We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome stay - great views and location”
Picture yourself here, in the middle of the Pacific, trade winds blowing and you find yourself here.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Picture yourself here, in the middle of the Pacific, trade winds blowing and you find yourself here.
Frame your island dreams at this incredilbe tropical oasis.  The ocean is your entertainment. 180 degree views of the Pacific from this lanai, no obstructions to your views, every changing.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Picture yourself here, in the middle of the Pacific, trade winds blowing and you find yourself here.
Frame your island dreams at this incredilbe tropical oasis.  The ocean is your entertainment.
180 degree views of the Pacific from this lanai, no obstructions to your views, every changing.
Tropical splendor from your lanai.  Crashing waves, turtles, beautiful sunrises and sunsets.  Wow!
The dining room adjoins the living area, room for two couples or a family, all fit comfortably.
Expansive windows bring in the Pacific, your stateroom without seasickness. It doesn't get better.
The travertine and granite master bathroom is en suite for your comfort and privacy, upgraded linens
Master bedroom to living area.  Open floorplan to maximize flow thru and space.  Quality and comfort
Your view to the west, Poipu Beach Park within a short walk, you have it all here, all close by.
Sunsets are an island ritual and they don't get much better than this, see Niihau in the distance.
Sweet dreams!  Swaying palms dance with the waves as you rest in this tropical paradise, good night!
Breakfast, lunch, dinner, snacks or sunset beverage, it does not get better than our delightful home
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Poipu, Kauai, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tim P
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Location, some issues during our stay”
Reviewed 3 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We rented at Poipu Shores 303 a over the Xmas Holidays and the New Year. The location on the South Shore is terrific as you can access everything on the island from this location. The view is spectacular and you get a very expansive view of the South Shore from the condo's deck enabling you to see whales and dolphins right from your deck! The pool area is quite nice and the pool also offers an expansive view.

The property managers (Tom and Patricia) were very responsive to all of our needs prior to our arrival at
Poipu Shores and kept in touch with us during our stay. We did pay a significant premium to stay here so we did want to make viewers aware of some issues that certainly should not happen in a premium property.

Our "average rating" was due to these circumstances. We have rented 7 times through VRBO over the years (all over the world) and we have largely experienced exceptional circumstances. This is the first time we have provided a review somewhat below this.

The Master Shower was inoperable when we arrived and I needed to jerry rig a solution so that my wife and I could use it. The toilet in the Master was also not working correctly and the ice dispenser in the fridge was not working.

Additionally the location does charge you a cleaning fee and we were disappointed in how dirty and dusty the condo was on arrival. My wife (who has allergies) was sneezing quite a bit during our stay as the dust was significant. We did our best to clean it up but we shouldn't have to!

Be aware that this complex does not have any AC so it does get quite warm in the unit through the day. Additionally we found the surf to be quite violent hitting the stone wall at night (I am sure pretty common in the winter season) which required us to close the windows at night (due to the noise) which made the condo even warmer. If you rent this unit in the summer be aware that the Master Bedroom in the condo will be quite warm at night.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am happy to address some of the issues you have noted.
Upon learning of the shower not working, we told you that our repair man would be back on island and when I stopped by to let you know of the date and that he would fix it upon his return, you told me that you were making it work and did not need him to come by to repair it. The staff would have had to use the shower fixture to clean the shower so to say that it was inoperable might not be the correct wording.
I am surprised to hear that the condo was dusty and dirty as the condo was cleaned the day of your arrival. Every surface was wiped and clean for your arrival as a guest checked out that morning. Can it be the tropical environment that was difficult for her allergies? It is quite different than an east coast winter.
I received your email on 1/1/2017 that the ice maker was not working and toilet was running on a bit and your departure was on 1/2/2017. The toilet could have been fixed in minutes of notification and the ice maker was simply jammed up, but fully functional. I had a repair man in to check the ice maker and he agreed. This is a common issue for ice makers, I simply jogged the ice and down it came.
The condo does not have AC, nor do we advertise that we have it. There are ceiling fans and free standing fans. Once the windows are opened, the trade winds and fans can keep it quite comfortable. The window coverings also help keep the heat load down. This holiday, the daytime temperatures were between 73-82 degrees and the night temperatures were down to about 62-66 degrees at night.
We always suggest to our vacation rental guests…call immediately if there are any problems. Our oceanfront environment is very harsh on all metals and we stand poised with our team to react same day, or the latest the following day, to any issues of concern. We stand by the great run of 5 star reviews for 303A on this web site and will let the reader make a judgement as to the quality of this particular one.
Most of our guests tell us how much they enjoy the "ocean symphony" or "ocean lullaby" and miss it when they get home. In fact, it is the very reason the rented ocean front! We have not been successful in “turning down” the volume of the ocean.
We hope the guest was able to enjoy the turtles, dolphins and whales from the lanai as well as the beauty of the very special Garden Island of Kauai.
Mahalo,
Patricia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TxT97
Dallas
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Awesome stay - great views and location”
Reviewed 15 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed four nights in lovely 303a and wish we could have stayed longer! First of all, Poipu Shores has an awesome location: right on the water and a 5 minute stroll to the beach. The unit is beautifully decorated, very clean and well laid out. Beds were comfy and our preschooler loved having her own room with a TV. The condo is thoughtfully stocked with almost anything you need, save for your own groceries (though spices and other essentials were there). We enjoyed the heated pool as it was still a little chilly in March. Though there is no A/C, this was not a big deal this time of year. Will definitely return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie R
Santa Barbara, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best Ocean Front Location in Poipu”
Reviewed 7 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We loved our stay at Poipu Shores 303A! In a quiet neighborhood within walking distance of the Hyatt Hotel, this older building is as close to the ocean as you can get. Perched right above the shoreline, it feels like you could touch the waves from the balcony. The condo is very well equipped with everything you might need. Tastefully decorated, updated and comfortable. It's not large, but the ocean views from the living/dining room and master bedroom make up for it.
The pool on the edge of the lava rock cliff is warm and inviting. Watching the giant sea turtles is entertaining. Only a 10 minute drive to the Poipu shops and restsurants and Poipu Beach. Nearby walking trails and golf course at the Hyatt. We would definitely stay here again when visiting Kauai's south shore.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ocean views and the sound of the waves.
Liked least: We were only here for 6 days.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Feb 2016
Aloha LR, Mahalo for taking the time to comment on your stay at this home. We work very hard to keep things upgraded and updated for our guests who come to enjoy the beautiful sunny south side of Kauai! We hope you will return and that your memories bring a smile to your face. Mahalo nui loa, Patricia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S
Warren, NJ
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful condo in Poipu Shores”
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Great location. Nice condo right on the water with stunning views. Nicely appointed two bedroom with living room and lanai.

We enjoyed this place for a week with our family. Views from lanai of the ocean and turtles. Pool was nice. Can see tons of stars at night. Just a short walk or drive to Poipu beach.


Concierge made good recommendations for snorkeling at Lakai beach.

Maintenance people were polite and prompt when we had one minor issue with the sink.

Only small issue was keeping cool at night with the windows closed due to the sound of the surf pounding the rocks below.


Would definitely consider returning again

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1628happy...
Burnaby, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Ocean/Beach Views”
Reviewed 29 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed recently with my best friend in this lovely condo for a "girls trip" for 5 days. It was very spacious and clean. I loved the views from the balcony and the master bedroom - it really is breathtaking. You could hear the ocean waves all day and all night and it was amazing. The condo has all your basic needs but we did find the beds too soft and the pillows a bit too big for our liking - we purchased pillows for our stay the very next day.
The location was perfect - central to everywhere and in walking distances to the beaches, shops and restaurants. It took us about 1 1/2 to get to Waimea Canyon on the west side and 1 1/2 to get to the north shore. 20 minutes to Lihue which was good as we needed to purchase groceries/gifts at Walmart and Costco.
I did ask the property manager, Patricia, to puchase some basic groceries (ie: eggs, milk, bread, yogurt and fruit) for us as we arrived late in the evening and wanted some breakfast food for the morning. There was a packet of complimentary coffee but if you are a dark/quality coffee drinker, you will need to likely bring some of your own or purchase some ground coffee at Starbucks in the nearby shopping centre.
Patricia was very easy to deal with and very informative - she gave some great advice as to where to go, eat, ect. It was very pleasant speaking with her but unfortunately, we did not get a chance to meet while there.
It was the best vacation I've had in a very long time and I can't wait to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Bedding
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Reviewed 28 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Colorado
Reviewed 25 April 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing