We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just got home from first Kauai experience at Waiohai Resort - 5star all the way.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Family had 3 condos for almost 2 weeks. Would go back tomorrow. GREAT Resort experience. On the beach, easy access to highway, shopping and restaurants. Amazing number of resort activities available. Situated well to get to other Kauai attractions like SeaBreeze tours and ESPECIALLY the Smith Family Luau. Staff a 5+ star experience.

Room Tip: Hale #1was GREAT. Best advice is to pay for upgraded Maid Service. It's your vacation for cryi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for your five-star TripAdvisor review, David! We are thrilled to hear your family enjoyed the spacious villas and resort activities. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to host your family again at Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,066)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

468 - 474 of 1,066 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

We are owners at the WAIOHAI and love coming each year. Unfortunately they are in desperate need of room renovations. They promised it five years ago and say now it will be this fall, we will see. They used to give everyone a coupon for a complimentary drink at their Honu bar but have stopped that. We have seen many cut backs this year.

But over all the resort is incredible, perfect location, great pools and beach. Kauai is the most beautiful of all the islands.

Room Tip: We have an ocean view room as owners. Used to love Hale 8, but this time they put us in Hale 2 on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SGEverettWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review of Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club! As an owner, we take your feedback seriously and appreciate your comments. We are excited to confirm interior villa renovations will begin August 30th with a great new look on the way. We look forward to your next visit and thank you for being a part of the Marriott Vacation Club family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Often times when I go on vacation I feel like I have to go...go...go and explore and learn all that the place has to offer, and really don't end up spending much time at the hotel. However, going to Kauai and staying at this resort, couldn't be more opposite. I truly feel it has everything I need and I feel like I NEVER have to leave. While either sitting poolside or beachside it is all right there. I enjoy being able to go and get my own food and cooking inside the room overlooking the ocean. There isn't ever a need to go out when you have a view like we had last time...no restaurant could beat our view! Staff is friendly and place is always very clean. Poipu is by far the sunniest part of the island and if you do need to do some exploring everything is an easy car ride away. I enjoy coming here with my family since it truly is a relaxation trip!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissAtalanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Aloha! We are thrilled to hear you had a relaxing vacation with us in Hawaii! Thank you for your TripAdvisor review and please visit us again at Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

So, having said that - after some haggle and frustration over our definition of our original view and the managements definition of that view - we were upgraded to a fantastic view. I am certain it could not have been better. I would suggest renter beware, however, we spoke with many people who had the disadvantage of the parking lot or wood view with nary a peek of the water. Although we felt very frustrated by the lack of customer service upon our arrival, that aspect was turned around by the upgrade. Our day of departure we chose to do the time share pitch and, even though we had two different last names staying at the condo, only one couple was allowed to go - no skin off my back but pretty odd. Nonetheless, the bigger issue was they did the pitch right at check out so getting our check out extended was not without feeling like we were begging. We understand that they offer to keep your luggage and let you clean up in the workout facility but, just wasn't really what we had in mind. So, condo was spacious - huge bathroom on one side and tub/sink actually sort of in the bedroom (just like the picture) and the toilet and shower behind closed doors in the other. But for the fact that we were never given enough bath towels and the beach towels were not regularly changed out, we were very pleased with the condo and the view and that wonderful patio to take it all in day or night! With that kind of view, you feel like you are getting a piece of paradise. Mattresses, pillows and sheets were exceptional as long as you were not in the sofa bed - which to be kind, were lacking at best. Fortunately they did not have to be shared - ie; only one person. Kitchens were adequately stocked - not any wow there but they were adequate and the pack n sack at the front is competitive with the in-town grocers so makes much more sense to shop there. Staff was wonderful! Wait for "happy hour" to buy any of your smoothies etc - even then, sort of chilling prices but...............The pools are marvelous and allow adults without children to be away from that very same noise and still have access to the outdoor bar service. There are also multiple hot tub options. The exercise facility was nothing to write home about but when you have that beauty to run in, why be holed up in a room. We were startled to be charged for parking and that the local beach connects to the hotel "beach" - maybe it is all local but that is not the impression we had. Nonetheless, the locals seem to be able to easily come and go on that beach and the property and somehow we felt there should be more exclusivity than that. We will return to Kauai - as this was a return trip. Will probably try the Marriott in Lihue which seems to not be as "shared".

Room Tip: If it isn't an ocean view, don't even think about it.................I promise you that you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Belzob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Aloha! Thank you for visiting Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club. Our team is happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your feedback on areas of improvement. Our expectation for our front desk associates is to provide exceptional service to our guests. We apologize if this was not the case and will share your feedback with the appropriate managers. Thank you again for visiting and we hope to see you again in Hawaii!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Perfect location resort on this beautiful south shore location. We had only stayed in Princeville before but definitely will revisit this resort. The staff was very accommodating to all of our needs and provided very personal feel with amenities and interactions. The immaculate grounds and secluded beaches were perfect backdrop for entire party from whale watching to private resort surf lessons and amazing scenery for our nieces senior trip photos.

Room Tip: Ground floor in main building adjacent to the timeshare office as lots of grAss areas and amazing su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Denise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

We are happy to be your slice of paradise, Denise! Thank you for your great TripAdvisor review and we hope to see you again soon at Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

What a great location for the family vacation. Pools are great, family activities (like cane fishing) were fun for all....the hotel is RIGHT ON THE BEACH!!! Easy walk to some excellent beaches and points of interest. Poipu is great for sunny days.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mybloodhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

It is great to hear your family had an excellent stay! Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor and we hope to see you again soon at Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

This Marriott property in Poipu is a great family destination. Great pools, cabana bar (esp jack the bartender ), access to some of the best snorkeling directly in front of condos. Definitely take Troy's fitness classes. My daughter and I took his Core class and also aqua fitness. He is absolutely the best! Loads of fun and a very entertaining & educated instructor. The rooms here are nice; ours had ocean view. Even the garden view rooms would be fine also. No restaurant on site but you can get poolside burgers/salads/sandwiches. One big warning: DO NOT RENT from the independent snorkel/board rental company that has a small hut by the bar. They irresponsibly and rudely rent equipment to vacationers with NO warning about tides or that you should not go out without fins on certain days. Unsuspecting tourists do not always know about these things. My husband and I had to be rescued by lifeguards on a Seadoo b/c we ended up being slammed against the jagged rocks. The locals (including lifeguard) were shocked that any reputable company would rent to us on that day without fins. You end up bloody and bruised when this happens. We are lucky to be alive. Local woman said people have died there. When I relayed this info to surf rental hut she wanted to argue with me that "most people" don't end up being dragged by the tide to that area. Really??? I notified Zack, manager at Marriott and he was most apologetic and is taking action to get the word to management of the hut. The hut merely rents space from Marriott and is not up to marriott standards so go with a more reputable company. This marriott is superior to the one more inland in our opinion. We will return!

Stayed: May 2014
3  Thank rzbk81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your five-star TripAdvisor review! We appreciate your feedback and apologize for your experience renting snorkel equipment. Please know, your comments will be shared with the appropriate leadership as we continually evaluate our third party offerings. Thank you again for your review and we hope you will return soon to see us again in beautiful Hawaii!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,377 reviews
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club

Address: 2249 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9534
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Poipu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#4 Business Hotel in Poipu
Price Range: £215 - £624 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Waiohai Beach Club Hotel Poipu
Marriotts Waiohai Beach Hotel
Marriott Vacation Club Poipu
Marriott Poipu
Poipu Marriott
Marriotts Waiohai Beach Club
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club Kauai/Poipu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing