We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“always feels like home”
Review of Kauai Cove

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poipu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kauai Cove
Ranked #14 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Reviewed 25 February 2011

We recently stayed at Kauai cove probably for our 10th time on the island. The reason we love staying here is for the great value and the location. You cannot ask for better on the South Shore. Not only is the location great but the owners go out of their way to help out with any activities you might want to do while there.
You are a minute walking distance from band new shopping centre and great restaurants and about a 10 minute walk to one of the best beaches on the island-by the Shereton and it is extremely quiet and for a self contained bachelor apartment and great Hawaiiana style you cannot ask for much more...it always feels like home away from home.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kauaiculture2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2011

We stayed in the Wild Orchid Cottage for 4 nights. Its all in all an ok place, but don`t expect anything special-its all rather simple. There is no dishwasher, so you have to do all the dishes by hand if you cook. Room was clean, but the bathroom needs a general cleaning, especially because the blinds had mold on it and looked very old and dirty.

There is no ocean view- and beaches are not even within walking distance! The "backyard" is super small, but has had a nice big grill.
Our main problem was the bed. Its matress felt like lying in a hammock and we tossed and turned during the night.
If you are easy with beds and don^t have a back problem and you are not looking for a luxurious accomodation, then this is right for you. If you are looking for something romantic and special, like for a honeymoon, definetely choose another place.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tripcello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 February 2011

We were surprised by this review as we honestly have not received any other complaints on the bed. The current guest told us that the bed was fine and everything was great. Comfort and cleanliness are our greatest concern…and we are always happy to replace things as needed. We value guest feedback and would have liked to have the opportunity to make things better for this guest or find them another accommodation…but this guest never notified us during their stay.

We are located right next to Koloa Landing Cove in Poipu and there are beaches in both directions within a short walking distance…from 2 blocks to ¾ mile. We never promote our cottages as ocean view and we’re not sure why this guest was mistaken about that.

In 13 years of business out niche has been Honeymoon & anniversary guests who want a Tropical, Romantic Beach Cottage feel…not a typical condo or luxury hotel. We have had lots of very happy guests, lots of return guests and referrals who enjoy our cottages and the location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2010

This was a wonderful vacation. I loved every moment of it. The condo was beautiful with great views, location and furnishings! We are already looking at our schedule for when we can return!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank ScottandDebbiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2010

A great value for the area, Kauai Cove Cottages are a little off the beaten path but in a good way. Tucked into a quiet suburb of Poipu you feel like you are away from it all but are really just minutes from the hussle bussle if you want it. Nicely appointed end unit studio (Plumeria) with all the amenities you need--fully equiped kitchenette, full bath, private patio with large gas BBQ, umbrella, beach towels, cooler and beach chairs. The queen size bed with bamboo frame was super comfy! The owners EJ and Diane are very helpful, sweet and close by in case you need anything. Their recommendations for beaches to visit are excellent! If you are looking for a luxury hotel or condo experience this is not for you. If you are looking for a cozy home away from home this is it!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pinacoleggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2010

The Garden Suite. 15 year (early) anniversary. We experienced Kauai like we never would have thanks to the historical and informative books on the table. We were welcomed with a small private garden an open door and a surprisingly stocked kitchen.

Everything was comfortable, relaxing, and we both recharged our batteries away from the kids and daily stress of everyday living. Dining was top notch, including the Iron Chef restaurant Roy's, just around the corner.

From the dozens of Sea turtles and watching the, sadly endangered, Monk Seal relax on the beach at Poipu (all within walking distance), to extraordinary hikes in Waimea Canyon to the west and the Napali coast to the north, we experienced the entire island from a central location.

I will be sending my family members to Diane and AJ when they travel to Kauai.

Wonderfully Paradisaical, Enjoy your stay there.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SurfnCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2010

The Garden Suite is a newly furnished, one-bedroom suite with a full kitchen and living area located near the Poipu Kai Resort. We traveled with our 8 year old daughter who slept comfortably on the couch, while we had privacy on the hand-carved replica of Queen Lilioukalani canopy bed. Very romantic! The Suite does not have an ocean view, but it is surrounded by a beautiful garden. Nevertheless it is only a 5 minute walk to Brennecke's Beach which has a gorgeous view of sunset, as well as local dining/cocktails. The suite is immaculately clean, but no there is maid service so a daily sweep of the hardwood floors is necessary. We make our own food and cocktails to save $, and a cooler is provided to transport lunch to hiking/beach. Waimea is only 30 mins and the Kalalau Trail about 45 mins. away. Outdoor adventures are near in every direction. Use of the Poipu Kai hot tub and pool is great after a day of hiking or boogie boarding in Poipu.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Lehwomann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2010

As we found the previous comments useful, we'd thought we'd add our review to the pile. As someone else mentioned, if you're looking for hotel type service (room service, pool, etc.) this is not the place for you. If you're quite happy with living amongst the locals in a quaint and quiet neighborhood and living, as the name says, in a cottage where you can come and go as you please, cook in or eat out, then this is the place for you. Very nice cottage/cabin setting, perfect for couples and very reasonably priced given our checking of some surrounding hotels/condos. It's a short 5 min. walk to Baby Beach but there are other bigger and better beaches for swimming not far away. Sources for buying food are close (ie Costco near the airport, larger grocery chain store 10 mins away plus farmers' markets going on daily throughout the Island). Being in Poipu as well allows you to start mid-point and drive to other parts of the Island in either direction. Traffic, especially during rush hour was a concern (probably our only complaint about Kauai). One of our favourite things we will remember and miss is waking every morning to the sound of roosters and other various birds (almost like sleeping and waking up in the jungle or country but so close to the city). The lanai (patio) wasn't particularly useful for us and we might have used it more if it were sunnier and in a location with a view but that's what the beaches are for! The owners were especially friendly and more than accommodating.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElmoVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauai Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Cove

Address: 2672 Puuholo Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy Hawaiian Cottages in Poipu Beach just 300 feet from the ocean! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kauai Cove Cottages Hotel Poipu
Kauai Cove Poipu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing