We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ocean view, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Poipu Shores Resort
Ranked #16 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2005

...but LOTS of noise. We were redirected to this place after Kiahuna Plantation (also a Castle place) told us they couldn't fit us in (despite having prepaid months in advance). I think they figured the ocean view would make us feel better. Well, if an ocean view is that important to you (it's not to us), then this place is probably ideal for you. But there are a few significant issues that you should consider before plunking your money down.

First, the ocean is litterally right outside your window. I say "ocean" because it's defintely NOT a beach. In fact, there is no sand there at all, just cliffs. You would sustain serious injuries, or worse, if you even attempted to swim there. But worse off, the waves continuously pound the cliffs and for us the constant noise was just too much. I can surely see how some could ignore this more than us, but we really treasure peace and quiet and being able to hear the birds sing from the lanai, and you most certainly won't get that at this hotel, so keep this in mind. Winter might be somewhat better since this side of the island is more protected, but probably not that much better.

Second, it's not a real easy walk to the nearest beach. It's not that far (maybe 10-15 minutes), but there are some hills and uneven paths so some people might have a hard time with that.

Third, the property itself really isn't that pretty. Keep in mind that we expected Kiahuna Plantation with it's lush landscaping and beautiful grounds so Poipu Shores was a big disappointment.

On the positive side, the unit we had (a 2 bedroom) was clean and had everything we needed. The staff was very nice. There were lots of sea turtles in the ocean below us. Supposedly they have wireless internet access in the beach hut near the pool, but I wasn't able to verify this. Otherwise, you pay a buck for each time you make even a local call.

In summary, if you place a lot of importance on an ocean view and don't mind loud crashing waves 24/7, then this place is probably a good deal. If you are looking for peace and quiet where you can sit and read or just listen to the birds, or a place that your kids can run around and you can walk easily to a nice beach, I'd consider something else.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank wxman1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2005

We just returned from a 7 day stay at Poipu Shores. We had a ground floor unit on the corner. The view was spectacular with the waves crashing right next to our room. However, with no AC, and windows open, sleep is not easy! The pool is in desperate need of rennovation, however, the pool is also in the most beautiful spot ever, right on the ocean cliff overlooking sea turtles and lava rocks. It is a short walk to the beach. Make sure you go to the Sheraton Luau. It was incredible! Skip eating at Brenneke's (the closest restaurant to the condo). It is overpriced and nothing special.
You'll never be disapointed with the view! The absence of AC, old units and no beach are the downsides.

4  Thank knagamine1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
233
Reviewed 29 May 2005

We just got back from our stay at Poipu Shores which I chose based on the reviews on this site. Well, I must say, Poipu Shores definitely lived up to our expectations and then some. We have been to Kauai 4 times prior to this trip and this was definitely the best one yet. Try to get something on the 2nd Floor or above as the views are just amazing...we saw sea turtles, spinner dolphins and even a huge Manta Ray right from our balconey. The waves crashing up on the rocks and the sunsets were spectacular. It was hard to leave this condo. Also, the condo was clean and very spacious and they change your towels and make the beds every day as well as deliver a local newspaper. I really can't say enough about our stay here..we felt like we had found a secret place...awesome location for a reasonable price. We will definitely come back to Poipu Shores!

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Kailua, HI
115
Reviewed 24 December 2004

Wonderful quiet area. Awesome views of the ocean crashing right under the balcony. Saw many turtles and crabs and birds. Definately would stay here again. Loved it.

15  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2004

We stayed at Poipu Shores in October of 2003 for eight nights. Wow.....what a great vacation.

We stayed in a first floor, one bedroom unit that shared a huge patio with one other apartment. The patio literally hung way over the ocean. It was an unbelieveable place to sit and read, eat breakfast, lunch, or dinner.....or just "chill". The most remarkable location for a condo I've ever seen.

The apartment was rented directly from the owner. It was quite nice (a few things needed some fixing up), but overall, quite adequate. Any concerns were overshadowed by our enjoyment of the setting. As mentioned in other reviews, an easy walk to the beaches. The best beaches, however, were a short drive past the Hyatt Regency. Deserted.......native Hawaiian beaches. It was great!

We loved Kaui......and would definitely stay at Poipu Shores again! The scenery, the food, the beaches......this place is truly paradise!!

15  Thank PastorTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2004

We just spent the last week of February, 2004 at Poipu Shores and had a fabulous time. We loved being right on the ocean where we could hear the waves. What a romantic spot. Our condo was large with everything we needed and the staff at the resort were very friendly and helpful. We have found our dream vacation spot and will be back next year!

15  Thank mahalo2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2004

The location is what makes this condo terrific! The ocean view, sounds, and smell are right at your backdoor. Wonderful sea cliff to view turtles and other marine life. Short walk to the beach. Nice running path. The condo is clean and above average. We did much research before staying here and we were very happy with our choice. We hope to return soon. Highly recommend this condo!

11  Thank horsemmam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poipu Shores Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poipu Shores Resort

Address: 1775 Pee Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9718
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Price Range: £239 - £466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Poipu Shores Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poipu Shores is an oceanfront condominium, nestled into Kauai's coastal cliffs near Spouting Horn. Experience spectacular views of powerful waves from each one-, two-, and three-bedroom suite at this hidden gem. An oceanfront pool is perched over the surf, overlooking a Hawaiian green sea turtle sanctuary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Poipu Shores Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poipu Shores Hotel Poipu
Poipu Shores Resort Kauai, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing