We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location; great price”
Review of Kauai Cove

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kauai Cove
Ranked #15 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Atlanta
Level Contributor
226 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great location; great price”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed in the Wild Orchid Cottage. This is really a a tri-plex of studios with Wild Orchid in the middle. The location is great. It's in a quiet neighborhood but within walking distance of The Shops at Kukui`ula which has restaurants, stores, and a specialty grocery. You can also walk to several beaches and to whalers' cove where sea turtles gather. This part of the island is not too far from most of the rest of Kauai. The only part of the island we never did get to was past Kilauea---and that was largely because we got lazy toward the end of our stay and mostly wanted to enjoy Poipu and Koloa.
Compared to much of the surrounding accommodations, the "cottages" are a bargain at under $200/night. There is no view, no daily maid service, no pool, no bathtub, a limited kitchen (no oven, no dishwasher), and no separate bedroom. There IS a lovely lanai, a grill (which we didn't use), a cool shower, a full size refrigerator/freezer, a sit-at bar, coolers, tatami mats and chairs for the beach, flat-screen TV, poster bed with ceiling fan, an informational notebook, free wi-fi, and a roomy closet. There is room AC that we only used twice during our 6-night stay.
The owners are friendly but hands-off. We never actually met and just checked in and out over the phone. This is much more self-catering than bed & breakfast in style.
One caveat: this is Hawaii---there will be bugs and lizards. They are part of the package. I had lived in Hawaii and other tropical areas before so, for the most part, they don't bother me. Mosquitoes, on the other hand, never came close to the problem they are in the Southern US, despite the warnings of some locals. I don't think I got bit even once and I didn't need the Off the owners thoughtfully left in the bathroom.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank frauduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    18
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
63
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
High Level, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The Palm Room is in a great location to get anywhere on the island. It is quiet and peaceful. There is a small fridge and some small appliances, which worked well for my boyfriend and I. Location was easy to find and a short walk from many of the beaches and local restaurants. Snorkel and beach gear provided, which is a nice touch. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsey, NJ
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

It was OK. The Palm room in the main house had a large shower that was nice. Snorkel, fins, boogey board, umbrella and chairs are there to share with the other rented room. If we returned it would stay in the larger room. Walk to Poipu beach 7-10 min...7 min downhill...10 min uphill.
The family grill is available out front but it is not a place to cook meals or reheat any food since there is no microwave. The small pool for this area home is also a 5-7 min walk.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naturequest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammamish, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I can't say enough about this place. For people that don't mind walking a bit this location is ideal. We were able to walk to the Hyatt(shipwreck beach) and Poipu Beach. I cut my foot on a piece of lava rock and within 2 minutes of calling I had everything I needed to cleanse the wound and protect it(speaking from a medical professional point of view). This alone would have been enough but we were also able to use their washer and dryer which was great to reduce the amount of dirty clothes. If you are looking for an average price for a place to stay with everything you would ever need for a day at the beach, this is the place to go. Owners were great and genuinely wanted you to have a great vacation.

Room Tip: This review was for the Palm Room. The also have cottages in a different location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank defenbaughb13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Let's get the negative out of the way...our only complaint is that we couldn't stay longer! We had the pleasure to call the Wild Orchid Cottage home for 1 week- it was the perfect home base for exploring all that Kauai has to offer. It is a quiet location but close to the lovely shops at Kukui`ula Village- we especially enjoyed the Living Foods Market where we could pick up something to take home for supper or add to our picnic lunch for the day. There is almost a Farmer's Market every day in Kauai which is a great opportunity to buy fresh and locally grown produce (at a reasonable price) and to experience local entertainment and art. The owners have thoughtfully put together an information binder that provides the Farmer's Markets schedules, local beaches, snorkeling tips, etc. We also appreciated the additional touches of a cooler (for those picnic lunches at the beach!), beach towels, bug spray (for hiking trails & outdoor adventures)...and a box of Chocolate Covered Macadamia Nuts to get into the island flavour! This was our second time to Kauai and our first time staying at Kauai Cove Cottages. We bought a ceramic piece at the Banana Patch Studio in Hanapepe so we have will have a piece of the cottage in our own home. We just got home today and we're already making plans for when we go back! Mahalo and a hui hou!

Room Tip: The Wild Orchid Cottage is located in the middle of the other two cottages but we never heard our ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rjgt79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed here for a week and a half and had an amazing time. The Plumeria cottage was equipped with everything we needed, including coffee, some basic seasonings (salt, sugar, pepper), a full BBQ on the lanai, even a couple beers when we got in! It's a great location to set up home base to explore the rest of Kauai. It's also conveniently located near baby beach and a little cove where we spent our mornings watching the turtles swim in and nap. Diane and EJ's beach recommendations were right on for us too! We would definitely like to stay here again on our next Kauai holiday!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I think this was the 6th time we stayed at Kauai Cove. We actually have booked our recent trips based when they have a room available. The rooms are super clean, very quiet, and equipped for cooking in if you wish. AND there is a private BBQ for your personal use on the back lanai. EJ and Diane are totally committed to make yours stay the best they can. Need anything, just ask. Need information, just ask. The cottages are walking distance to several restaurants and shopping as well as moonlight strolls along quiet streets and sitting along the ocean. A little thing I enjoy is there is always coffee available for you to make the first morning. There is usually some of the little cooking items you will need also. The location is perfect for those looking for a calm, quiet location which is not too far from amenities.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poipu hotels
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauai Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Cove

Property: Kauai Cove
Address: 2672 Puuholo Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy Hawaiian Cottages in Poipu Beach just 300 feet from the ocean! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kauai Cove Cottages Hotel Poipu
Kauai Cove Poipu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing