We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alihi Lani #4”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poipu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alihi Lani Poipu Beach Oceanfront Condominiums
Ranked #9 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Alihi Lani #4”
Reviewed 5 February 2010

I have sort of a mixed review on this place:

The condo itself is nice. I wouldn't say it is quite as nice as the pictures make it look...it doesn't miss by much, but it does miss a little in this regard. We stayed at another condo on the north shore (Pali Ke Kua #227) and that place was a good bit newer, cleaner, and nicer. The Pali Ke Kua condo actually surpassed the internet pictures...which is great when a place does that. I can't say the same for the Alihi Lani condo. So while it wasn't perfect, it was still a very nice condo. The condo showed a few signs of aging, but for the most part is pretty new and clean. It has a lot of nice practical items...plenty of beach gear, aloe vera, lotions, shampoos, etc. It's also got a very nice view of the ocean and the balcony is a very nice place to sit outside during the day. In addition, the condo unit is small, which is nice since you don't have a lot of people/noice around. And despite a small pool, I thought the pool was very nice and clean and found it an enjoyable place to lay out during the day. The beach is an easy walk down to the Sheraton and there are plenty of things you can walk to from this condo. One thing I did feel at this condo was that it felt a little cramped...the living room isn't too large and the sitting space is a little limited (something to consider if you are a family). In addition, I wouldn't say this place gives you a lot of privacy. The bedroom off the living room really doesn't have a door seperating it from the living area...just a pull curtain (which you can see and hear through)...something I would think would be a bit limiting with two couples.
As for the owner, again I would sort of give mixed reviews. She is efficient and gets back to you quickly. In addition, it does seem as if she tries to keep her condo up nicely. And she was very nice in offering a discount; however, I wouldn't say my dealings with her were as pleasant as the owner at the north shore condo. So while it wasn't a negative dealing with her, I wouldn't exactly say it was positive either (which I would say of others I have dealt with in the past).
So I guess to sum up the place, if you are looking for a nice condo in the south shore within a quiet complex this place would be a good option. But, I wouldn't expect the condo to "wow" you. Although many others who posted before this have felt differently on this...so everybody has their own opinion.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 24travel88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poipukapili54, owner / manager at Alihi Lani Poipu Beach Oceanfront Condominiums, responded to this review, 29 March 2010
I always appreciate feedback that helps us to improve. When I inquired from this reviewer what items were not as 'new, clean or nice' as the items in the N. Shore condo, these were the items:

1. shower curtains (not sure what that meant - but we do replace them regularly)
2. they loved our pebble place mats and said they were unique, but there were a 'few' pebbles missing
3. kitchen sink had a ring by the drain
4. they did not like that we kept condiments in the fridge for the next guests.

Their private comment also included 'that is all we came up with. the place is really very nice and we really enjoyed staying there.

With all the things in a condo that need attention, detailed cleaning, amenities we provide, etc. I was actually very pleased to see that the list was so tiny.

1. we do replace shower curtains regularly. We recently upgraded our already beautiful front master with tile on the wall adjacent to the shower - so a curtain is no longer needed.
2. new placemates were ordered to replace the 'few' missing pebbles
3. the sink may have had a ring, we will watch that doesn't happen again.
4. We leave condiments in our fridge for the subsequent guests and we get a 99.9% positive feedback on how much people appreciate not having to buy ketchup, mustard, etc. We do keep it cleaned out when things expire.

Thank you again for helping me to keep our place as close to 100% perfect as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    11
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
62
37
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2010

We stayed at Alihi Lani #4 over the Christmas holidays. We loved this place from the moment we stepped inside! Everything has been thought of....beautiful linens, fully equipped kitchen, beach toys, towels and accessories, DVD's, books, binoculars...the list goes on. The decor is lovely and really makes you feel at home. The lanai is like another room with comfortable furniture and the most amazing view of ocean and sea life. There is a great pool and barbeque area with unobstructed view and the complex is located in close proximity to delicious restaurants, fabulous beaches and great shopping. We would absolutely return to Alihi Lani #4!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank travellers1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2010

I’d highly recommend Alihi Lani, Unit 4. We (two couples with two babies) stayed in the unit for 11 nights in November 2009 and it was perfect for us.

The unit is fully equipped with a spacious, well-stocked kitchen; in-suite laundry; multiple televisions and a DVD collection; and two bedrooms and two full bathrooms. It was also recently renovated so it’s very nicely finished. The lanai was huge and beautiful with a daybed, two chairs and ottomans, and a dining table for four people. We spent a lot of time there watching the turtles, reading our books and watching the beautiful sunset every evening.

There are only six units in the complex so it was very quiet and private, and we almost always had the swimming pool and barbecue to ourselves.

The beach is only five minutes away as is the Sheraton where you can enjoy happy hour on their patio each night!

The owner, Cynthia, was very easy to deal with, and was also very helpful in terms of providing restaurant tips and clear directions to her apartment.

The only thing I think it important to note is that the master bedroom doesn’t have a door on it; rather, it’s cordoned off with a bamboo-like curtain. For us, this was a bit of an inconvenience as we’d hoped to put our baby to sleep there but we ended up squeezing her into the walk-in closet (don’t worry: we left the door open!) instead as it wouldn’t have been quiet enough for her in the bedroom (with us carrying on in the living room).

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AllisonVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poipukapili54, Owner / manager at Alihi Lani Poipu Beach Oceanfront Condominiums, responded to this review, 17 January 2010
Thank you so much for your wonderful review.

To clarify about the doors in the front master bedroom (there are 2 master suites), they are a woven, bamboo vertical blinds and while they are private, they are not solid. The doors we removed were louvered and were also not sound proof.

We removed these doors so that when you are in the bedroom and in bed, you have an unobstructed view of the amazing views of the ocean.

But we were careful to make sure there still is privacy keeping mind that many people would be traveling with others.

Also the living room is not directly connected to the master bedroom - there is a desk area just outside, but it is adjacent.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleveland, ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2009

My husband, 2 year old daughter and I spent a week in Kauai. We were only lucky enough to book the Alihi Lani #4 for the first three days of our trip, and we spent the remaining 4 days at one of the large resorts on the island. We had an amazing time during our trip and the only regret we had was not being able to spend the entire trip at this condo. This unit, and Cynthia the owner, cater to every need you might have, far more than the resort was able to, and you will be hard-pressed to find a better and closer view of the ocean than the stunning vista that is directly in front of you no matter where you are in the unit. It was a beautifully decorated accommodation, fully equipped to meet all needs, whether they be cooking / grilling out or spending a day at the beach snorkeling. You need not eat out every night or pack or rent anything for your trip to Kauai if you are staying with Cynthia at the Alihi Lani #4. Thank you for a wonderful stay, Cynthia, and we look forward to retuning soon!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nsvienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, WA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2009

This condo is beautifully decorated and well stocked for all your needs. It has one of the best views in Poipu with a totally unobstructed view of the ocean from the lanai. We had 4 adults (two couples) and the condo accommodated us very nicely with adequate room to share time together but yet have our own privacy. It is in a great location with easy access to shopping, starbucks, several beaches and various walking/hiking routes with great scenery. Just a great place for a vacation!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank GrandmaBellevue_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2009

Our family had a fabulous 10 days at Cynthia's condo in Paradise. The location was perfect with the lanai facing the ocean where we could watch the turtles playing at all times of day. The condo was beautiful, clean, and very well equiped. She even supplied all the pool toys, beach chairs, beach towels, and umbrellas. The 5 of us were very comfortable in the condo with plenty of room to move about. It is also a great location.... just steps from the Sheraton, a short drive to Poipu and Koloa, and very close to the best snorkeling beach on the south shore. We thoroughly enjoyed our time there and Cynthia was very easy to work with . We would go back there in a heartbeat!!! Also.... don't forget to pick the limes off the tree in the back. They are amazing!

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SueB10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2009

Newly decorated with flat screen TVs, stereo, solid surface counters, updated baths and A/C (needed for July). Even new front load Washer/Dryer.

2nd level patio overlooking pool and ocean - walk to best beach in Kauai. All beach goodies included. Sit on patio in the evenings and watch the kids swim while looking at the sunset and surfers across the street.

No complaints - Cynthia makes sure the stay is perfect. We didn't need anything, but if we did I'm sure it would have been made available.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlabamaTideFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poipukapili54, Owner/Manager at Alihi Lani Poipu Beach Oceanfront Condominiums, responded to this review, 26 July 2009
Thank you for the nice review. We appreciate it.

Cynthia
owner/manager
Alihi Lani #4
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poipu hotels
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Poipu Kapili
#7 of 29 in Poipu
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alihi Lani Poipu Beach Oceanfront Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alihi Lani Poipu Beach Oceanfront Condominiums

Property: Alihi Lani Poipu Beach Oceanfront Condominiums
Address: 2564 Hoonani Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9682
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a wonderful small 6 unit complex at Alihi Lani - directly next door to Poipu Kapili.MUST SEE spectacular ocean and sunset views from the 184 square foot covered lanai. Living room, dining room, kitchen, master bedroom, desk sitting area all have the same great view. See whales breaching a few hundred yards off the coastline from November to April. There are turtles year round in the cove directly in front. Just watch and listen to waves crashing on the beautiful rocky shore.The Ultimate Kauai Guidebook calls this small complex a 'Real Gem' and gives it their highest rating. Enjoy the views from the brand new (9/2011) ocean front pool and BBQ's. Enjoy our beautiful new tropical landscaping with extended pool deck and lounge chair area.The Sheraton beach is just next door where you can enjoy snorkeling and beach swimming. Take an evening walk to nearby shops and restaurants at Poipu Shopping Village.Everything you could imagine needing, we have supplied. We believe in pampering you on your vacation with luxurious sheets and towels. We supply a fully equipped kitchen, beach chairs, boogie boards, cooler, movies, large flat screen televisions and games. All furnishings are brand new as of July 01, 2007.We own and manage our own property and can give you the individual attention that makes the difference. This is a Hawaii vacation you will not soon forget. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alihi Lani Poipu Beach Oceanfront Condominiums Hotel Poipu
Alihi Lani Poipu Beach Oceanfront Condominiums Kauai, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing