We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alihi Lani Poipu Beach Oceanfront Condominiums
Nearby Hotels
US$582
US$502
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$576
US$537
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$754
US$457
Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$857
US$808
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort(Poipu)
US$926
US$754
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Kauai Inn(Lihue)(Great Value!)
US$249
US$226
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$218
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
144 results
Traveller rating
131
11
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
131
11
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboogie boardsbeach chairssea turtlessmall complexchilled mugslanai overlooking the oceanhawaiian music playinghighly recommend this condounit buildingkauai coffeegreat lanaiabsolute paradisewatching whalesthought of everythingbeautiful poolwatch the sunsetbbq area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 144 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2010

Just back from a wonderful 4 day trip to Kauai with friends to celebrate 2 65th
birthdays. My Texas pals Dan and JoBeth Eubanks chose the #4 unit at Alihi
Lani, and all 3 of us were pleased beyond all reasonable expectations with
the unit and its iconic location, just across the street from crashing surf, with
whales passing by no more than 250 yards from shore. No. 4 not only has an
amazing location, the amenities offered by this condo elevate it far beyond the
norm for luxury vacation rentals. Our congratulations and sincere gratitude
to owner Cynthis Haines for truly "thinking of everything." We'll be back!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whl45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poipukapili54, owner / manager at Alihi Lani Poipu Beach Oceanfront Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2010

Thank you so much for staying with us and hope you will be back soon. You were wonderful guests and are lucky that you found us. We look forward to having you again.

Cynthia
Owner/Manager - Alihi Lani #4

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2010

I have sort of a mixed review on this place:

The condo itself is nice. I wouldn't say it is quite as nice as the pictures make it look...it doesn't miss by much, but it does miss a little in this regard. We stayed at another condo on the north shore (Pali Ke Kua #227) and that place was a good bit newer, cleaner, and nicer. The Pali Ke Kua condo actually surpassed the internet pictures...which is great when a place does that. I can't say the same for the Alihi Lani condo. So while it wasn't perfect, it was still a very nice condo. The condo showed a few signs of aging, but for the most part is pretty new and clean. It has a lot of nice practical items...plenty of beach gear, aloe vera, lotions, shampoos, etc. It's also got a very nice view of the ocean and the balcony is a very nice place to sit outside during the day. In addition, the condo unit is small, which is nice since you don't have a lot of people/noice around. And despite a small pool, I thought the pool was very nice and clean and found it an enjoyable place to lay out during the day. The beach is an easy walk down to the Sheraton and there are plenty of things you can walk to from this condo. One thing I did feel at this condo was that it felt a little cramped...the living room isn't too large and the sitting space is a little limited (something to consider if you are a family). In addition, I wouldn't say this place gives you a lot of privacy. The bedroom off the living room really doesn't have a door seperating it from the living area...just a pull curtain (which you can see and hear through)...something I would think would be a bit limiting with two couples.
As for the owner, again I would sort of give mixed reviews. She is efficient and gets back to you quickly. In addition, it does seem as if she tries to keep her condo up nicely. And she was very nice in offering a discount; however, I wouldn't say my dealings with her were as pleasant as the owner at the north shore condo. So while it wasn't a negative dealing with her, I wouldn't exactly say it was positive either (which I would say of others I have dealt with in the past).
So I guess to sum up the place, if you are looking for a nice condo in the south shore within a quiet complex this place would be a good option. But, I wouldn't expect the condo to "wow" you. Although many others who posted before this have felt differently on this...so everybody has their own opinion.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 24travel88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poipukapili54, owner / manager at Alihi Lani Poipu Beach Oceanfront Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2010

I always appreciate feedback that helps us to improve. When I inquired from this reviewer what items were not as 'new, clean or nice' as the items in the N. Shore condo, these were the items:

1. shower curtains (not sure what that meant - but we do replace them regularly)
2. they loved our pebble place mats and said they were unique, but there were a 'few' pebbles missing
3. kitchen sink had a ring by the drain
4. they did not like that we kept condiments in the fridge for the next guests.

Their private comment also included 'that is all we came up with. the place is really very nice and we really enjoyed staying there.

With all the things in a condo that need attention, detailed cleaning, amenities we provide, etc. I was actually very pleased to see that the list was so tiny.

1. we do replace shower curtains regularly. We recently upgraded our already beautiful front master with tile on the wall adjacent to the shower - so a curtain is no longer needed.
2. new placemates were ordered to replace the 'few' missing pebbles
3. the sink may have had a ring, we will watch that doesn't happen again.
4. We leave condiments in our fridge for the subsequent guests and we get a 99.9% positive feedback on how much people appreciate not having to buy ketchup, mustard, etc. We do keep it cleaned out when things expire.

Thank you again for helping me to keep our place as close to 100% perfect as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2010

We stayed at Alihi Lani #4 over the Christmas holidays. We loved this place from the moment we stepped inside! Everything has been thought of....beautiful linens, fully equipped kitchen, beach toys, towels and accessories, DVD's, books, binoculars...the list goes on. The decor is lovely and really makes you feel at home. The lanai is like another room with comfortable furniture and the most amazing view of ocean and sea life. There is a great pool and barbeque area with unobstructed view and the complex is located in close proximity to delicious restaurants, fabulous beaches and great shopping. We would absolutely return to Alihi Lani #4!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank travellers1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2010

I’d highly recommend Alihi Lani, Unit 4. We (two couples with two babies) stayed in the unit for 11 nights in November 2009 and it was perfect for us.

The unit is fully equipped with a spacious, well-stocked kitchen; in-suite laundry; multiple televisions and a DVD collection; and two bedrooms and two full bathrooms. It was also recently renovated so it’s very nicely finished. The lanai was huge and beautiful with a daybed, two chairs and ottomans, and a dining table for four people. We spent a lot of time there watching the turtles, reading our books and watching the beautiful sunset every evening.

There are only six units in the complex so it was very quiet and private, and we almost always had the swimming pool and barbecue to ourselves.

The beach is only five minutes away as is the Sheraton where you can enjoy happy hour on their patio each night!

The owner, Cynthia, was very easy to deal with, and was also very helpful in terms of providing restaurant tips and clear directions to her apartment.

The only thing I think it important to note is that the master bedroom doesn’t have a door on it; rather, it’s cordoned off with a bamboo-like curtain. For us, this was a bit of an inconvenience as we’d hoped to put our baby to sleep there but we ended up squeezing her into the walk-in closet (don’t worry: we left the door open!) instead as it wouldn’t have been quiet enough for her in the bedroom (with us carrying on in the living room).

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AllisonVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poipukapili54, Owner / manager at Alihi Lani Poipu Beach Oceanfront Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2010

Thank you so much for your wonderful review.

To clarify about the doors in the front master bedroom (there are 2 master suites), they are a woven, bamboo vertical blinds and while they are private, they are not solid. The doors we removed were louvered and were also not sound proof.

We removed these doors so that when you are in the bedroom and in bed, you have an unobstructed view of the amazing views of the ocean.

But we were careful to make sure there still is privacy keeping mind that many people would be traveling with others.

Also the living room is not directly connected to the master bedroom - there is a desk area just outside, but it is adjacent.

Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2009

My husband, 2 year old daughter and I spent a week in Kauai. We were only lucky enough to book the Alihi Lani #4 for the first three days of our trip, and we spent the remaining 4 days at one of the large resorts on the island. We had an amazing time during our trip and the only regret we had was not being able to spend the entire trip at this condo. This unit, and Cynthia the owner, cater to every need you might have, far more than the resort was able to, and you will be hard-pressed to find a better and closer view of the ocean than the stunning vista that is directly in front of you no matter where you are in the unit. It was a beautifully decorated accommodation, fully equipped to meet all needs, whether they be cooking / grilling out or spending a day at the beach snorkeling. You need not eat out every night or pack or rent anything for your trip to Kauai if you are staying with Cynthia at the Alihi Lani #4. Thank you for a wonderful stay, Cynthia, and we look forward to retuning soon!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nsvienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews