We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed here with another family sharing a 2 room villa. Each family had enough space and it worked out great withe kids (3 total)!
When we first arrived (on a Friday) it was a bit crowded at the pool. As the week went on it definitely thinned out!
We took advantage of some of the activities the property offered (the kids did bamboo fishing 2x's & my friend & I did beach boot camp) everyone was very pleased!
Happy hour prices are great & a nice treat by the pool.
The staff were all friendly. You need to ask for towels cause they only clean the room 1x during the week!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank RubyRoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,042)
There are newer reviews for Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

435 - 441 of 1,042 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed here June 2014--It was beautiful. The grounds are beautiful with all the plants placed perfectly. The grills are easily accessible and great for food. The beach was perfect and actually the best snorkeling we had the whole trip was right out in front of the hotel. Our family surfed just to the right of the hotel. They had everything we wanted. Room was great! Loved it and will come again! We were there with our kids 9-16 and our parents. Every one had a fantastic time! Big sea turtles came up to the beach to bathe in the sun almost every day.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank H-Energy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Aloha and thank you for your five-star review! We appreciate your kind words and look forward to your next stay at Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We have been Marriott Waiohai owners since pre-construction and return almost every year. On this last trip the property manager showed us the renovations that will be done this fall (to be completed by December 2014). This is welcomed, since the two bedroom condos are getting a little worn, but are still very nice. Staff members go out of their way to make this an exceptional resort. We were lucky enough to be at the resort on King Kamehameha day and the commemorative ceremony performed by the staff in full costume was impressive. We had minor maintenance issues which were fixed in minutes. The pool is great for kids and the view from the Honu pool side bar and grill is exceptional …great happy hour too starting at 11am! The Marriott Waiohai Poipu location is outstanding…next to a state park with a great beach, snorkeling, water sports, etc. The resident Monk Seal seems to always make an appearance every time we visit. The Poipu area also has plenty of great local restaurants at all expense levels and local shopping too. We particularly liked the Wednesday “gourmet” farmer’s market at the Kukui’ula shopping center.

Room Tip: For oceanview, request a room on the 3rd or 4th floor...rooms on the first or second floors may not...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BigOrangeCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for your great TripAdvisor review and photos! We are happy to hear your family has enjoyed the resort for many years and loves to return each year. Thank you for being a part of the Marriott Vacation Club family and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

There is so much to like about this property, but renters should beware of several key things if you are booking via Marriott:

1) We were told owners have precedence for everything. As a result, our unit faces a green fence. Many overlook parking lots. In spite of numerous attempts to upgrade to any kind of internal view, we we're give canned response after canned response by an indifferent staff that clearly had the owner speech well rehearsed. We even asked if we could pay the difference for an upgraded room (shown as available on the website) and we're told "no, but don't worry, the weather will be great".

2) Beds in our unit were old, and low quality.

3) Attempting late checkout was refused, but for an option to pay $600+ for a full night. We were told to go to the sales center. They may be able to help. While I appreciate the need to sell, this was particularly insulting.

4) Drain would not drain.

5) Chickens and roosters are all over island. They are charming for the most part. But if you have one of the outer facing units, like we do, expect a very constant and early morning cock a doodle do wake up call.

Those things said, the units are spacious. The internal property is absolutely stunning. The beach is even more dramatic. The pool is unreal. And the location is great for accessing all Kauai has to offer. All that said, We wouldn't return without guarantee of an internal view. We would invest our large investment elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jeff Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Aloha Jeff. Thank you for your TripAdvisor review of Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club. We are sorry to hear the view you wanted was not available during your stay. As a Vacation Club resort, owners do receive priority when it comes to view requests. However, the front desk should still provide excellent service and make every effort to honor your requests. We would like to learn more about your experience and invite you to contact our Customer Care team at customer.care@vacationclub.com or by calling 800-860-9384. Thank you again for your review and for staying with us in Hawaii.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This location was the best on the island, the service was fabulous, the rooms were great!
The grounds were fun, nice and well maintained. The kids had LOTS to do, with daily activities. Great eating areas with BBQ's.
Would stay here again and again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessica s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for the five-star review, Jessica! We appreciate your kind words and are happy the whole family had a great stay. We look forward to hosting your family again at Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

We vacationed in Kauai for the first time, in June, with our family of 6, and stayed at the Waiohai Beach Club. It was a good resort with everything we needed to make our weeklong stay comfortable.

Check-in : went smoothly. We arrived approx 215pm, of course the room wasn't ready yet. But we were able to check our luggage as well as perishable foods with the Bellhop. We used the Exercise facility Restroom/lockers to change into swimwear so we could immediately enjoy the pool and Poipu Beach. Room was ready at 4pm on the dot.

Room/Amenities : we had a 2 bedroom suite, located in Hale 2, room 2302. There's a full kitchen as well as washer/dryer. The beds were comfortable and adequate for a full night's sleep after long tour days. Beach towels are plentiful and can be replaced easily at the front desk or even by phone ( Thanks Jose!), unlike other resorts such as Aruba's MSC. Note, we cooked dinner twice, with adequate cookware and service/flatware. The dishwasher didn't seem to work well, and the dryer made a loud screeching sound while running. Only 2 complaints about the room.
About the view- we booked/used MVC points for an Ocean View. 2302 had a fairly decent view of the ocean from the balcony, having to look over the pool and Honu Bar to see it. Albeit not as good a view as Hale 1 or 8, but ok. I suspect Hale 1&8 are reserved for Owners only.

Pool/Restaurant : we were so busy sightseeing we only used the pool on the first and last day. It is large and good for playing with the kids. It can get crowded and difficult to find poolside chaise loungers on Saturday afternoons. The adjacent Poipu Beach Park is a close stroll and is a nice beach, described in separate reviews on TripAdvisor.
We dined at the resort's only restaurant, the Honu Bar, on the first night. Food was decent but overpriced. Dinner for family of 6 (4adults/2chdren) was approx $112.

Activities : only experienced one activity on the last day, cupcake decorating. Can't really speak to any of the other activities.

Location : in Poipu, right on Poipu Beach. Poipu Village shopping is within walking distance. It has a Whalers General store, Starbucks, Puka Dog, Tropical Burger, and some retail stores. The resort is five minutes from Koloa Town, approx 15-20 min from Lihue, and about an hour to Kileaua/Princeville North Shore.

Check-out : seamless, though early at 1000am. If you have a late flight like we did, participate in the Linger Longer program. Allows you to stay on resort and use facilities until ready to leave in the evening.

Overall I would recommend this resort while in Kauai. It's good for families and people who like to cook and/or self-sufficient while on vacation. Location is good. The staff are really friendly and should be commended. However, the rooms are showing some wear and are due for an upgrade/remodel soon in my opinion.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Aloha Christopher! Thank you for visiting us at Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club! We are pleased to read your five-star review about your stay. It certainly sounds like your family enjoyed their vacation in Hawaii! Thank you for sharing your experience and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

So let me start off by saying we've been staying at this resort since 2005 and have had nothing but a spectacular time. Poipu has been noted as one of the best beaches in the world and it lives up to the title. For those people looking for exclusivity when it comes to the beaches on any Hawaiian island... get over your elitist attitude! If you took a moment to learn about the people/culture you would have discovered that there are no private beaches. As per the law the beaches are open to the public (which it should be)! You just can't access the beach via private property for example the Waiohai. That being said, this property is always perfectly manicured, the staff is always helpful and friendly no matter what time of day or night. Of course if you follow the golden rule and treat others the way you like to be treated that's the response you will get. Everyone we passed whether it be maintenance,market staff or reception desk all greeted us with an aloha and a huge smile! Even the staff behind the bar (Captain Jack, Nate & Tony) remember us when we show up. Of course every once in a while there will be a minor maintenance issue (ex.shutters stuck on track) but they always send someone up to take care of it as soon as possible. It's always been clean and if we weren't happy we would be moved. Our room is usually a garden view but 90% of the time we have a view of garden and ocean. We have had the option to go to other locations and stayed in Ko Olina in Oahu once which was beautiful but we prefer Kauai and the serenity here. Adults with or without kids can enjoy the resort since it's well spaced and the beach is a stroll away. There are lots of resort activities to participate in. The wildlife is pretty much a guarantee whether it be turtles (don't touch them cause it's illegal), seals getting some sun, fish everywhere near the sandbar or whales spouting. Shopping and restaurants are within walking distance and there are luaus, kayaking, Napali coast and much more we haven't done yet but we'll be back and be staying at the Waiohi. For those of you that get the chance to stay here enjoy all that it has to offer and take lots of photos for when you return home.

Room Tip: If you don't have kids & want peace and quiet ask for a room in Hale 5 or 6 which is a littl...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jamie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Aloha and thank you for the great TripAdvisor review, Jamie! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the aloha spirit while visiting the resort over the years. Our team looks forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club

Address: 2249 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9534
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Poipu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#4 Business Hotel in Poipu
Price Range: £209 - £583 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Waiohai Beach Club Hotel Poipu
Marriotts Waiohai Beach Hotel
Marriott Vacation Club Poipu
Marriott Poipu
Poipu Marriott
Marriotts Waiohai Beach Club
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club Kauai/Poipu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing