a holiday rental, the furniture solid and with plenty of storage space. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was a good size and generously supplied with towels. The kitchen had everything we needed for a bit of self-catering, but you could do full-scale cooking with no problems. There were adjustable blinds on every window to counteract the sun throughout the day, so we found we didn't need to use the air conditioning. The building is not new, but everything was very clean. Our balcony had an excellent view of the nearby ocean and the mountains inland.

Further afield, the grounds are very well kept and despite the number of people close by, very quiet. The laundry, located in its own building, was spotless. We didn't have a car, but there was plenty of parking space. The staff were approachable, thoroughly professional and very helpful. The Resort is set in a quiet neighbourhood, with the beach and some dining options five minutes' walk away. The nearest shopping centre (which has some very good dining options) is 20 minutes' walk away, though footpaths are lacking for most of the trip.

The Resort was just as described and really hit the mark for us. It had a pleasant and relaxing atmosphere and we felt at home right away.

Room Tip: The Norfolk Suite has a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duckbattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher M, General Manager at Poipu Plantation Resort, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Aloha Duckbattle and thank you so much for your nice review. We know this has been a while, but felt it important to acknowlege your kind words. We are trying to be better with our review responses. It is so wonderful to host guests from around the world and mahalo nui for traveling all the way from down under to Hawaii. A hui hou! Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Our family of 4 ( two teenage girls and Wifey) just spent four nights at The Plantation. It's easy to get lost in this romantic slightly dark resort at night but boy this is a fabulous resort. We had a wrap around lanai in our partial ocean view condo. Two bedrooms and two bathrooms. A blessing with 3 ladies in the family! Huge kitchen/living space and minutes from the shore. Go watch the sun rise/set every day. You will see sea turtles and dolphins. Fantastic shady cool grounds. Chris and his team will provide you with all the beach equipment like coolers, body boards, towels and beach chairs you will need. His daily tailored touring tips and places to eat were spot on. Stay here and leave your dollars with the locals rather than stay in a resort and live in a bubble like the Truman show. You will save a fortune with the local tips on food and places to visit you get from Chris and the team.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay3025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher M, General Manager at Poipu Plantation Resort, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Aloha Jay3025 and thank you so much for reviewing our property. Although you visited from the UK a while ago, we had to say mahalo nui for your kind words. We are trying to be more attentive to these reviews. We hope you are having a good summer season and hope to see you in the future. A hui hou! Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poipu Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poipu Plantation Resort

Property: Poipu Plantation Resort
Address: 1792 Pee Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9535
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful value and quality accommodations at Poipu Beach. Never an extra fee, pay room and tax only! Poipu Beach neighborhood resort includes ten Vacation Rentals with kitchen (non B&B) and four Plantation House bed and breakfast suites with daily breakfast(no kitchens),all in air conditioned comfort. Situated on spacious gardens an easy walk to Brennecke's and Poipu beaches and the surrounding coastline. This is Poipu's best value. **Breakfast included for Inn guests only (no kitchens). Rental guests with full kitchen, breakfast is not offered. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Poipu Plantation Hotel Poipu
Poipu Plantation Resort Kauai, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing