We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family-friendly accommodation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poipu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Poipu Plantation Resort
Ranked #8 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We stood with our 8 months old daughter 12 days in an appartment. 2 rooms (kitchen + living area and a bedroom, nice terrasse, big bathroom). As the appartment had windows on both sides of the building, the wind draft was so pleasant that we didn't have to use the aircon at all. Everything was fine except the pretty high price we paid (USD 170/ night) and the fact that cleaning took place only once during our stay and then it wasn't carried out properly. The kitchen and dining table were not wiped/cleaned at all.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank tudorbors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher M, General Manager at Poipu Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Aloha Tudorbors, thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are glad you enjoyed your time at Poipu Beach. We would like to respond to a couple of your comments. Your discount nightly rate was actually $140 a night plus tax.
The housekeeping included with your rate is on departure (no cleaning fee) and one mid-stay towel and linen service. For visits over 7 nights, we include this service of changing your bed linens and towels so there is no need to do laundry.
We are sorry you expected more housekeeping. With cleaning supplies provided, most guests perfer to take care of it themselves, but we are happy to schedule service on request.
We hope you enjoyed your trip to Hawaii and would be pleased to see you again here at Poipu Plantation! Aloha, Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

The Poipu Plantation Resort is a wonderfully laid back property located in a quiet residential area. We stayed in the Macadamia Suite on the second floor with a view of the water. Rooms were spacious and comfortable and the staff - Javed and Melissa were outstanding. Parking is easy onsite and you can walk to the beach.

Room Tip: The Macadamia Suite had a/c if you elected to turn it and had a King Size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BKL33458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher M, General Manager at Poipu Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Aloha BKL33458 and thank you for reviewing Poipu Plantation. We are so pleased you enjoyed our property and for your kind words. We enjoyed having you as our guests and hope to see you again on kauai in the future. A hui hou! Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed here for 6 nights in November 2013 as the last stop on the way home to Australia after having travelled around South America for 10 weeks.

Managers/owners had been friendly, helpful and responsive to all queries prior to our visit, giving us lots of helpful hints etc. We had originally booked to stay in the B&B part but were then told this would be unavailable due to renovations and we were re-booked into a vacation rental unit instead.

We stayed in an upstairs "ocean view" unit that had an obstructed view of the ocean in the distance above the roof tops of other buildings. Inside there was a lounge area and 4 seater lounge and 2 single chairs. Small flat screen tv. There was also a dining table and chairs. Air con and ceiling fan. There was also good ventilation from the screened louvred windows and sliding doors. Good wifi reception in the unit.

There was a full kitchen.

There was a double bed in the bedroom and plenty of space for the bags. Ceiling fan. in room.

Bathroom was a good size with a shower and plenty of room on the vanity.

Free beach towels and chairs available to guests.

There is onsite parking available although it was pretty tight and not right in front of the units. We arrived after dark and had found it difficult to read the street signs, so it would have been easier to arrive in daylight. There was an envelope waiting for us with clear instructions how to find our unit.

Note: Some units require a number of steep wooden steps to be climbed (23 from memory). On a normal occasion, I don't mind steps, but trying to haul heavy suitcases up so many steps was an issue and a reminder not to pack so much (but difficult on a 10 week trip).

The cost for this unit was about $1000 US which was probably reasonable considering the charges that most other places near the beach in Hawaii work out at. The beach was within walking distance as were some of the shops, but it was a good idea to have a hire car to get around and see the sites. Our hire car was organised by Poipu Plantation.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Qldgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher M, General Manager at Poipu Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Aloha Qldgirl1! thank you for taking the time to review our property and being our guests. We are happy to read your kind words and enjoyment of our wonderful island of Kauai. We hope to see you again if ever up from down under!! A hui hou, Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed 5 days in the Pikake room (one of the garden rooms). The room was clean, spacious and comfortable. The staff was lovely. The location was great - an easy 10min walk to a nice beach with great snorkeling. The breakfast was good. There is a shared fridge for use and they have free bottled water for guests. My only 2 comments would be that the windows in the Pikake room look onto other homes/cottages, so you will want to draw the curtains when changing etc. Also, it would be great if the resort had snorkel gear for the guests in addition to their towels, chairs, umbrellas and coolers - these are small details of course!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macaroni_sa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher M, General Manager at Poipu Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Aloha Macaroni_sa and thank you for your nice view of our property. We are pleased you enjoyed the new bed and breakfast and our wonderful island of Kauai. Over the years, we have wanted to loan snorkel gear, but unfortunatley, our insurance company does not allow us to do it. We will keep trying, maybe someday! We hope to see you in the future! A hui hou, Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed in the Maile suite in the B & B and it was a lovely room. The decor was very charming and the room was spacious and clean. There is a new a/c but we did not have to use it since there were big screened windows that we just left open to get a nice breeze coming through the room. The breakfast was delicious with much attention to every detail and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The "resort" is a five minute walk to the ocean which was nice and it sits in a quiet residential area. Overall, it was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PuraVida365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher M, General Manager at Poipu Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Aloha Pura Vida 365, thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are so happy you enjoyed your visit with us. That is what makes it all worth while for our staff and we truely appreciate it. We hope to see you in the future, A hui hou! Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My husband and I stayed in one of the vacation rentals for a week. The 1 bedroom suite was so beautiful, clean, and homey.

The person who checked us in was happy to spend 10+ minutes showing us a map of the area and pointing out everything, making recommendations, etc. Very friendly.

Poipu beach (one of the best beaches on the island) is about a 5 minute walk away - super convenient to avoid the parking lots.

They had beach chairs, beach towels, and even sun screen in the front for the guests to use.

Room Tip: We got the cheapest 1 bedroom suite (no view) and it was fantastic. I'm not one to spend more mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuliAnn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher M, General Manager at Poipu Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Aloha JuliAnnshazam and thank you for taking the time to review our property. Your title says it all, we are blessed with hosting our guests while visiting this amazing island of Kauai. A hui hou! Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The poipu plantation is a location for holidays. There is a bbq-station outside for everybody (you can eat there aswell), the upper apartments have a nice view to the beach an the sunset (very romantic), the kitchen and the living room are good equippet, but the biggest plus point are the very helpful owners. Thank you for a perfect week!

Room Tip: take an upper apartement
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gaol504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher M, General Manager at Poipu Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Aloha gaol504 and thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are so happy you enjoyed Poipu Plantation and our staff. This is what makes our time and efforts so worth while. When traveling from Switzerland to Hawaii again, please come by to say ALOHA! A hui hou, Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poipu Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poipu Plantation Resort

Address: 1792 Pee Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9535
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Price Range: £123 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful value and quality accommodations at Poipu Beach. Never an extra fee, pay room and tax only! Poipu Beach neighborhood resort includes ten Vacation Rentals with kitchen (non B&B) and four Plantation House bed and breakfast suites with daily breakfast(no kitchens),all in air conditioned comfort. Situated on spacious gardens an easy walk to Brennecke's and Poipu beaches and the surrounding coastline. This is Poipu's best value. **Breakfast included for Inn guests only (no kitchens). Rental guests with full kitchen, breakfast is not offered. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Poipu Plantation Hotel Poipu
Poipu Plantation Resort Kauai, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing