We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,157)
Filter reviews
1,157 results
Traveller rating
751
248
82
38
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
751
248
82
38
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honu bar island view parking lot vacation club underground parking relaxation pool marriott owners full kitchen marriott timeshare time share ko olina kids activities stayed at the marriott great beach pools and hot tubs living room family vacation
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,157 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2018

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit at the Marriott. The resort is gorgeous and gives you that Hawaiian feeling. The service is outstanding. We were surprised that we went to many beaches on the island and the best one was the one straight out front of the Marriott for snorkeling, swimming and surfing. You really did not have to leave the resort for much. The rooms are spacious and lovely. We will be staying here again.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank lbstravelfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review of your recent stay! We are happy you enjoyed your time with Marriott Vacation Club and look forward to more #vacationgreatness soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2018

We really enjoyed our stay here. The kids loved the pool and we spent a lot of time at the beach snorkeling and wake surfing. The staff was super nice. We had a weird issue with some drunk patrons the first night there and the staff made sure to accommodate this hassle. We took part in some of the onsite activities like the champagne saber and fishing. Great location and rooms.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mudhonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are always glad to hear about #vacationgreatness! Thank you for your review and for making Marriott Vacation Club a part of your travels. We look forward to hearing about your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2018

What a beautiful place! The resort sits right on the ocean, grounds are absolutely beautiful and they offer many activities for young and old. there are 3 pools (1 quiet one) and are easily accessible from any unit. Restaurant could be improved as it is quite small and hours are short, but food was excellent. Prices were a bit high. Great exercise room and yoga is offered daily.

Room tip: I was on the 2nd floor and not only had a lanai but sliding doors in both bedrooms. 3rd floors do not offer BR doors, just windows.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gypsyrver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2018

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for your TripAdvisor review and for making Marriott Vacation Club a part of your vacation. We hope your travels bring you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2018

I did some extensive research to find the best place to stay on Kauai for our family before the trip and the Marriott Waiohai Beach Club did not disappoint. We were looking for a 2 bedroom, 2 bath condo with air conditioning (some say you don't need it in Hawaii, but we always sleep better with A/C) and within easy walking distance to a beach with swimming and snorkeling safe for our kids. Poipu beach is one of the best beaches in Kauai and the Marriott Waiohai is right on Poipu. Our condo was the best equipped vacation rental we have ever stayed in and the complex offers a number of resort-like amenities including:
- Daily Housekeeping
- Activities for the entire family - Our kids especially enjoyed bamboo pole fishing for feisty tilapia in the pond and the lei making.
- Onsite Restaurant and Bar - The Honu Bar offers decent food and drinks with an incredible view
- Concierge
- Onsite marketplace - I wouldn't recommend you do all your shopping here as the markup is about 100% over the local grocery store, but if you need a quart of milk, a loaf of bread or a pint of Ben & Jerry's, its nice not to have to leave the property.
- Great pools
Best of all is the location right on Poipu Beach. We enjoyed seeing the seals and turtles on the beach and were able to rent beach umbrellas and boogie boards at the counter next to the Honu bar. The staff was all great, especially the activities staff.
A quick note about the "island view" and potential parking lot views covered extensively in the reviews. We booked an island view room directly through Marriott and after reading the reviews and comments about the view, I called the hotel a week before our stay and requested a room with an interior or garden (not a parking lot) view. We ended up with a lovely jungle view on the backside of building 5. It felt very private, was quiet and we could even see a glimpse of the ocean by looking to the far side. We were told by the staff onsite that the the rooms with the best views go to the Marriott Vacation Club Owners and that the ocean view premium is not worth it if you are booking through Marriott.

Room tip: Be careful booking an ocean view room unless you are a timeshare owner. You may not get the view you are expecting.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jalpnco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2018

Thank you for your review and for choosing Marriott Vacation Club for your family vacation. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2018 via mobile

Just returned from wonderful week-long stay at Waiohai. Had two condos relatively close to each other to house 8 adults and 5 small children under the age of 5.

Rooms were great, clean, everything we needed. Comfortable beds, even the pull-out sofas were comfy!

We had fantastic staff - super kind, accommodating, and able to furnish us with extra kitchen gear to make meals (bigger pots, slow cookers, etc.). The activities coordinator was calling our kids by name by the end of the first day - we loved Jacqueline! He activities center had tons of fun activities for our littles - bamboo catch-and-release fishing in the pond (our kids caught at least a dozen fish!), fun (free!) arts and crafts, and lots of other fun activities.

Beach: a bit small and somewhat crowded, some strong waves, but worked out better than we anticipated. Every day there were endangered seals at the east end of the beach, a lot of fun to see. Turtles swimming on the other side of Poipu Beach Park. If you want a quiet, less-crowded beach, go up to Hanalei or along the east side.

Beach toys/gear: we found a better deal at Boss Frog’s nearby for chair rental, a mat and they let us purchase a beach umbrella for $20. There’s some gear in the parking lot available to all guests (mostly beach toys and mats) at the Marriott, first come-first served.

Great farmers market at KuKui’ula shopping center on Wednesdays. Great food at Keoki’s Paradise and Puka Dog, just down the street.

Best shave ice: Wailua Shave Ice in Kapa’a!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank 538tallyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2018

Thank you for your review and for taking the time to let us know about your stay! We are happy you had a great visit to the resort and look forward to more #vacationgreatness with your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews