We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great ocean views.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of RumFire

RumFire
Ranked #15 of 37 Restaurants in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: RumFire Poipu Beach is Kauai's oceanfront hot spot, boasting a magnificent setting at Sheraton Kauai Resort on the island's south shore. RumFire's exquisite dining room is the perfect choice for a memorable dinner, artfully blending locally sourced cuisine with global influences. The broad, open-spaced restaurant and lounge is flooded with natural lighting from floor-to-ceiling windows, which also provide incomparable views of the Pacific Ocean and Kauai's stunning sunsets.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“great ocean views.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Lovely restaurant with beautiful ocean views. We had a party of 8. The first night the service was very good and the food was excellent. Our group decided to go back a second time. Service was not as good but the food was outstanding.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank r h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    214
    117
    58
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Service Needs to Improve”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We visited RumFire at the recommendation of some of the locals. When we arrived around 8:30ish there was no hostess at the podium. We proceeded into the restaurant and things were very lively. There was a live band and the place was packed. We managed to find an available table that needed to be wiped down. We sat for a good 10 minutes before anyone came over and when she did we had to ask her to wipe down the table. We pressed thru and tried to enjoy the evening. We ordered a round of drinks and appetizers, which were average. Just an average experience. Would I return? I would give it another chance...

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank CreolePeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan S, Manager at RumFire, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Aloha CreoPeach,

Thank you so much for the feedback on your recent visit. It looks like you may have visited the Rumfire on Waikiki Beach based on the pictures you uploaded. This tripadvisor page is for the Rumfire located on the island of Kauai. All feedback is valuable and we thank you for sharing

Mahalo
Ivan Salazar
Restaurant & Bar Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prairieville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

This was a great restaurant (amazing, after the terrible luau at the Sheraton the night before). Nice view, and cool blue lighting after the sun goes down. The food was impressive. On the downside, the service was only fair, and it was expensive.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TprDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodside, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Silly name for a really good dining spot.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Not sure what "Rumfire" is supposed to mean, but we enjoyed the beautiful beach front setting for our sunset dinner. Good food, a bit pricey, good service.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Slow service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

The entrees were good and that's the only reason I didn't give it one star. Just me and my wife on our honeymoon and the dinner took over 2 hours. Also, the waitress gave the table next to us who were on their 2 year anniversary a free dessert and didn't offer us anything for being on our honeymoon. Not expected, but annoying when you see a table next to you get something. For a $12 lobster bisque, I would expect some lobster meat. There was none and looked like it came from a Campbell's soup can. Also, the restaurant is right next to where a wedding was going on so we got to hear loud bass during the last half hour of our marathon meal. I would not recommend this place and wouldn't go back. Worst $145 meal I've ever had in my life. I get better service at TGIFridays for a third of the price.

Helpful?
1 Thank JiggaWhat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed RumFire also viewed

 

Been to RumFire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing