We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does not meet expectations!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The beach here is beautiful. The Marriott grounds are also beautiful. We are enjoying the great snorkeling that is walking distance. However this "resort" is more like a condo than a resort. The ONLY amenities here are a beach front bar/grill and the marketplace store. There are no other "resort" type amenities you would want/expect at a Marriott Vacation club. I will never come back to this Marriott again. The Kauai Marriott resort in Lihue is MUCH better. The pools here are small. As my son stated; "they could have built larger pools instead of all this wasted grass to mow". With small pools you have over crowded pools. The beach area is small as well and they seem to not have enough loungers. If you don't go out early in the morning to claim a chair you wont have one by mid morning. They also do not have lounge areas with umbrellas. I love to be on the beach but I want the shade! We have been to Marriott Lihue, Marriott Ko'olina, Marriott St. Kitts and Marriott Williamsburg.

If you are looking for an apartment complex with beach front access, pools and a small bar & grill this is the place for you.

If you are looking for a vacation resort with lots of amenities, DON'T book here!

Room Tip: It does not matter. I asked for a high floor, I got the first floor. I asked to be AWAY from the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FamilyWalkabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for visiting Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club! While we are happy you enjoyed the beautiful beach and grounds, we apologize for not meeting your expectations when it came to resort offerings. As a Marriott Vacation Club resort, we offer a unique vacation experience with luxury villas for the entire family to enjoy. The resort amenties do vary from what you would find at a full-service resort. Thank you again for visiting and we hope to see you again at one of the many Marriott resorts on your next vacation in Hawaii!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,071)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

455 - 461 of 1,071 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

We took our whole family there in June, for 8 nights. It took a gazillion points, but we had three two-bedroom units, each close to the others, close to the parking lot and close to the cluster of barbecue facilities. Our four grandchildren caught fish (catch and release) in the pond right outside our door, we all swam in the several pools available, and all the young adventurers swam and snorkeled in the ocean off Poipu Beach. The beachside bar and grill served excellent lunches with consistently prompt, friendly service.

The only downside at Waiohai is the absence of a full-service restaurant that offers breakfast and dinner, but there are many nearby alternatives in the Poipu Shopping Village, the Kokui'Ula Shopping Center and in the town of Koloa.

Room Tip: There's really only one oceanfront building -- I think it's #1 -- but even the building fart...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank palshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This is the third Marriott property we have visited so our expectations were quite high after staying in St. Kitts and St. Thomas. The unit is up to Marriott standards but the view is so very disappointing. We are in unit 7103 with a parking lot view. Looking out our windows and doors one would never guess we were in Hawaii. We have a nice patio and furniture but we will never sit out there since the view is of parked cars. As we came all the way from Florida we certainly didn't want to spend a vacation in Hawaii with no view. The unit was booked as an Interval Getaway so this probably had an impact on the room assigned but still....disappointing.
As it is July in Hawaii we knew to expect crowds, but were surprised the resort itself has a crowded feel. the three pools are small and there are not enough chairs put out for the full resort. And the beach itself is not huge or maybe just overloaded for the number of visitors. Again probably spoiled because of Marriotts in St. thomas and St. kitts but the trip advisor reviews set my expectations much higher then they should have been.
The poipu area itself is a great area with lots of restaurants and shops. If you do book at this resort just don't get your heart set on any sort of view.

Room Tip: If you get a parking lot view make sure you are not on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jptravels2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Aloha and thank you for visiting us at Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club. We are sorry the resort did not meet your expectations on your recent visit due to the view and crowded feel around the pool. While we try our best to honor view requests, unfortunately it is not always possible due to the resort occupancy. Your feedback will be shared with the resort management team and we thank you for your comments. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Hawaii so we may truly exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My wife had been planning this trip for 4 months. She did all the research. Kaua'i was the third island we'd visited on our 4 week trip. The kids were looking forward to going here because it's where Lilo & Stitch took place. I'm so glad my wife chose the Marriott Waiohai. It's family-friendly compared to some of the other resorts.

The room was very spacious with a full kitchen, dining and living room, two bedrooms (the master with a king-size bed and the other with a queen) each with a full bathroom, and a washer and dryer.

There were several pools around the resort, a couple of them meant for relaxation, so no horse-play there. The others were meant for family fun. There are several gas grills available for those families that want to barbecue. The beach itself is beautiful, allowing surfing for both novice and advanced surfers, as well as snorkeling and boogie boarding. If you keep walking past the sandbar you'll come to a portion of the beach where you'll see numerous sea turtles. We were also lucky enough to see a 300-lb. monk seal relaxing on the rocks after an all-night eating binge.

We loved the other activities that were offered on a daily basis. Fishing was extremely fun, especially for the four of us considering we don't fish. They also offered bingo, koi fishing, daily exercises, etc. One extremely fun day was the Outdoor Summer Bash, for the kids, where they had a huge inflatable water slide, a dance contest, watermelon eating contest, and a relay race. My son didn't want to go to this but he ended up having the time of his life and made a few friends along the way. They also provided lunch for all the kids.

There are a few workers we'd like to acknowledge for their hospitality and friendship. We want to say 'mahalo' to Vic at the front desk, Tyrel for taking care of our luggage, and Delia, Tyler, and Paige who led the activities. Delia, you're bubbly and outgoing personality makes you the perfect fit to lead the fun and games! And Vic, the moment we checked in, you made us feel at home. You all made our stay very special and you exude the spirit of aloha! This was the fifth hotel we stayed at during our vacation and it's because of all of you that we want to come back. Thank you for making us a part of your ohana!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Eejay30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We just spent five nights at the Waiohai Beach Club. The grounds were absolutely beautiful and we loved the location on Poipu Beach. We found our two bedroom condo somewhat dated but it did not deter us from enjoying our visit to Kauai. We enjoyed wonderful hikes each morning and great days snorkeling right on the beach in front of the Beach Club. We also enjoyed the relaxation pool each afternoon as it was right in front of our building (Hale 7). We also enjoyed several restaurants in the Poipu Beach area. We ate at Merriman's, Brenneke's, and Keoki's Paradise. We drove through Waimea Canyon and also loved our helicopter tour of the island with Jack Harters.

We did have one unfortunate experience. On our last night there, the fire alarm went off in our building at 11:40 pm. It woke us all up and we quickly exited the building. We stood in front of the building for quite a while with other guests while other guests just stood out on their balconies. No one from the Marriott showed up and finally a guest went over to report it to the front desk. We were told to ignore it and go back into the building. We found it odd that it was handled this way and feel that there should be a better emergency plan in place in case of a real emergency. The staff at the front desk should know when a fire alarm goes off and should have been there investigating the incident and informing guests when they could return to their rooms.

Room Tip: We liked the buildings Hale 7 or 8 because they are close to the beach and the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank spedsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Aloha and thank you for visiting Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club! Our team is glad your family enjoyed their vacation with us in Hawaii. We also appreciate your feedback regarding the fire alarm and apologize more communication was not provided from the front desk. Please know, we will follow up on this and appreciate you bringing it to our attention. We hope to see you again on your next vacation in Hawaii!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Just finished a 5-night stay here. While checking in we specifically asked for a room that did not have a parking lot view and what did we get-a room overlooking the parking lot. We immediately knew we would not enjoy our stay and asked for another room. They were able to accommodate this request with a handicap accessible room which was fine with us as it overlooked the beautiful grounds. Why she couldn't just accommodate our initial request I do not understand since they had availability. It's obvious they cater to the owners which is fine, but why have any rooms overlooking a parking lot is beyond me. There is no maid service which is fine but they should provide a map or directions on where to empty your trash since most people don't know & all the common area cans fill up quickly. Later to learn they are on the basement level. Our dishwasher also did not work so we had to wash everything by hand-just an inconvenience. The property is nice and in an awesome location. Personally, we think it's just too big of a resort that caters to their owners. A lot of guests or owners would claim seats poolside with belongings that sat empty all day-not really Aloha spirit! The resort could put up some signage or something to encourage guests not to do so as for those truly using the pool could not get seating. Market items were overpriced and concierge seemed bored with explaining activities. Just booked on our own. Again, location is great but we will probably opt for a smaller resort next time. The KOA Kea next door looks ideal.

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank Jsprajc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for visiting Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club! While we are happy you enjoyed the resort's location, our team apologizes for the concerns you had about your stay. Marriott Vacation Club owners do have preference on view requests as they have a deeded interest in the resort. We understand your concern and work hard to accommodate all view requests when possible. Your signage suggestions are greatly appreciated and will be shared with the resort leadership team. Thank you again for your feedback and for visiting us in beautiful Hawaii!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed with our neighbors the last weekend of April into May 2014, and we're glad that we were there for the May Day (Lei Day) celebration--even made our own leis! We enjoyed the beautiful locale and the great weather; great snorkeling was right off the sandy beach.

Troy Allen was the best thing that happened to Waiohai Beach Club. His energy was all around and he shared it with everyone who crossed his path--from the initial island informational meeting to water aerobics, and those whose marriages he blessed. He's a jack of all trades!!!

Unit was very clean, surroundings were kept incredibly clean and the grills were meticulous! We purchased all our food and beverages at Costco near the Lihue Airport on our way in and picked up incidentals at the grocery store up the road. Can't wait to go back--Waiohai was our paradise on Earth!!!

Room Tip: We are so glad we had a room with an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Pegasus7755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,395 reviews
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club

Address: 2249 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9534
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Poipu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#4 Business Hotel in Poipu
Price Range: £269 - £634 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Waiohai Beach Club Hotel Poipu
Marriotts Waiohai Beach Hotel
Marriott Vacation Club Poipu
Marriott Poipu
Poipu Marriott
Marriotts Waiohai Beach Club
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club Kauai/Poipu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing