We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy”
Review of RumFire

RumFire
Reserve with OpenTable
RumFire is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 38 Restaurants in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: RumFire Poipu Beach is Kauai's oceanfront hot spot, boasting a magnificent setting at Sheraton Kauai Resort on the island's south shore. RumFire's exquisite dining room is the perfect choice for a memorable dinner, artfully blending locally sourced cuisine with global influences. The broad, open-spaced restaurant and lounge is flooded with natural lighting from floor-to-ceiling windows, which also provide incomparable views of the Pacific Ocean and Kauai's stunning sunsets.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Food and service was great both times we ate there. Wasn't very keen on the popcorn/party mix to snack on at the beginning- how about some bread instead?

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SMcBeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    216
    118
    58
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
133 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Not a treat”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

It's so convenient to eat at Rum Fire if you're staying at the Sheraton, but you might try to resist the temptation. At sunset the hostess tried to sit us facing east and when we said we'd like to see the setting sun, the she argued that it was the better view facing away from the sun... Maybe some are persuaded by that argument, but we persisted and got front row seats. The service was efficient if not brusque, and when you're seated in the large booths facing the water the servers can't see when you need something. All of the food was over-seasoned and salty.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ReneeRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A nice surprise.”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This was the big surprise at this resort. I'm a foodie and expected nothing close to this on Kauai. The staff were attentive and friendly (very different than the rest of the resort, maybe because they depend on tips). The drinks were very good. I had the Brussels sprout appetizer which was very tasty and the ahi tuna entree which was done perfectly. My partner had the mushroom ravioli which had a real nice sauce with it. My one peeve is they charged two dollars for bread. At this price point that's stingy, Sheraton. The restaurant interior was nicely done, miles ahead of the rest of the resort, and had nice views of the ocean. So if you're on that side of the island go for it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JOHOSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everett, WA
Level Contributor
185 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Perfect Dinner with a view”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This is a beautiful restaurant with a great view. The food is outstanding. I got the Pork Chop with fingerling potatoes and veggies. Cooked perfectly and delicious. My husband had the catch of the day and he loved it. Got the shrimp lumpia that is a must have. For dessert we got the flourless chocolate sea salt cake with raspberry coulis and vanilla caramel ice cream, Cognac and Cafe Koloa, all totally wonderful. Excellent service to go along with it all.

Highly recommended for a lovely evening.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SGEverettWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
145 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Worth skipping the local restaurants and trying this place on the Sheraton property.”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We don't typically eat on restaurant properties we stay at as we find them not up to the quality of those off the property. Not so with Rum Fire. It is only about two years old but it is easily in the top 5 on the island. My wife and I split a salad and had a different fish dish. Everything is ala carte, so it is a bit pricey but
everything else screams fabulous.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gregory L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to RumFire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing